Percussion
The Literature and Pedagogy Guides are designed for use by music performance and pedagogy faculty and students. Included in these guides are listing of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings by specific instruments, family of instruments, and major ensembles. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
![]()
BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES
Call Numbers
- M145-M175 Percussion solos (including some electronic instruments)
- M284 Percussion and piano, original
- M285 Arrangements for percussion and piano
- M1038 Percussion with orchestra (full score)
- M1039 Percussion with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1138 Percussion with string orchestra (full score)
- M1139 Percussion with string orchestra (piano reduction)
- ML128.P23 Percussion music-Bibliography
- ML1030-ML1040 General: history and construction; music and playing
- MT655-MT722 Percussion techniques
- MT801.X9 Xylophone-Instruction and study for children
Subject Headings
- Instruments, e.g., DRUM, KETTLEDRUM, etc.
- PERCUSSION ENSEMBLES
- PERCUSSION INSTRUMENTS
- PERCUSSION INSTRUMENTS--CATALOGS AND COLLECTIONS
- PERCUSSION INSTRUMENTS--CONSTRUCTION
- PERCUSSION INSTRUMENTS--DICTIONARIES
- PERCUSSION INSTRUMENTS--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- PERCUSSION INSTRUMENTS--METHODS
- PERCUSSION INSTRUMENTS--REPAIRING
- PERCUSSION INSTRUMENTS--STUDY AND TEACHING
- PERCUSSION MUSIC (JAZZ)
- PERCUSSION MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY
- PERCUSSION MUSIC--HISTORY AND CRITICISM
- PERCUSSION MUSIC--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- PERCUSSIONISTS
- RHYTHM BANDS AND ORCHESTRAS
PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)
Reference Books
Beck, John H., ed. Encyclopedia of Percussion 2nd ed.. New York: Routledge, 2007.
-Ref ML102 .P4E5 2007
Morris Lang, Larry Spivack. -- Dictionary of percussion terms as found in the symphonic repertoire. Brooklyn, N.Y.: Lang Percussion Inc., 1997, c1977.
–Ref ML102.P4 L36 1997
Klöwer, Töm. The joy of drumming :drums & percussion instruments from around the world. -- Diever, Holland : Binkey Kok Publications, c1997.
–Ref ML1030 .K4613 1997
Peinkofer, Karl, Fritz Tannigel. Handbook of percussion instruments :their characteristics and playing techniques, with illustrations and musical examples from the literature. London; New York : Schott; Melville, New York: Belwin-Mills, c1976.
–Ref ML1030 .P4413
Girsberger, Russ. A practical guide to percussion terminology; edited and with performance interpretation by Anthony J. Cirone. -- Ft. Lauderdale, FL : Meredith Music, 1998.
-Ref ML102.P4 G57 1998
Beck, John H. ed. Encyclopedia of percussion. -- New York : Garland Pub., 1995. – Ref ML102.P4 E5 1995
Adato, Joseph and George Judy. The percussionist's dictionary :translations, descriptions, and photographs of percussion instruments from around the world. -- Melville, N.Y. : Belwin-Mills Pub. Corp., c1984.
-Ref ML102.P4 A3 1984
Larrick, Geary. Bibliographic analysis of percussion literature. -- Lewiston, NY : E. Mellen Press, c2003.
-
Ref ML128 .P23 L363 2003
Larrick, Geary. An annotated bibliography of percussion music publications. -- Lewiston, N.Y. : E. Mellen Press, c2005.
-
Ref ML128.P23 L362 2005
Bajzek, Dieter. Percussion :an annotated bibliography with special emphasis on contemporary notation and performance. -- Metuchen, N.J. : Scarecrow Press, 1988. – Ref ML128.P23 B34 1988
Siwe, Thomas edt. Percussion solo literature. -- Champaign, Ill. : Media Press, c1995.
-Ref ML128.P23 S63 1995
Siwe, Thomas edt. Percussion ensemble literature. -- Champaign, Ill. : Media Press, c1998.
-
Ref ML128.P23 S6 1998
Journals
Percussive notes. – REF. ML1030.P47
National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors Journal (NACWPI journal).-
REF. ML27.U5N17
Directories
Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.
***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.
AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES
Blast [videorecording] / High Five Television ; Star of Indiana, Inc. ; directed by Stanley Dorfman ; producer & artistic director, James Mason. -- [S.l.] : PBS Home Video ; Hollywood, Calif. : Distributed by Paramount Home Entertainment, [2004].
-DVD. Ask at desk M1500 .B63 2004
Percussion instruments [videorecording] / a presentation of Films for the Humanities & Sciences ; [produced by] TransTel. -- Princeton, N.J. : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, [2004], c1997.
-DVD. Ask at desk ML1030 .P467 2004
Buddy Rich [videorecording] : jazz legend / produced by Paul Siegel and Rob Wallis ; co-produced and written by Bruce H. Klauber. -- Miami, FL : Warner Music Vision, 2002.
-DVD. Ask at desk M1366.B79 B82 2002
Stomp out loud [videorecording] / YES / NO Production ; created and directed by Luke Cresswell and Steve McNicholas. -- New York : HBO Home Video, c1997.
-
DVD. Ask at desk M146 .S764 1997
Drum set technique [videorecording]; History of the U.S. beat / Hudson Music. -- [United States] : Hudson Music ; Milwaukee, Wis. : Exclusively distributed by Hal Leonard Corp., c2002.
-MT662.6 .D78 2002
Concert percussion [videorecording] :a performers guide / Masterplan Video Productions; in association with Yamaha and Zildjian; director, Fred Sanford. -- Alameda, Calif. : Masterplan, c1989.
-Videocassette in stacks MT655 .C65 vol. 1
Getting started on congas [videorecording]: technique for one and two drums, fundamento 1 / with Bobby Sanábria. -- Miami, Fla. : DCI Music Video, 1996.
-Videocassette in stacks MT663.8 .G48 1996
Mallet keyboard musicianship [videorecording]: featuring Dave Samuels / [presented by] Yamaha in association with Masterplan ; executive producers, Jay Wanamaker, Fred Sanford ; director, Fred Sanford. -- Alameda, Calif.: Masterplan, [1988.]
-Videocassette in stacks MT719 .M3 vol. 1 & 2
ONLINE RESOURCES
Modern Drummer Online – http://www.moderndrummer.com
Percussive Arts Society – http://www.pas.org
Drummer World Online – http://www.drummerworld.com
Also see:
African Drum Beat – http://www.african-drumbeat.co.uk/index.html
*Call numbers apply to UT held items only
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Nathalie Hristov, Revised August 2007

