Skip to content

News & Events

Poets Jeff Hardin and Kali Meister at Writers in the Library, Sept. 23

Hardin_smallPoets Jeff Hardin and Kali Meister will read from their works at UT’s Writers in the Library, Monday, September 23, at 7 p.m. in the John C. Hodges Library Auditorium (1015 Volunteer Blvd., Knoxville, TN). The event is free and open to the public.

Jeff Hardin is the author of two books of poetry: Notes for a Praise Book (Jacar Press, 2012) and Fall Sanctuary (Story Line Press, 2004), and a recipient of the Nicholas Roerich Poetry Prize. His chapbooks are Deep in the Shallows (GreenTower Press, 2002) and The Slow Hill Out (Pudding House, 2003). His poems have been featured in Poetry Daily, Verse Daily, and The Writer’s Almanac. He is a professor of English at Columbia State Community College in Columbia, Tennessee.

Meister_smallKali Meister is an award-winning poet, actor, and filmmaker who served as the Jack E. Reese Writer in Residence of the UT Libraries, 2008–2009. She holds an MFA in creative writing from Goddard College. Her full-length play, After Autumn, was a finalist in the 2010 Appalachian Festival of Plays and Playwrights at the Barter Theatre. She is co-founder of She Wonder Production; its films have been selections of the Knoxville 24-Hour Film Festival, the Secret City Film Festival, and the Knoxville Horror Film Fest. Meister teaches theater at Pellissippi State Community College and reading and writing at Roane State Community College.

The poets will hold an informal chat with interested students, 3-4 p.m., Monday, September 23, in 1210 McClung Tower.

Writers in the Library is sponsored by the University of Tennessee Libraries and the UT Creative Writing Program in association with the John C. Hodges Better English Fund. For further information contact Marilyn Kallet, Director, UT Creative Writing Program (, or Christopher Hebert, Writer-in-Residence, UT Libraries (

Follow us at:

Share this:

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.