Skip to content

News & Events

Student Winners of Creative Writing Prizes to Read April 17

Student winners of UT’s graduate-level writing awards will read from their winning works on Monday, April 17. The event is part of the Writers in the Library reading series.

WILstudentWinners_web2Readings begin at 7 p.m. in the Lindsay Young Auditorium of the John C. Hodges Library. The public is invited to join the university community for readings by these accomplished, up-and-coming writers.

Each spring, the Creative Writing Program awards prizes for the John C. Hodges Award for Fiction Writing and the John C. Hodges Award for Poetry Writing. Awards are made possible by the John C. Hodges Better English Fund, endowed by the long-time UT English professor and author of the Harbrace College Handbook, for whom the Hodges Library is named.

2017 winners of the John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards:

First Prize: Mollie Swayne
Second Prize: Lance Dyzak
Third Prize: Elizabeth Weld

First Prize: Ben McClendon
Second Prize: Elysia Mann
Third Prize: Jeremy Reed

The judges for this year’s contests were Ted Thompson for fiction and Keetje Kuipers for poetry.
Writers in the Library is sponsored by the UT Libraries and the Creative Writing Program in association with the John C. Hodges Better English Fund.

For more information, contact Erin Elizabeth Smith, Jack E. Reese Writer-in-Residence at the UT Libraries, at or visit the Writers in the Library webpage at


Twitter: utklibwriters

Share this:

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.