The University of Tennessee University Libraries
A-Z Index  /  WebMail  /  Dept. Directory
Featured Database

 


The CQ Voting and Elections Collection is a unique database that supports course work and scholarly research in the area of campaigns, elections, Congress, and the Presidency. Users will find it organized into six categories: Presidential Elections, Congressional Elections, Gubernatorial Elections, Campaigns and Elections, Political Parties, and Voters and Demographics. It integrates historical and current data, analysis of elections and voting behavior, explanations of electoral process and reforms, census and district demographics as well as key events and issues.

Thousands of election returns can be browsed and searched by office, year, and state. Trends and patterns in elections also can be studied. Another feature is candidate and office histories that allow for the tracking of a candidate’s political career. Information on overall trends in the total Democratic and Republican vote is collected as is Seat status and Competition to study incumbency, Open Seat Races and competitiveness, Party Control, Split Districts, and Third Parties to analyze party control in the House and the impact of third parties, and Party Switches and Special Elections to find key changes outside of the regular election cycle.

If you would like additional information about the CQ Voting and Elections Collection or any of the Libraries' other databases, please direct your questions to   .

Jane Row, Social Sciences Coordinator
15 March 2004



To read about previously featured databases, please refer to the Featured Databases Archive.