Skip to content

News & Events

Hear UT’s winning student writers

Writers in the Library, a long-running reading series sponsored by the Libraries and the Creative Writing Program, showcases the work of novelists, poets, and other literary craftsmen. Each semester, Writers in the Library brings award-winning writers to the John C. Hodges Library to read from their works. The final event of each academic year is a reading by student winners of UT’s John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards.

The 2015 winners of the Writing Awards gave a reading in Hodges Library on April 13. The winning authors and works are:

First Prize: Daniel Wallace for “The Hills Will Melt Like Wax”
Second Prize: Richard Hermes for “Until the New Season is Born”
Third Prize: Helen Stead for “Muleta”

First Prize: Helen Stead for “Bangers and Mash”
Second Prize: Ben McClendon for “Hoping to Find Something Between”
Third Prize: Kierstyn Lamour for “What is There to Learn About a Man Leaving His Wife?”

View the April 13 readings by these accomplished, up-and-coming writers here.

The awards are made possible by the English Department through the John C. Hodges Better English Fund, endowed by the long-time UT English professor and author of the Harbrace College Handbook, for whom the Hodges Library is named. This year’s judges were B.J. Leggett for fiction and Flossie McNabb for poetry.

Visit the Writers in the Library webpage:

Follow us at:

Share this:

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.