Oxford Reference Online provides the full-text of over 100 reference books from Oxford University Press. The collection includes a variety of resources such as foreign language (French, German, Italian, Spanish) dictionaries, thesauri, and subject encyclopedias in the broad areas of Arts and Humanities, Language, Social Sciences, Business and Law, and Science and Medicine.

Representative titles are: The Concise Oxford Spanish Dictionary, The Oxford American Thesaurus of Current English, A Dictionary of World Mythology, The Oxford Dictionary of 20th Century Quotations, A Dictionary of English Place-Names, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, A Dictionary of Political Biography, A Dictionary of Nursing, A Dictionary of Plant Sciences, and a host of others.

The titles may be browsed or searched individually, or as a collection. Links to selected web resources are provided with each title, as well as instructions on how to cite references found in the collection.

Summer students used this electronic resource to research the meaning of terms like "conflict of interest" and "ethics" across several disciplines. Others used the foreign language and quotation dictionaries.

Oxford Reference Online may be accessed via the database menu. Individual titles in the collection appear in the UT Libraries catalog with links to the electronic versions

Off-campus searching is available to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff via NetID and password. Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users.

If you want additional information about Oxford Reference Online or any other database, please direct your questions to  .

Gayle Baker, Electronic Services Coordinator
August 2002