Skip to content

News & Events

UT Libraries Celebrates Staff with Spirit Awards

For fourteen years, the UT Libraries has recognized the many contributions and talents of its employees with the Library Spirit Awards. The 2007 awards ceremony theme was Library Spirit: Past, Present, and Future. The event was arranged by committee members Hannah Miller, Rebecca Smithey, Micheline Westfall, Greg Womac and co-chairs Connie Steigenga and JoAnne Deeken.

Award winners for 2007 were:

Customer Service Award: Roger Weaver, Library Training
For designing an online training system and setting up automatic email alerts to help library employees keep track of their scheduled training courses.

Good Colleague Award: Nancy Bright and Chris Reynolds, Technical Services
For assisting and arranging care for an infirm coworker.

Personal Achievement Award: Wanda Rosinski, Technical Services

For achieving challenging goals including graduating CEP, beginning a graduate school program, and developing Web skills.

Skill Development Award: Bobbie Doyle-Maher, Pendergrass AgVetMed
For spending many hours in training and consultation to learn to catalog government documents.

Team Work Award: The Media Services Transformation Team: Pauline Bayne, Trisha Brady, Michelle Brannen, Josh Butcher, Andrew Hock, Steve Milewski, Steve Pursiful, Sheila Stephens, Terrel Whitaker and Greg Womac
For planning, creating, and achieving the interim Summer Commons workspace in the Media Center.

Unsung Hero Award: Paul Cummins, LTS and Special Collections/Digital Library Center
For his vigilance and dedication to support and assist. From building Web applications to keeping servers up to date, he is always looking for better ways to do things.

Student Library Assistant Award of Excellence: Michelle Kenley, Volunteer Voices; Dabrielle Myers, Media Services; Jade Sexton, Pendergrass AgVetMed Library; Rosann Wilson, Music Library

Miles 500 Award: Michelle Brannen, the Studio
For creative thinking that improves the libraries efficiency or services to the public, Michelle’s idea was to install a CD/DVD vending machine so students can purchase Cds and DVDs to save their work.

UT Library Friends Service Endowment Award: Ellie Read, Reference
For her eagerness to serve UT and her service to undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, and staff.

Dean’s Award: Betty Painter, Technical Services
For dedicating her career to serving the library and the research community

The UT Libraries Spirit Awards would not be possible without the support from our dean, Barbara Dewey, interim associate dean, Jill Keally, and interim assistant dean, Pauline Bayne and from the generosity of private donors whose gifts make cash awards possible.

Share this:

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.