Skip to content

News & Events

Award-winning student authors to read works

Final Writers in the Library features creative writing students on April 25

Students in UT’s Creative Writing Program compete annually for the John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Prizes in fiction and poetry. Winners will be announced April 12 and will read from their award-winning works at the final WRITERS IN THE LIBRARY event of the season, 7 p.m. on Monday, April 25, in the John C. Hodges Library auditorium. The prizes were endowed by the same long-time UT English professor, author of the Harbrace College Handbook, for whom the Hodges Library is named.

Winners of the 2005 John C. Hodges Graduate Fiction Award are Jessica Weintraub, for her story Base Pairs, and Brad Tice, for his story How to Become an American Boy. Poetry Award winners are Brad Tice for his poem “Arabesque,” and Casie Fedukovich, for her poem “Dichotomy of Fur and Feather.”

Author of Harbrace Handbook made significant contributions to University Libraries, English lit

Dr. John C. Hodges came to UT Knoxville in 1921 and was named head of the English department in 1938, remaining in that position until his retirement in 1962.

His enthusiastic commitment to learning did not end with retirement, however. Three years earlier he had begun the task of improving the university’s library collection, and he continued to serve voluntarily as coordinator of library development, soliciting contributions of both books and money until his death in 1967.

His 41 years at the University were marked by far-reaching contributions to the study of English literature and the improvement of educational methods. Dr. Hodges’ influence on the teaching of English continues today through his Harbrace College Handbook, the most widely used college text in the country.

The current John C. Hodges Main Library, which opened in 1987, was constructed around the John C. Hodges Undergraduate Library built in 1969.

Share this:

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.