Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Music Education - Specialized Needs*

The Music Education Guides are designed for use by music education faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of music education, learning styles and teaching methods. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • LC4001-LC4806.5 Children & youth with disabilities. Learning disabled children & youth
  • ML3830 Psychology of Music
  • ML3920-ML3930 Literature on music for children (juvenile literature)
  • MT1 Theory of musical instruction

Subject Headings

  • CONCERTOS (PIANO)BLIND, MUSIC FOR THE
  • MUSIC--PHYSIOLOGICAL ASPECTS
  • MUSIC--PHYSIOLOGICAL EFFECT
  • MUSIC--PSYCHOLOGICAL ASPECTS
  • MUSIC, INFLUENCE OF
  • MUSIC THERAPY
  • OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY
  • THERAPEUTICS, PHYSIOLOGICAL

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Ref MT3.U5M32 1996
     Mark, M. Contemporary Music Education. 1996.

Journals

Council for Research in Music Education. Bulletin / ML1.C68
Journal of Research in Music Education / ML1.J6
Music Educators Journal / ML1.M24
Orff Echo / ML1.O57
Teaching Music / ML1.T33
Tennessee Musician / ML1.T4

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

Autism

LC4661.C43
      Chastain, L. A Handbook on the Use of Songs to Teach Autistic and Other Severely Handicapped Children. 1980.
MT17.A48 1991
     Alvin, Juliette. Music Therapy for the Autistic Child. 1991.

General Books

HODGES LB1139.4.I58 1997
     Hart, C. Integrated Curriculum and Developmentally Appropriate Practice: Birth to Age Eight. 1997.
ML3919.S53 1996
     Sharma, M. Special Education: Music Therapy. 1996.
ML3920 .M483 2005
     Michel, Donald E. Music Therapy in Principle and Practice. 2005.
MT1.G78
     Graham, R. Teaching Music to the Exceptional Child: A Handbook for Mainstreaming. 1980.
MT1.I74 1981
     International Symposium of Music Education for the Handicapped. 1981.
MT1.I745 1983
     International Symposium of Music in Medicine, Education, and Therapy for the Handicapped. 1983.
MT1.M46 1983
     Hicks, C. Methods & Perspectives in Urban Music Education. 1983.
MT1.M93 1996
     Anderson, W. Multicultural Perspectives in Music Education. 1996.
MT3.U5M96
     Graham, R. Music for the Exceptional Child. 1975.
MT3.U5 R42 2003
     MENC. Readings on diversity, inclusion, and music for all. 2003.
MT17.O713 1980
     Orff, Gertrud. The Orff Music Therapy: Active Furthering of the Development of the Child. 1980.
MT17.S63 2001
     Sobol, Elise S. An Attitude and Approach for Teaching Music to Special Learners. 2001.

Gifted

MT3.U5J3
     Jankowski, P. Accelerated Programs for the Gifted Music Student. 1976.

Hearing Impaired

MT1.E345M9
     Edwards, E. Music Education for the Deaf. 1974.
MT17.R62 1980
     Robbins, Carol. Music for the hearing impaired : a resource manual and curriculum guide. 1980.

Individualized Instruction

M1994.S53 1975
     Silver-Burdett Satellites (12 vols.). 1975.
MT1.T62
     Tillman, R. Music Educator's Guide to Personal Instruction. 1975.

Mentally Disabled

LC4606 .B4
     Beal, Mary R. Music Curriculum Guidelines for Moderately Retarded Adolescents. 1982.
LC4606 .S44
     Silini, Flora Chiarappa. Experiencing Music with the Piano: A Method for Teaching the Mentally Handicapped. 1981.
MT1.D63
     Dobbs, J. The Slow Learner and Music. 1966.
MT3.G7W38
     Ward, D. Singing in Special Schools. 1973.

Physically Disabled

LC 19.15:M 97
     Music Services for Blind and Physically Handicapped Individuals.

Teaching Materials

M1993.G49M9
     Ginglend & Stiles. Music Activities for Retarded Children: A Handbook for Teachers & Parents. 1965.
MT17.P47 1995
     Perry, T. Music Lessons for Children with Special Needs. 1995.

Visually Disabled

LC 19.15:M 97/
     Music for Blind and Physically Handicapped Individuals.
MT38.K76
     Krolick, B. How to Read Braille Music: Book I, Vocal and Instrumental. 1975.
MT38.K762
     Krolick, B. Dictionary of Braille Music Signs. 1979.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

VHS MT1.K4 v.5
     Music for Special Education Programs. 1989.
VHS MT1.B79 1992
     Bringing Multicultural Music to Children. 1992.
VHS MT3.U5T4 1991 v.1-4
     Teaching Music with a Multicultural Approach. 1991.


ONLINE RESOURCES

American Music Therapy Association <http://www.musictherapy.org>
American Society for Deaf Children <http://www.deafchildren.org>
Autism Society of America <http://www.autism-society.org>
Learning Disabilities Online <http://www.ldonline.org>
Music Education Search System <http://www.music.miami.edu:591/mess>
Music Teachers’ National Association (MTNA) <http://www.mtna.org>
National Association for Gifted Children <http://nagc.org>
National Association for Music Education (MENC) <http://www.menc.org>
National Library Service - Blind and Physically Handicapped <http://www.loc.gov/nls/music/index.html>
Tennessee Music Education Association (TMEA) <http://tnmea.org>

Also see:

Periodical Indexes

Related databases available on the UT Libraries Database Page:
Education Full Text
ERIC
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
PsycLINFO (Journal articles)
Social Sciences Citation Index
Dissertation Abstracts
Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Music databases available on the Music Library Database Page:
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised July 2007