The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is the first place to look for authoritative, up-to-date data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds and other frequently used scientific data. The Handbook includes data on thermochemistry, molecular structure and spectroscopy, nuclear and particle physics, and more. Data is presented in PDF format or in a more flexible, interactive table format which allows one to sort, filter, and manipulate the data.

One can browse through the Table of Contents or search for a specific piece of data using either the Text Search or the Substance/Property Search. The Text Search option allows a full-text search of the PDF files and supports wildcards which enables one to search for word variations (e.g., *chlor* retrieves chlorobenzene, hydrochloric acid, etc.). The Substance/Property Search allows searching by substance name, formula, CAS Registry Number, or by a specified range of properties such as melting point, solubility or ionization energy.

The CRC Handbook can be accessed through the database menu under "Physical & Chemical Sciences" or " Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks". Off-campus access is available to current University of Tennessee students, faculty and staff via NetID and password.

If you want additional information about the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics or any other database, please direct your questions to .

Teresa Berry, Science Librarian
November 2002

Previously featured databases:
            Oxford Reference Online
            
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
            AMICO