Vocal
The Literature and Pedagogy Guides are designed for use by music performance and pedagogy faculty and students. Included in these guides are listing of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings by specific instruments, family of instruments, and major ensembles. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
![]()
BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES
Call Numbers
CANTATA
- M1530-M1610 Secular cantatas (included in Choruses, secular)
- M1611-M1614 Solo cantatas
- M1629.5 National
- M2020-M2094.7 Sacred cantatas (included in Choruses, sacred)
- ML54 Librettos
- ML2400/ML3260 History and criticism (Secular/Sacred)
- MT110-MT115 Analytical guides
CHORAL MUSIC (SACRED)
- M2000-M2007 Oratorios
- M2010-M2017.7 Services
- M2020-M2094.7 Cantatas
- M2060-M2101.5 Choruses or part-songs with keyboard, with solo instrument, or unaccompanied
- ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
- ML132.C5 Choral music–Graded lists
- ML1500-ML1554/ML2900-ML3275 General: history, special periods, by country, kinds and forms
- MT110-MT115 Analytical guides
- MT88 Choirs
- MT875 Choral techniques
- MT915 Choir training for children
CHORAL MUSIC (SECULAR)
- M1530-M1546.5 Choruses with orchestra or ensemble
- M1547-M1600 Choruses or part-songs with piano, with solo instrument, or unaccompanied
- M1610 Cantatas, choral symphonies
- ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
- ML132.C5 Choral music–Graded lists
- ML1500-ML1554 General: history, special periods, by country, kinds and forms
- MT110-MT115 Analytical guides
- MT88 Choirs
- MT875 Choral techniques
- MT915 Choir training for children
OPERA
- M1500 Operas (full score)
- M1503 Operas (piano-vocal score)
- M1527 Operas (film, radio, television)
- ML48-ML50 Librettos
- ML102.O6 Dictionaries of opera
- ML128.O4 Opera–Bibliography
- ML1754-ML1950 History and criticism, special periods, by country, forms and kinds
- MT95-MT100 Analytical guides, opera plots
- MT955 Opera production (instruction and study)
ORATORIO
- M2000-M2007 Oratorios
- M2000 full scores
- M2002-M2003 piano-vocal scores
- M2004-M2007 excerpts
- ML53 Librettos
- ML128.O45 Oratorios-Bibliography
- ML3201-ML3251 History and criticism: special periods, by country, kinds and forms
- MT110-MT115 Analytical guides
SONGS (SACRED)
- M1999 Sacred vocal collections
- M2018-M2019.5 Duets, trios, etc.
- M2102-M2114.8 Songs for one voice
- M2190-M2196 Sacred music for children
- M2198-M2199 Gospel, revival, temperance songs, etc.
- ML128.S3 Songs–Bibliography
- ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
- ML132.S6 Songs–Graded lists
- ML2900-ML3275 General: history and criticism, special periods, by country, kinds and forms, bydenomination
- MT820-MT893 Vocal instruction and vocal techniques
SONGS (SECULAR)
- M1528-M1529.8 Duets, trios, etc.
- M1611-M1624.8 Songs for one voice
- M1625-M1626 Recitations, accompanied
- M1627-M1853 National music (includes folk, patriotic, popular, etc.)
- M1900-M1980 Songs of special character
- M1990-M1998 Children's songs/School music textbooks
- ML128.S3 Songs–Bibliography
- ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
- ML132.S6 Songs–Graded lists
- ML2500-ML2881 General: history and criticism, special periods, by country, kinds and forms
- MT820-MT893 Vocal instruction and vocal techniques
- MT898-MT949 Techniques for children (including schools)
VOCAL MUSIC
- M1500-M1508 Operas (see entry for "Opera")
- M1528-M1529 Duets, trios, etc. of solo voices (secular)
- M1611-M1624 Songs (secular)
- M1611-M1618 Orchestral or ensemble accompaniment
- M1619-M1622 Piano accompaniment or unaccompanied
- M1623-M1624 Accompanied by one instrument (not piano)
- M2000-M2007 Oratorios (see entry for "Oratorio")
- ML48-ML54 Libretti
- ML102.V6 Vocal music–Dictionaries
- ML128.S2 Sacred vocal music–Bibliography
- ML128.S3 Songs–Bibliography
- ML128.V7 Vocal music–Bibliography
- ML156.4.V7 Vocal music–Discography
- ML1400-ML1460 General: by period, by region or country
- ML1600-ML2881 Secular vocal music–History and criticism
- ML1700-ML2400 Dramatic music–History and criticism
- ML2500-ML2881 Songs and part-songs–History and criticism
- ML2900-ML3275 Sacred vocal music–History and criticism
- MT820-MT949 Singing and voice culture
-For children's vocal music see "Children and music."
-For choruses see "Choral music (sacred)" and "Choral music (secular)."
-For liturgical or church music see "Liturgy and religious music."
-For popular, folk, etc. music see "Popular music."
Subject Headings
- OPERA - (use to find material pertaining to opera as a genre)
- OPERAS – (used to find manifestations of specific operas)
- SACRED SONGS
- SINGERS
- SINGING--DICTION
- SINGING--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- SINGING--INTERPRETATION (PHRASING, DYNAMICS, ETC.)
- SINGING--METHODS
- SONGS, ENGLISH, etc.
- SONGS--HISTORY AND CRITICISM
- SONGS--TEXTS
- SONGS--UNITED STATES
- VOCAL MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY
- VOCAL MUSIC--DISCOGRAPHY
PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)
Reference Books
DICTION AND PHONETICS
- Ref MT872.D43 1996
Wall, J. Diction for Singers - Ref MT872.W187 1989
Wall, J. International Phonetic Alphabet for Singers - Ref MT883.C27 1994
Castel, N. A Singer's Manual of Spanish Lyric Diction - Ref MT883.P5 1982
Coffin, B. Phonetic Readings of Songs and Arias
DICTIONARIES
Opera
- Ref ML102.O2B6 1994
Boldrey, R. Guide to Operatic Duets - Ref ML102.O2B62 1994
-----. Guide to Operatic Roles & Arias - Ref ML102.O6A6 1995
Anderson, J. Dictionary of Opera and Operetta - Ref ML102.O6I6 1993 v. 1-2
LaRue, S., ed. International Dictionary of Opera - Ref ML102.O6N5 1992 v. 1-4
Sadie, S., ed. The New Grove Dictionary of Opera --Also included with the online resource: Grove Music - Ref ML102.O6V45 1993
Holden, A., ed. The Viking Opera Guide - Ref ML102.O6W37 1992
Warrack, J. The Oxford Dictionary of Opera
Terminology
- Ref ML102.V6R4 1983
Reid, C. A Dictionary of Vocal Terminology
DISCOGRAPHY
- Ref ML111.D48
Stahl, D. Selected Discography of Solo Song (1968-82; nos. 13, 13 Suppl, 24, 34, 52) - Ref ML156.2.S383 21st 2001
Schwann Artist Guide Note: Consult by names of singers or ensembles.
SONG INDEXES
- Ref ML128.V7B3 1976
Barlow & Morgenstern. Dictionary of Opera and Song Themes - Ref ML128.V7D67 2002
Doscher, B. From Studio to Stage: Repertoire for the voice - Ref ML128.V7G53 1984
Goleeke, T. Literature for Voice: An Index of Songs in Collections and Source Book for Teachers of Singing - Ref ML128.V7N53 1999
Newman, M. The Comprehensive Catalogue of Duet Literature for Female Voices: Vocal Chamber duets with Keyboard Accompaniment Composed Between 1820-1995.
TRANSLATIONS
- Ref ML47.J4 1988
Jeffers, Ron. Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire
v.1 Sacred Latin Texts
v.2 German Texts - Ref ML49.B22 v.1-4
Drinker, Henry. Texts of the Choral Works of J. S. Bach - Ref ML54.6.W65
Coffin & Singer. Word by Word Translations of Songs and Arias. I. German and French (1966). II. Italian (1972)
Art Songs
- Ref ML48.S38
Garran, R. Schubert and Schumann Songs and Translations (1946) - Ref ML49.B65
Drinker, H. Texts of the Vocal Works of Johannes Brahms in English Translation (1945) - Ref ML49.S39
Drinker, H. English Texts to the Vocal Works of Heinrich Schütz (1952) - Ref ML49.V45C372 1994 v.1-4
Verdi, G. The Complete Verdi Libretti - Ref ML54.6.B82G52 1999
Brahms' Complete Song Texts. - Ref ML54.6.D58
Paquin, M. Dix Cycles de Lieder: Beethoven, Brahms, Mahler, Schubert, Schumann (1977) - Ref ML54.6.D42C62 1994
Cobb, M., ed. The Poetic Debussy: A Collection of his Song Texts and Selected Letters - Ref ML54.6.M9R6 2002
Mussorgsky's Complete Song Texts. - Ref ML54.6.P55L5 1996
Philips, L. Lieder Line by Line and Word for Word - Ref ML54.6.P57R8 1991
Piatak, J. Russian Songs & Arias: Phonetic Readings, Word-by-Word Translations - Ref ML54.6.R18R4 2000
Rachmaninov's Complete Song Texts. - Ref ML54.6.S39D7
Drinker, H. Texts of the Songs of Franz Schubert, v.2 (1954) - Ref ML54.6.S4G52 2002
Schumann's Complete Song Texts. - Ref ML54.6.W6D72
Drinker, H. Texts of the Solo Songs of Hugo Wolf (1949) - Ref ML54.6.W6G52 2000
Hugo Wolf's Complete Song Texts. - Ref ML54.6.T48 1977
Fischer-Dieskau. Fischer-Dieskau Book of Lieder (1977)
Operas
- Ref ML48.F73 1991 v.1-2
Castel, N. French Opera Libretti - Ref ML48.I83 2000 v.1-3
Castel, N. Italian Belcanto Opera Libretti - Ref ML48.I884 2000 v.1
Castel, N. Italian Verismo Opera Libretti - Ref ML49.M83C315 1997 v.1-2
Mozart, W.A. The Libretti of Mozart's completed Operas - Ref ML49.P83N53 1993 v.1-2
Puccini, G. The Complete Puccini Libretti - Ref ML49.S76C37 2002
Strauss, R. Four Strauss Opera Libretti.
HISTORY & PERFORMANCE
- Ref MT892.E54
Emmons & Sonntag. Art of the Song Recital (1979) - Ref MT892.S5 1983
Singher, M. Interpretive Guide to Operatic Arias (1983)
PEDAGOGY & TECHNIQUE
- Ref ML70.R87 1998
Rusch, G. The Professional Singer's Handbook in Singing: A Basic Textbook in Vocal Technique and Song Interpretation - Ref MT825.M646 1986
Miller, R. The Structure of Singing: System and Art in Vocal Technique
Journals
Journal of Singing - REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML27.U5 N2652
Classical Singer - REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML3795.N43
Opera Quarterly - REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML1699.O65
Opera Canada - REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML5.O664
Opera Journal - REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML1.O74
Opera News - REF. (CURRENT PERIODICALS) ML1.O6
Directories
Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.
***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.
AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES
CD8602 - Callas, M. Maria Callas Master Class
VHS: ML3923.V63 1991
The Vocalist's Guide to Fitness, Health & Musicianship with Julie Lyonn Lieberman
VHS: MT820.H85 1985
The Human Voice
VHS: Video MT821.S5 1991 v.1-5
Wall, J. The Singer's Voice
VHS: MT855.V64 1989
Voice: The Universal Instrument
VHS: MT875.G7
Haasemann, F. Group Vocal Techniques
Cecilia Bartoli [videorecording] / produced & directed by David Thomas ; a LWT production in association with the Decca Record Company Ltd
-DVD. Ask at desk: ML420 .B1353 C43 2003
Barbara Bonney [videorecording] / Malcom Martineau, piano ; producer, Colin Wilson ; directed by Rodney Greenberg ; an RM Associates ... [et al.] co-production -
DVD. Ask at desk: M1619 .B373 2001
Ian Bostridge [videorecording] / music, Franz Schubert, Hugo Wolf ; producer, Colin Wilson ; directed by Rodney Greenberg ; a Reiner Moritz Limited ... [et al.] co-production
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1619 .I26 2000
Grace Bumbry [videorecording] : with Helmut Deutsch, piano in homage to Lotte Lehmann / producer, Colin Wilson ; directed by Rodney Greenberg ; an RM Associates ... [et al.] co-production
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1621 .G73 2001
Maria Callas [videorecording] : the Callas conversations / an Ideale Audience International & IMG Artists production ; released with participation of BBC.
-DVD. Ask at desk: ML420 .C18 M373 2003
Die schöne Müllerin [sound recording] = The fair maid of the mill / Franz Schubert ; directed for TV and video by Fritz Jurmann ; produced by ORF.
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1614.4 .S25 S366 2005
Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau [videorecording] : accompagné par Christoph Eschenbach dans un recital Franz Schubert, Die schöne Müllerin = La belle meunière / Euripide Productions présente ; réalisation, Bruno Monsaingeon ; production exécutive, Idéale Audience
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1621.4 .S25 S36 2005
Great opera singers [videorecording] : Gundula Janowitz, Rita Streich, Tito Gobbi, Boris Christoff / an Idéale Audience International & IMG Artists production ; released with the participation of BBC, INA, CNC
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1611 .G68 2004
The great sopranos [videorecording] : classic performances 1950-1963 / New England Conservatory.
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1505.G73 2000z
The great tenors [videorecording] : classic performances 1950-1963 / produced by Video Artists International ; in association with New England Conservatory.
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1505.G74 2004
Thomas Hampson [videorecording] : from the Théâtre musical de Paris, Châtelet ; Des knaben Wunderhorn / Gustav Mahler ; directed by Rodney Greenberg ; co-produced by Reiner Moritz Associates, LGM, in association with Mezzo with the support of Centre National de la Cinématographie
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1620 .T46 2002
Marilyn Horne in recital [videorecording] / a production of Radiotelevisione Italiana
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1619 .M375 2005
Sylvia McNair [videorecording] / producer, Colin Wilson ; directed by Rodney Greenberg ; a Reiner Moritz Associates ... [et al.] co-production
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1619 .S85 2004
Elena Nikolaidi in recital [videorecording] = Elena Nikolaidi en récital / production de Radio-Canada
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1619 .E44 2005
Winterreise [videorecording] = Winter journey : song cycle to poems by Wilhelm Müller / Franz Schubert ; Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, baritone ; Alfred Brendel, piano ; produced by Sender Freies Berlin ; directed for TV and Video by Klaus Lindemann
-DVD. Ask at desk: M1621.4 .S25 W56 2005
***This is only a sampling of the selection of voice related audio-visual materials. Search the online catalogue for more.
***Comprehensive list of operas by title also available on DVD.
ONLINE RESOURCES
The Aria Database - http://www.aria-database.com/
National Association of Teachers of Singing - http://www.nats.org/
Opera America - http://operaamerica.org
Opera Today - http://operatoday.com
UT Song Index - http://www.lib.utk.edu/music/music/songdb
VOCALIST Worldwide - http://www.vocalist.org/
Vanderbilt's Bill Wilkerson Center - http://www.mc.vanderbilt.edu/root/vumc.php?site=aboutbw
Also see:
American Federation of Musicians – http://www.afm.org
National Association for Music Education – http://www.menc.org
Music Teachers National Association – http://www.mtna.org
*Call numbers apply to UT held items only
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Nathalie Hristov, Revised August 2007

