The University of Tennessee University Libraries
A-Z Index  /  WebMail  /  Dept. Directory

Brass Literature and Pedagogy

 

 

 

General Brass Trumpet Horn Trombone Tuba & Euphonium

NOTE: This guide provides selective listings. There may be more materials available in these subject areas.

Always check the catalog, using subject headings suggested, or check the appropriate call number areas in the stacks.


GENERAL BRASS:

Bibliographies & Teaching Guides
Current Periodicals
Internet Resources
Subject Headings
Periodical Indexes


GENERAL BRASS INSTRUMENTS

BIBLIOGRAPHIES & TEACHING GUIDES

Ref ML128.B7B7 1992
King, R. Brass Player's Guide to the Literature
ML128.B73T47 1994
Thompson, J. French Music for Low Brass Instruments: An Annotated Bibliography
ML128.W5A57 1987
Anderson, P. Brass Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print
Ref ML128.W5A6
-----. Brass Solo and Study Material Music Guide (1976)
Ref ML128.W5F3 1990
Fasman, M. Brass Bibliography
ML128.W5H62 1996
Horne, A. Brass Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography
Ref ML128.W5R38
Rasmussen, M. A Teacher's Guide to the Literature of Brass Instruments (1964)
Ref ML128.W5S6 1985
Skei, A. Woodwind, Brass, and Percussion Instruments of the Orchestra
ML399.M4 1994
Meckna, M. Twentieth-Century Brass
Video ML933.B7
Brass Instruments (1976)
ML933.C36 1997
Herbert, T., ed. The Cambridge Companion to Brass Instruments
ML933.W52 1997
Whitener, S. A Complete Guide to Brass: Instruments and Techniques
MT339.B455S8
Bellamah, J. Survey of Modern Brass Teaching Philosophies (1976)
MT339.C6
Colin, C. Brass Player (1972)
MT339.F27
Farkas, P. The Art of Brass Playing (1962)
MT418.B87 1991
Instrumentalist. Brass Anthology: A Collection of Brass Articles Published in the Instrumentalist Magazine from 1946 to 1990.
MT418.G7
Griffiths, J. Low Brass Guide (1980)
MT418.H9 2002
Bachelder, D. and Hunt, N. Guide to Teaching Brass
MT418.J64 2002
Johnson, K. Brass Performance and Pedagogy

CURRENT PERIODICALS

  • Brass Bulletin / ML5.B6864
  • The Horn Call / ML955.H6
  • International Trumpet Guild. ITG Journal / ML1.I87
  • ITEA Journal / ML1.T82

INTERNET RESOURCES

SUBJECT HEADINGS IN LIBRARY CATALOGS

Subject access is useful for finding books when you do not have a specific author or title. Browsing through the listings under these headings will further acquaint you with the materials on this subject which are available in the Music Library. For a more detailed list of subject headings, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings.

  • BRASS INSTRUMENTS
  • BRASS INSTRUMENTS--BIBLIOGRAPHY
  • BRASS INSTRUMENTS--INSTRUCTION & STUDY
  • BRASS INSTRUMENTS--PERIODICALS
  • BRASS ENSEMBLES
  • BRASS TRIOS, QUARTETS, QUINTETS, ETC.

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Music databases available on the Web:

  • International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
  • Music Index Online
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature


TRUMPET:

Bibliographies & Discographies History, Performance & Pedagogy Internet Resources
LC Classification   Subject Headings


TRUMPET

BIBLIOGRAPHIES & DISCOGRAPHIES

Ref ML128.T78C34 1994
Carnovale, N. and Doerksen, P. Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet & Orchestra
Ref ML156.4.T8L68 1990
Lowrey's International Trumpet Discography, 2 vols.

HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY

Video ML930.T4
Technology, Trumpets and Tunes (1990)
ML960.B38 1978
Bate, P. The Trumpet and Trombone
ML960.S63 1988
Smithers, H. The Music and History of the Baroque Trumpet before 1721
ML960.T3713 1988
The Trumpet
ML961.B37 1992
Barclay, R. The Art of the Trumpet-maker
MT440.G5
Gibson, D. A Textbook for Trumpet (1962)
MT440.J65
Johnson, K. The Art of Trumpet Playing (1981)
MT440.S54
Sherman, R. The Trumpeter's Handbook (1979)
Video MT440.S84 1984
Steps to Excellence: Allen Vizzutti
MT442.V59 1991 Bk.1-3
Vizzutti, A. The Allen Vizzutti Trumpet Method

INTERNET RESOURCES

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

If you know the LC class number (call number) for a category of materials, you can go directly to the shelves to browse in that area. You might also determine the complete holdings of the library by checking the shelflist, a special section of the card catalog, under the appropriate LC class number.

  • ML128.T78 Trumpet music--Bibliography
  • ML960-963 General works; History and criticism; Construction; Music and playing
  • MT440-448 Trumpet technique
  • MT801.T7 Instrumental techniques for children--Trumpet

SUBJECT HEADINGS

  • TRUMPET
  • TRUMPET--HISTORY
  • TRUMPET--INSTRUCTION & STUDY
  • TRUMPET--METHODS
  • TRUMPET--PERIODICALS
  • TRUMPET--PLAYERS
  • TRUMPET--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
  • TRUMPET MUSIC
  • TRUMPET AND . . . or TRUMPET WITH . . .


HORN:

Bibliographies & Discographies History, Performance & Pedagogy Internet Resources
LC Classification   Subject Headings


HORN

BIBLIOGRAPHIES & DISCOGRAPHIES

Ref ML128.H67B8DT
Bruchle, B. Horn Bibliographie (1970- )
Ref ML128.H67F4 (1978)
Farr, L. Horn Player's Guide to Orchestral Excerpts
Ref ML128.H67W5
Wilkins, W. Index of French Horn Music (1978)
Ref ML128.W5H67
Hosek, M. The Woodwind Quintet (1979)

HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY

ML955.G7 1969b
Gregory, R. The Horn: A Comprehensive Guide to the Modern Instrument and its Music
ML955.H86 2000
Humphries, J. The Early Horn: A Practical Guide
ML955.J313 1988
Janetzky, K. The Horn
ML955.M67
Morley-Pegge, R. The French Horn: Some Notes on the Evolution of the Instrument and of its Technique (1960)
MT420.R49 1997
Reynolds, V. The Horn Handbook
MT420.S35 1992
Schuller, G. Horn Technique
Video MT420.S8
Steps to Excellence: William Kuyper (1986)
MT425.F37A7
Farkas, P. The Art of French Horn Playing (1956)
MT445.B764P7 1990
Broiles, M. Private Practice
ML955.T82 1983b
Tuckwell, B. Horn

INTERNET RESOURCES

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

  • ML128.H67 Horn--Bibliography
  • ML128.W5 Wind Instruments--Bibliography
  • ML955-958 General works; History and criticism; Construction; Music and playing
  • MT801.H7 Instrumental techniques for children

SUBJECT HEADINGS

  • HORN MUSIC
  • HORN MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY
  • HORN MUSIC--DISCOGRAPHY
  • HORN (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT)--INSTRUCTION & STUDY
  • HORN (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT)--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
  • HORN (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT)--PERIODICALS
  • HORN (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT)--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
  • HORN (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT) HORN AND . . . or HORN WITH . . .


TROMBONE:

Bibliographies & Discographies History, Performance & Pedagogy Internet Resources
LC Classification   Subject Headings


TROMBONE

BIBLIOGRAPHIES & DISCOGRAPHIES

Ref ML128.T7K3
Kagarice, V. Annotated Guide to Trombone Solos with Band and Orchestra (1974)
Ref ML128.T76A7
Arling, H. Trombone Chamber Music (1978)
Ref ML128.T76E9 1978
Everett, T. An Annotated Guide to Bass Trombone Literature
Ref ML156.4.T7B3 1988
Bahr, E. Trombone / Euphonium Discography

HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY

ML128.T76L36 1999
Lane, G. The Trombone: An Annotated Bibliography
ML960.B38 1978
Bate, P. The Trumpet and Trombone
ML965.D45
Dempster, S. Modern Trombone (1979)
ML965.G74 1973b
Gregory, R. The Trombone: The Instrument and its Music
ML965.L36 1982
Lane, G. The Trombone in the Middle Ages and Renaissance
MT418.G7
Griffiths, J. The Low Brass Guide (1980)
MT460.F434T7
Fink, R. The Trombonist's Handbook (1977)
Video MT460.S8
Steps to Excellence: Donald Knaub (1985)
MT460.W5 1984
Wick, D. Trombone Technique
MT466.T7 v.1-4 (1981)
Haney, L. van. Trombone Player's Orchestral Repertoire

INTERNET RESOURCES

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

  • ML128.T76 Trombone--Bibliography
  • ML965-968 General works; History and criticism; Construction; Music and playing
  • MT 460-468 Trombone techniques
  • MT801.T67 Instrumental techniques for children

SUBJECT HEADINGS

  • TROMBONE
  • TROMBONE--HISTORY
  • TROMBONE--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • TROMBONE--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
  • TROMBONE--METHODS
  • TROMBONE--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
  • TROMBONE--PERIODICALS
  • TROMBONE MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY
  • TROMBONE MUSIC--DISCOGRAPHY


TUBA & EUPHONIUM:

Bibliographies & Discographies History, Performance & Pedagogy Internet Resources
LC Classification   Subject Headings


TUBA & EUPHONIUM

BIBLIOGRAPHIES & DISCOGRAPHIES

Ref ML128.B24L7
Louder, E. Euphonium Music Guide
ML128.T8B4 (1967)
Bell & Morris. Encyclopedia of Literature for the Tuba
Ref ML128.T8T8 1996
Morris, R. The Tuba Source Book
Ref ML156.4.T7B3 1988
Bahr, E. Trombone / Euphonium Discography

HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY

ML970.M34
Mason, K. Tuba Handbook (1977)
ML973.M3 1972
Marzan, F. Twentieth Century Literature for Tuba
MT418.G7
Griffiths, J. The Low Brass Guide (1980)
Video MT480.P5
Phillips, Harvey. Phillips on Tuba (1986)
MT485.M34
Maenz, O. Zwolf Spezialstudien fur Tuba (1965)

INTERNET RESOURCES

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

  • ML128.T8 Tuba music--Bibliography
  • ML970-973 General works; History and criticism; Construction; Music and playing
  • MT480-488 Tuba technique
  • MT801.T8 Instrumental techniques for children

SUBJECT HEADINGS

  • EUPHONIUM
  • EUPHONIUM--PERIODICALS
  • EUPHONIUM AND ... or EUPHONIUM WITH ...
  • EUPHONIUM MUSIC
  • EUPHONIUM MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY
  • TUBA
  • TUBA--HISTORY
  • TUBA--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • TUBA--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
  • TUBA--PERIODICALS
  • TUBA--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
  • TUBA AND . . . or TUBA WITH . . .
  • TUBA MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY
  • TUBA ENSEMBLES
  • TUBISTS
  • TUBA MUSIC (JAZZ)


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Laura Yust, Revised July 2003