Skip to content

About the Libraries

Mission and Vision Statements, Strategic Plan, 2017-2022

Libraries Organization Charts (PDF File)

Steven Smith, Dean of Libraries


The Dean of Libraries directs the John C. Hodges Library and three branch libraries on the flagship campus of the University of Tennessee system, administering an annual budget of more than $20 million. Steve Smith serves as the UT Libraries’ representative to the prestigious Association of Research Libraries as well as the Tennessee Advisory Council on Libraries, the state entity that oversees library services that benefit all Tennesseans.

Rita Smith, Executive Associate Dean


Rita Smith oversees administrative services and facilities, community and diversity programs, and Hodges public service operations.

Holly Mercer, Associate Dean for Research, Collections, and Scholarly Communication

Holly MercerHolly Mercer oversees collections, technology, and digital scholarship initiatives.

Teresa Walker, Associate Dean for Learning, Research, and Engagement

Teresa WalkerTeresa Walker oversees the liaison program, learning and engagement programs, and research services.

Other Administrative Personnel

Robin A. Bedenbaugh
Coordinator of Library Marketing and Communication

Elizabeth Greene
Manager, Administration Office and Human Resources

Erin K. Horeni-Ogle
Development Director

Regina Mays
Assessment Librarian

Jason Wood
Business Services Director

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.