Skip to content

Diversity Committee

UT Libraries Diversity Committee Meeting Minutes May 18, 2017

Present: Thura Mack, Melonie Allen, Cathy Jenkins, Regina Mays, Megan Venable, Kenya Flash, Sarah Gonzoles, Michelle Brannen, Elizabeth Greene.


New membership response: Sara Green, Sarah Mallory and Peter Fernandez have expressed interest in joining the committee, and all three will be invited by chair Thura Mack to officially join the group.


Lunch and Learn de-stress poll results (Megan or Thura)

An analysis of the open poll was conducted. In response to the question “What do you find difficult to talk about, but needs to be discussed” we found:


4 Locos – alcohol food policy

Rape culture as fueled by porn – 4

American foreign policy/hegemony

Mental illness – breakdowns, how to help people

Imposter syndrome

Campus rape

Crappy professors – 2

Sexual assault – 2

Separation of races on campus

After life

White cultural center/white privilege – 2

Charisma vs. status

Human trafficking

Kanye West

Integrity – 2


UT lukwarmness to diversity – 2

Christ/faith – 4

Poverty – international toilets

Food security – Knoxville and the world

US college bad


Welcome Muslim students

Body image issues

Abusive relationships and verbal abuse

Overpriced tuition

Academic elitist

Mental illness  4

Depression – 2

Stress and anxiety – 2

Domestic violence


Privilege vs oppression

Interracial relationships


Self care

Active bystander

Police brutality


Guns on campus


Lunch and Learn – next steps

Based on these topics, Regina has agreed to reach out to Teresa to check on the possibility of narrowing these topics by way of a focus group, and Elizabeth is going to check with her contacts at the Health Center to see about the possibility of a partnership. Megan will contact Cynthia Pope Johnson to see if she is willing to partner as well.


New meeting locations – we will be meeting in the Library’s 6th floor conference room 605 June – November.


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.