The goal of The Times Digital Archive, 1785-1985, is to deliver to the user every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London), the “world’s newspaper of record.” With more than eight million articles and advertisements spanning this time period, the Archive will provide the user with a complete virtual chronicle of history for this period.

The full-text of the entire newspaper, including news articles, editorials, obituaries, advertising and classifieds, is searchable. Results are displayed at the article level and users may view a facsimile image of a specific article or the full page upon which the article appeared. Advanced searching allows users to search by issue date, article, title, byline or article category. Issues may also be browsed page by page.

The Archive is a work in progress, with completion scheduled for the end of 2003. Currently the coverage includes 1913-1985. For the years 1790-1905, indexing to The Times is available via Palmer’s Index to the Times, a database accessible at UT Libraries.

The Times Digital Archive may be accessed via the database menu under Full-Text Resources, History & Classics, or Journals, Magazines, Newspapers. Off-campus searching is available to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff with a NetID and password.

If you would like additional information about The Times Digital Archive or any other database, please direct your questions to   .

Molly Royse, Humanities Coordinator
17 February 2003



Previously featured databases:
            AMICO
            Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
            CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
            Current Protocols
            Ethnic News Watch
            Oxford Reference Online
            
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage