Choral
The Literature and Pedagogy Guides are designed for use by music performance and pedagogy faculty and students. Included in these guides are listing of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings by specific instruments, family of instruments, and major ensembles. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.
![]()
BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES
Call Numbers
- ML47-54.8 Librettos, texts, scenarios.
- ML128.C Choral music--Bibliography
- ML128.V7 Vocal music--Bibliography
- ML132.C5 Choral music--Graded lists
- ML1500-1554 General history of music
- ML2400-3275 Secular choral music
- ML2900-3275 Sacred choral music
- MT85 Choral conducting
- MT110-115 Analytical guides --oratorios, cantatas
- MT875, 930 Choral techniques, choirs
Subject Headings
- CHOIRS (MUSIC)
- CHORAL MUSIC
- CHORAL MUSIC--HISTORY
- CHORAL SPEAKING
- CHORAL RECITATIONS
- CHORAL SINGING
- CHORAL SINGING-INTERPRETATION (Phrasing, dynamics, etc.)
- CHORAL SINGING--JUVENILE
- CHORAL SOCIETIES
- CHORAL SPEAKING
- CHORAL CONDUCTING
- CHORAL CONDUCTORS
- PERFORMANCE PRACTICE (MUSIC)
- VOCAL ENSEMBLES
PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)
Reference Books
Ref ML47.J4 1988. Jeffers, Ron. Translations and Annotations of Choral Repertoire v.1 Sacred Latin Texts v.2 German Texts.
Ref ML49.B22 v.1-4. Drinker, Henry. Texts of the Choral Works of J. S. Bach.
Ref ML49.S39. Drinker, Henry. English Texts to the Vocal Works of Heinrich Schütz.
Ref ML102.C5 S83 2006. Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music.
Ref ML102.C5 W67 2000. Foley, Edward, ed. Worship music : A Concise Dictionary.
Ref ML111.D48 no.67. Walker, Diane and Paul Walker. German Sacred Polyphonic Vocal Music Between Schütz and Bach: Sources and Critical Editions.
Ref ML128.C48C47 2004. Ellingboe, Bradley, ed. Choral literature for Sundays and Seasons.
Ref ML128.C48D47 1993. DeVenney, David P. and Craig R. Johnson. The Chorus in Opera : a Guide to the Repertory.
Ref ML128.C48G74 2000. Green, Jonathan. A Conductor’s Guide to the Choral-Orchestral Works of J.S. Bach.
Ref ML128.C48C5. Sharpe, A. Choral Music Reviews Index (1983-88).
Ref ML128.C48D45 1993. DeVenney, D. American Choral Music Since 1920: An Annotated Guide.
Ref ML128.C48D48 1987. Nineteenth-century American Choral Music.
Ref ML128.C48G7 1994. Green, J. A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works.
Ref ML128.C48 G703 2002. A Conductor's Guide to Choral-orchestral Works, Classical Period.
Ref ML128.C48S53 2002. Sharp, A. Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide.
Ref ML128.C48W5 1996. White, E. Choral Music by African-American Composers: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography.
Ref ML128.C48W53 1990. White, J. Twentieth Century Choral Music: An Annotated Bibliography of Music Suitable for Use by High School Choirs.
Ref ML128.C54 L4 1996. Laster, J. Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order.
Ref ML128.C54 S53 2005. Sharp, Avery T. and James Michael Floyd. Church and Worship music: An Annotated Bibliography of Contemporary Scholarship a Research and Information Guide.
Ref ML128.V7D43 1988. DeVenney, D. Early American Choral Music: An Annotated Guide.
Ref ML156.2.S383 21st 2001. Schwann Artist Guide / Consult by names of Choral Groups. This title is out of print; no more volumes will be received.
Ref ML156.4.V7C54 1991. Blyth, A. Choral Music on Record.
Ref MT872.D43 1990. Wall, Joan, et al. Diction for Singers.
Ref MT872.W187 1989. Wall, Joan, et al. International Phonetic Alphabet for Singer.
Ref MT875.C68 1987. Corp, Ronald. The Choral Singer's Companion.
Ref MT883 .C7 1990. Cox, Richard. Singing in English : A Manual of English Diction for Singers and Choral Directors.
The Music-In-Print Series listed on Music Databases page.
- Sacred Choral Music
- Secular Choral Music
Choral Octavo File
This collection of single copies from the UTK Choral Library has been assembled in the Music Library Ref Room for the purpose of studying repertoire. Its INDEX, shelved with the octavo notesbooks, provides title, composer/arranger, and voicing.
Journals
American Choral Review. ML1 .A53
Choral Journal. ML1.C46
The Hymn. ML1 .H92
Journal of Research in Music Education. ML1.J6
Music Educators Journal. ML1.M24
Sacred Music. ML1.S25
Voice of Chorus America. ML1.A532
Directories
Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.
***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.
SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)
Diction
M1507.O637 1995 Book and Compact disc Rutter, J., ed. Opera Choruses.
MT883.M38 May, W. Pronunciation Guide for Choral Literature: French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Latin, Spanish (1987).
Conducting, Arranging, and Notation
MT70.5.O87 1986. Ostrander, A. Contemporary Choral Arranging
MT85.G175C6 1988. Garretson, R. Conducting Choral Music
MT85.G785 1997. Green, E. Modern Conductor.
MT85.I5 1991. In Quest of Answers: Interviews with American Choral Conductors.
MT85.K3278 1985. Kaplan, A. Choral Conducting.
MT85.M65 1987. Moses, D. Face to Face with an Orchestra.
MT85.S898 1987. Swan, H. Conscience of a Profession: Howard Swan, Choral Director.
Conductors/Biography
ML402.S26 2001. Jeffrey Sandborg, Jeffrey, ed. interviewer. English ways: conversations with English choral conductors.
ML410.B13U54 2005 J.S. Unger, Melvin P. Bach’s Major Works for Voices and Instruments: A Listener’s Guide.
ML410.M77C66 2001. Conlon, Joan Catoni. Performing Monteverdi: A Conductor’s Guide.
ML422.S52A3 2004. Blocker, Robert. The Robert Shaw Reader.
History, Performance, and Analysis
ML1500.G37 1993. Garretson, R. Choral Music: History, Style, and Performance Practice.
ML1500.U44. Ulrich, H. Survey of Choral Music. (1973).
ML1511.D478 1995. DeVenney, D. Source Readings in American Choral Music.
ML2931.R68. Routley, E. A Short History of English Church Music.
ML3201.S6 v.1-3. Smither, H. History of the Oratorio (1977).
ML1500.C59 2006. Ahlquist, Karen, ed. Chorus and community.
ML1500.S86 2007. Summer, Robert J. Choral masterworks from Bach to Britten: Reflections of a Conductor.
ML1506.R66 2006. Roma, Catherine. The Choral Music of Twentieth-Century Women Composers: Elisabeth Lutyens, Elizabeth Maconchy, and Thea Musgrave.
MT110.S74 2005. Choral masterworks: a Listener’s Guide / Michael Steinberg.
MT115.B2M43 2005. Hearing Bach’s Passions / Melamed, Daniel R.
MT115.B2S73. Steinitz, P. Bach's Passions (1979).
Pedagogy
MT85.G74 1989. Gordon, L. Choral Director's Rehearsal & Performance Guide.
MT85.N48 2002. Neuen, D. Choral Concepts.
MT85.W58 2000. Willetts, S. Beyond the Downbeat: Choral Rehearsal Skills and Techniques.
MT88.B35 2003. Bartle, J. A. Sound Advice: Becoming a Better Children's Choir Conductor.
MT875.C68 1987. Corp, R. The Choral Singer's Companion.
MT875.D46 2001. Demorest, S. M. Building Choral Excellence: Teaching Sight-Singing in the Choral Rehearsal
MT875.E3613 1982. Ehmann, W. Voice Buiding for Choirs.
MT875.G7 + video. Haasemann, F. Group. Vocal Techniques (1989)..
MT875.H27G7. 1991. Group Vocal Technique.
MT875.H18 1984. Hammar, R. Pragmatic Choral Procedures.
MT875.H86 2001 + CD7911. Hunt, P. Voiceworks: A Handbook for Singing.
MT915.M49 1991. McRae, Shirley W. Directing the Children's Choir : A Comprehensive Resource.
MT930.C58 1999. Collins, D. L. Teaching Choral Music.
MT930.M59 1988. Miller, K. Vocal Music Education.
MT930.R65 1983. Roe, P. Choral Music Education.
MT935.P53 1992 + Suppl. Phillips, K. Teaching Kids to Sing.
Pedagogy (Conducting)
MT85.D76 2003. Durrant, Colin. Choral Conducting: Philosophy and Practice.
MT85.M68 2004. Moses, Don, et al. Face to Face with Orchestra and Chorus: A Handbook for Choral Conductors.
MT875.E46 2006. Emmons, Shirlee and Constance Chase. Prescriptions for Choral Excellence: Tone, Text, Dynamic Leadership.
MT875.L35 2004. Lamble, Walter. A Handbook for Beginning Choral Educators.
MT875.P53 2004. Plank, Steven E. Choral Performance: A Guide to Historical Practice.
MT875.S63 1999. Smith, Brenda and Robert Thayer Sataloff. Choral Pedagogy.
MT875.T33 2005. Buchanan, Heather J. and Matthew W. Mehaffey, eds. Teaching Music Through Performance in Choir.
AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES
The Art of Conducting (Orchestra!).
VHS: MT85.A73 1991
Group Vocal Techniques (1989) + book. Haasemann, F.
VHS: MT875.G7
Ensemble Diction. Jordan, J.
VHS: MT883.J78E5 1995
Leading the Choir (1990).
VHS: MT85.L4
The Art of Conducting.
VHS: MT85.A73 1991.
Carlo Maria Giulini [videorecording].
DVD. Ask at desk: M2010 .V47 C24 2005
Stabat Mater [videorecording] / Poulenc.
DVD. Ask at desk: M2020.P75 S83 2002
Choral ikons [videorecording] / [music by] Sir John Tavener
DVD. Ask at desk: M2082 .C56 2002
Weihnachtsoratorium [videorecording] : BWV 248, Teil 1-3 / Johann Sebatian Bach ;
DVD. Ask at desk: M2004 .B23 W27 2003
Carlo Maria Giulini [videorecording]. (Requiem ; Quatro pezzi sacri / Verdi)
DVD. Ask at desk: M2010 .V47 C24 2005
Messa da requiem [videorecording] / Verdi ; a production of EuroArts Music International
DVD. Ask at desk: M2010.V47 R43 2002
Carols from King’s [videorecording] / a BBC Religion production in association with Opus Arte Media Productions.
DVD. Ask at desk: M2065 .C37 2001
Die Schöpfung [videorecording] = The creation : oratorium für drei Solostimmen, Chor und Orchester / Joseph Haydn.
DVD. Ask at desk: M2000.H35 S36 2001
A German requiem [videorecording] : op. 45 / Johannes Brahms ; from the Musikverein in Vienna.
DVD. Ask at desk: M2010 .B8 op.45 2004
Messiah [videorecording] : the 250th anniversary performance / music by George Frideric Hande. Channel Four Television and Philips Classics Productions.
DVD. Ask at desk: M2000 .H22 M42 2003
Weihnachtsoratorium [videorecording] : BWV 248, Teil 1-3 / Johann Sebastian Bach ;
DVD. Ask at desk: M2004 .B23 W27 2003
Teaching music through performance in choir [sound recording] : resource recordings. Volume 1; Levels 1-3.
CD. Ask at desk: CD13955
ONLINE RESOURCES
American Choral Catalog < http://www.americanchoral.com >
American Choral Directors
Association < http://www.acdaonline.org >
ChoralNet - IFCM < http://www.ifcm.net/index.php >
Musica International Database
of Choral Music < http://musicanet.org >
International Music Score Library Project < http://imslp.org/wiki/Main_page >
Also see:
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Music Index Online
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
JStor
*Call numbers apply to UT held items only
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Nathalie Hristov, Revised August 2007

