The Literature Resource Center, 3.0, brings together several interdisciplinary resources for literary research. One may use it to find literary criticism, biographical information about an author, historical context for an author's work, etc. Searching can be done by author, title and keyword. An advanced search option provides more detailed searching with additional search fields and limits by document type. Among the Center's resources are:

  • Over 300,000 full-text journal articles from more that 170 literary journals
  • 38,000 critical essays
  • More that 4,000 synopses of works
  • Links to over 5,000 authoritative Web sites
  • 123,000+ author biographies
  • 2,500 author portraits

Biographical and bibliographical information comes from full-text entries from Contemporary Authors and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Contemporary Literary Criticism Select is the source for full-text criticism.

Other tools include the full-text of Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, a Literary-Historical timeline, and a "Guide to Conducting Literary Research." Instructions on citing information from the Literature Resource Center and other databases by the Gale Group can be found at http://www.galegroup.com/free_resources/citing.htm.

If you would like additional information about The Literature Resource Center or any other database, please direct your questions to   .

Gayle Baker, Electronic Services Coordinator
28 February 2003



Previously featured databases:
            AMICO
            Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
            CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
            Current Protocols
            Ethnic News Watch
            Oxford Reference Online
            
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

            Times Digital Archive