Student Winners of Graduate Writing Awards to Read, April 18

The University of Tennessee’s final Writers in the Library event of the academic year will feature readings by student winners of the John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards. Readings from the winning works will take place in the Lindsay Young Auditorium of the John C. Hodges Library on Monday, April 18, at 7:00 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

Awards are made possible by the English Department through the John C. Hodges Better English Fund, endowed by the long-time UT English professor and author of the Harbrace College Handbook, for whom the Hodges Library is named.

WILstudentWinners_web22016 winners of the John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards:

First Prize: Elizabeth Weld
Second Prize: Richard Hermes
Third Prize: Matt Brock

First Prize: Jeb Herrin
Second Prize: Katie Condon
Third Prize: Elysia Mann

This year’s judges were Allen Wier for fiction and Brad Tice for poetry.

The public is invited to join the university community for readings by these accomplished, up-and-coming writers.
Writers in the Library hosts readings by noted authors of fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction. The series is sponsored by the UT Libraries and the UT Creative Writing Program in association with the John C. Hodges Better English Fund. For more information contact Christopher Hebert, Jack E. Reese Writer-in-Residence at the UT Libraries (

Follow us at: