|
Libraries Home
Music Library Home
Library Catalog
Databases
Forms
Help
Services
Branches
Libraries A to Z

|
|
|
|
String Literature and Pedagogy
|
- NOTE: This guide provides selective listings. There may be more materials available in these subject areas.
Always check the catalog, using subject headings suggested, or
check the appropriate call number areas in the stacks.
GENERAL STRINGS
Research Help
PERIODICAL INDEXES
Music databases available on the Web:
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
- Music Index Online
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Related databases available on the Web:
- Dissertation Abstracts
- Education Full Text
- ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
- Humanities Abstracts
- PsycINFO
- Sociofile
SUBJECT HEADINGS IN THE LIBRARY CATALOGS
Subject access is useful for finding books when you do not have a specific
author or title. For a detailed list of subject headings, consult the Library
of Congress Subject Headings.
- CHAMBER MUSIC-DICTIONARIES
- CHAMBER MUSIC-DICTIONARIES AND CRITICISM
- INSTRUMENTAL ENSEMBLES
- INSTRUMENTAL ENSEMBLES, ARRANGED
- ORCHESTRA--PERIODICALS
- STRING ENSEMBLES--ANALYTICAL GUIDES
- STRING QUARTET
- STRING TRIO
- STRINGED INSTRUMENTS--BOW
- STRINGED INSTRUMENTS--CONSTRUCTION
- STRINGED INSTRUMENTS--INSTRUCTION & STUDY
- STRINGED INSTRUMENTS--MAKERS
- STRINGED INSTRUMENTS--METHODS
- STRINGED INSTRUMENTS--PERIODICALS
- STRINGED INSTRUMENTS--REPAIRING
- VIOLINISTS, VIOLONCELLISTS, etc.
In the Reference Room
BIBLIOGRAPHIES & GRADED LISTS
- Ref ML128.C4B37 2002
- Baron, J. Chamber Music: A Research and Information
Guide
- Ref ML128.S7F4 1973
- Farish, M. String Music in Print (+ Supplement)
- Ref ML128.S7G8 1971
- Gundling, D. Music Guide for String Classes
- Ref ML132.A2D57 1988
- The Director's Guide to Festival and Contest Music
- Ref ML1100.C63 1997
- Cohn, A. The Literature of Chamber Music
CURRENT PERIODICALS
- American String Teacher / ML27.U5A8356
- The Strad / ML800.S87
- Symphony Magazine / ML1.A7283
DICTIONARIES
- Ref ML102.I5 B34 1992
- The Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments
- Ref ML102.I5N48 1984 v.1-3
- The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
MUSIC IN PRINT
- The Music-In-Print Series listed on Music
Databases page
- Strings
In the Stacks
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE, AND PEDAGOGY
Some of these items are in the Reference Room; others are in the stacks
and available to check out.
- Ref ML111.D48 no..30
- Sollinger, C. String Class Publications in the US, 1851-1951
(1974)
- ML750.B323
- Bachmann, W. The Origins of Bowing and Development of Bowed Instruments...
(1969)
- Video ML750.B6
- Early Musical Instruments: Bowed Instruments
- Berger, M. Guide to Chamber Music
- ML1100.B45 1985
- ML1160.G75
- Griffiths, P. The String Quartet (1983)
- MT259.A6446 v.1-14
- Applebaum & Roth. The Way They Play (1972-84)
- MT259.G733
- Green, E. Teaching Stringed Instruments in Classes (1966)
- MT259.K58 1996
- Klotman, R. Teaching Strings
- Video MT259.L65
- Lower Strings (Orchestra!) (1991)
- Video MT259.U8
- Upper Strings (Orchestra!) (1991)
- MT259.Y69
- Young, P. Playing the String Game (1978)
- MT260.R762
- Rolland, P. Teaching of Action in String Playing (1974)
- Video MT260.T4
- Rolland, P. Teaching of Action in String Playing (1997)
- Video MT262.E27 1992
- Early Music Education with Suzuki
- MT730.C72 1988
- The Complete String Guide: Standards, Programs, Purchase, and Maintenance
VIOLIN
BIBLIOGRAPHIES, GRADED LISTS
- Ref ML111.D48 no..25
- Iotti, O. Violin and Violoncello in Duo without Accompaniment
(1972)
- Ref ML 128.V4W55
- Wilkins, W. The Index of Violin Music (197-)
- Ref ML 128.S7M37 1983
- Marcan, P. Music for Solo Violin Unaccompanied
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE, AND PEDAGOGY
- ML750.N4 1989
- Boyden, D. The New Grove Violin Family
- ML800.B13 1966
- Bachmann, A. An Encyclopedia of the Violin
- ML800.C35 1992
- Stowell, R. The Cambridge Companion to the Violin
- ML800.F32 1969b
- Farga, F. Violins & Violinists
- ML800.K6413 1998
- Kolneder, W. The Amadeus Book of the Violin: Construction History
and Music
- ML800.M46 1996
- Menuhin, Y. The Violin
- ML800.S89H5 1968, v.1-2
- Van der Straeten, E. The History of the Violin
- ML800.W43
- Wechsberg, J. The Glory of the Violin (1973)
- MT260.G34
- Galamian, I. Principles of Violin Playing & Teaching (1962)
- MT260.S99 1970
- Szigeti, J. Szigeti on the Violin
- MT262.B15313 1991
- Baillot, P. The Art of the Violin
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
Knowing the LC class number (call number) means that you can go directly
to the shelves to browse in that area, or you may determine complete library
holdings by checking the shelf list.
- ML128.V4 Violin music--Bibliography
- ML132.V4 Violin music--Graded lists
- ML800-897 General: History and construction; Music and playing
- MT260-279 Violin techniques
- MT760-778 Instruction and study for children
SOUND RECORDINGS
- Cassette MT262.L542 1991 pt.1-5
- Lieberman, J. The Talking Violin (NPR programs)
SUBJECT HEADINGS IN THE LIBRARY CATALOGS
Subject access is useful for finding books when you do not have a specific
author or title. For a detailed list of subject headings, consult the Library
of Congress Subject Headings.
- VIOLIN
- VIOLIN--BOW
- VIOLIN--CONSTRUCTION
- VIOLIN--HISTORY
- VIOLIN--INSTRUCTION & STUDY
- VIOLIN--METHODS--GROUP INSTRUCTION
- VIOLIN--METHODS (BLUEGRASS), etc.
- VIOLIN--PERIODICALS
- VIOLIN--PERFORMANCE
- VIOLIN--STUDIES & EXERCISES
- VIOLIN MUSIC
VIDEO RECORDINGS
- Video M1.L4
- Leonid Kogan: Interpretations
- Video M217.D38 1988
- David Oistrakh in Performance
- Video ML418.H44H4
- Heifetz (1985)
- Video ML418.H44H47
- Heifetz (violinist)/Piatigorsky (cellist)
- Video ML418.O4D38 1986
- David Oistrakh: Remembering a Musician
- Video ML418.S75F7
- From Mao to Mozart: Isaac Stern in China (1980)
- Video ML800.G7
- The Great Violin Mystery
- Video MT260.A7
- Laredo, J. The Art of Playing the Violin (1986)
- Video MT260 .H45 1962, v.1-2
- Heifetz, J. Master Classes
- Video MT260.M3
- Masterclass Series with Josef Gingold, v.1-4 (1983)
- Video MT262.G174
- Galamian, I. Lessons with Ivan Galamian, v.1-5 (1981)
VIOLA
BIBLIOGRAPHIES, GRADED LISTS
- Ref ML111.D48 no.42
- Williams, M. Music for Viola (1979)
- Ref ML 128.V3W5
- Wilkins, W. The Index of Viola Music (1976)
- Ref ML 128.V36Z5
- Zeyringer, F. Literatur für Viola (1963)
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY
- MT280.B37 1978
- Barrett, H The Viola: Complete Guide for Teachers and Students
- MT280.D34 1988
- Dalton, D. Playing the Viola: Conversations with William Primrose
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
Knowing the LC class number (call number) means that you can go directly
to the shelves to browse in that area, or you may determine complete library
holdings by checking the shelf list.
- ML128.V36 Viola music--Bibliography
- ML132.V36 Viola music--Graded lists
- ML900-905 General: History and construction; Music and playing
- MT280-298 Viola techniques
- MT760-778 Instruction and study for children
SUBJECT HEADINGS IN THE LIBRARY CATALOGS
Subject access is useful for finding books when you do not have a specific
author or title. For a detailed list of subject headings, consult the Library
of Congress Subject Headings.
- VIOLA
- VIOLA--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- VIOLA--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
- VIOLA--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
- VIOLA MUSIC
VIOLONCELLO
BIBLIOGRAPHIES & GRADED LISTS
- Ref ML111.D48 no.25
- Iotti, O. Violin and Violoncello in Duo without Accompaniment
(1972)
- Ref ML 128.V5M28 1989
- Markevitch, D. The Solo Cello: A Bibliography of Unaccompanied
Violoncello Music
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY
- ML910.C36 1999
- Stowell, R. Cambridge Companion to the Cello
- ML910.C7 1983
- Cowling, E. The Cello
- ML915.W33 1968
- Wasielesesi, W. The Violoncello and its History
- MT300.E6
- Epperson, G. Art of Cello Teaching (1980)
- MT300.L82 1998
- Luckman, P. Handbook for Cello Students: Music Theory
and Other Facts
- MT300.M313
- Mantel, G. Cello Technique (1975)
- MT300.P5 1983
- Pleeth, W. Cello
- MT300.P55 2002
- Pinksterboer, H. The Rough Guide to Cello
- MT302.B95 1982
- Bunting, C. Essay on the Craft of Cello Playing
- Video ML418.H44H47
- Heifetz (violinist)/Piatigorsky (cellist)
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
Knowing the LC class number (call number) means that you can go directly
to the shelves to browse in that area, or you may determine complete library
holdings by checking the shelf list.
- ML128.V5 Violoncello-Bibliography
- ML910-915 General: History and construction; Music and playing
- MT300-318 Violoncello techniques
- MT785-798 Instruction and study for children
SUBJECT HEADINGS IN THE LIBRARY CATALOGS
Subject access is useful for finding books when you do not have a specific
author or title. For a detailed list of subject headings, consult the Library
of Congress Subject Headings.
- VIOLONCELLO
- VIOLONCELLO--BOW
- VIOLONCELLO--HISTORY
- VIOLONCELLO--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- VIOLONCELLO--METHODS
- VIOLONCELLO--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
- VIOLONCELLO--REPAIRING
- VIOLONCELLO--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
- VIOLONCELLO MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY
DOUBLE BASS
BIBLIOGRAPHIES & GRADED LISTS
- Ref ML128.D6G7 1974
- Grodner, M. Comprehensive Catalog of Available Literature for the
Double Bass
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE, AND PEDAGOGY
- <http://www.lib.utk.edu/cgi-bin/auth/connect.cgi?netlibrary=54953>
- Rosiér, K. Studio Bass Masters [electronic resource]: Session
Tips & Techniques From Top Bass Players
- ML920.E4 1971
- Elgar, R. Introduction to the Double Bass
- ML920.P6G4
- Planyavsky, A. Geschichte des Kontrabasses (1970)
- ML927.V63P613 1998
- Planyavsky, A. The Baroque Double Bass Violone
- MT320.G7
- Green, B. The Fundamentals of Double Bass Playing (1971)
- MT320.M66 2002
- Mooter, G. The Bass Player's Handbook
- MT320.T87 1989
- Turetzky, B. The Contemporary Contrabass
- MT322.G65 2002 and CD9427
- Goldsby, J. The Jazz Bass Book: Technique and Tradition
-
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
Knowing the LC class number (call number) means that you can go directly
to the shelves to browse in that area, or you may determine complete library
holdings by checking the shelf list.
- ML128.D6 Double bass music--Bibliography
- ML920-925 General: History and construction; Music and playing
- MT320-334 Double bass techniques
- MT801.D65 Instruction and study for children
SUBJECT HEADINGS IN THE LIBRARY CATALOGS
Subject access is useful for finding books when you do not have a specific
author or title. For a detailed list of subject headings, consult the Library
of Congress Subject Headings.
- DOUBLE BASS
- DOUBLE BASS--INSTRUCTION & STUDY
- DOUBLE BASS--METHODS
- DOUBLE BASS--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
- DOUBLE BASS--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
- DOUBLE BASS--STUDIES AND EXERCISES (JAZZ)
- DOUBLE BASS MUSIC
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne, Margaret Kaus and Jonathan Shearon, Revised May 2003
| |