| |
ReferenceUSA is a very useful directory that can help one:
- Find companies for job searches
- Find sales opportunities
- Locate out-of-town companies
- Locate small companies
- Conduct market research
- Find the address of person who recently moved
It consists of two parts:
- The Business Database covers 12 million US businesses, compiled from
the Yellow Pages. The data is enhanced with SIC/NAICS codes and information
from the Edgar database. It contains links to parent companies and
contains company contact names with name, title and gender. The Quick
Search requires company name. A powerful Custom Search allows searching
by several different data elements, including ticker symbol, SIC, business
size, and geographic indicators.
- The Residential Database covers 120 million US households with data
compiled from the White Pages and enhanced by information from the
most recent Census and maps from MapQuest. It is more up-to-date than
free Internet directory resources because it is updated with information
from the National Change of Address database from the US Post Office.
The Quick Search requires name information or a telephone number. The
Custom Search allows enhanced geographic searching. Both databases
are updated monthly. Up to 25 records may be printed or downloaded at a time. Data may be downloaded in comma-delimited, tab-delimited
or fixed-length formats.
If you would like additional information about ReferenceUSA or any of
the Libraries' other databases, please direct your questions to .
Gayle Baker, Electronic Services Coordinator
29 September 2003
To read about previously featured databases, please refer to the Featured
Databases Archive.
|