Historical UT Agricultural Publications Now Available as Digital Collections

Three unique agricultural publications from University of Tennessee Extension and the Agricultural Experiment Station have been preserved as digital collections by the University of Tennessee Libraries. These vintage publications, created between 1922 and 1990, contain historical information about agriculture in Tennessee. The Tennessee Agricultural Experiment Station (today called AgResearch) was established in 1882 and the … Continued

Data Management Best Practices Webinar, Sept. 10

Learn how you can archive your research data using Trace, UT’s Institutional Repository. Webinar:Tuesday, September 1010 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.Register at: https://workshop.utk.edu/workshopinfo.php?workshop=604 Chris Eaker, Data Curation Librarian at Hodges Library, will cover best practices for managing your research data, including file naming and organization, file versioning, databases vs. spreadsheets, creating metadata, backups and security, and sharing … Continued

Workshop: Manage Citations with EndNote

EndNote is citation management software you can use to: Organize your research (citations, full-text articles, images, notes) Automatically generate in-text citations and bibliography as you write Share EndNote libraries with up to 100 collaborators Register for one of the Libraries’ hands-on workshops (sessions are the same): Introduction to EndNote Wednesday, September 25, 20193:30-5 p.m.127 Hodges … Continued

Transcripts of James K. Polk’s Final Correspondence Now Online

Letters from the final year of James K. Polk’s presidency are now available online. UT Libraries staff designed the website for the XML-encoded transcriptions. With online publication of this last portion of Polk’s correspondence, UT’s James K. Polk Project nears completion. The James K. Polk Project, based in UT’s Department of History, spent decades locating … Continued

Mango language learning tool now available

The UT Libraries now subscribes to Mango Languages, which offers online language learning through conversations and films. Language courses are accessible from a web browser or an app. Mango Languages features: Over 60 foreign language courses featuring native speakers Over 17 English courses for non-English speakers, targeting essential and necessary dialog Cultural specialty courses such … Continued

Library will drop Rosetta Stone, switch to Mango language learning tool

The UT Libraries is adopting Mango as the online language learning tool for campus users. Mango Languages (mangolanguages.com) is an interactive learning tool that allows users to learn at their leisure. Mango teaches the basics of conversation in more than 70 languages. The Libraries’ subscription to Rosetta Stone will expire on Friday, May 10. Last … Continued

Webinar: Use DMPTool to write a Data Management Plan

Most grant funding agencies require researchers to plan ahead for data preservation and sharing as part of their research projects. To aid with these requirements, the UT Libraries subscribes to an online tool that makes the process a little easier – the DMPTool. DMPTool allows researchers to walk through the process of writing a data … Continued

Workshop: Manage Citations with EndNote

EndNote is citation management software you can use to: Organize your research (citations, full-text articles, images, notes) Automatically generate in-text citations and bibliography as you write Share EndNote libraries with 100 collaborators Register for one of the Libraries’ hands-on workshops (sessions are the same): Introduction to EndNote Mon., Feb. 4, 2019 3:30-5 p.m. 127 Hodges … Continued

RESCHEDULED: Video Streaming Down Thurs., 10/4

The Libraries’ video streaming server will be offline from noon to 3 p.m. on Thursday, October 4, for routine maintenance. This affects access to the Libraries’ video streaming server ONLY. Vendor streaming service platforms such as AVON, Films on Demand, Kanopy, etc. will not be affected. For more information, contact Steven Milewski, smilewsk@nullutk.edu.

Graduate Commons Officially Open

The long-awaited space just for graduate students in Hodges Library is now officially open to all graduate students.

UT graduate students gather for a meeting in the Graduate Commons at Hodges Library