|
The crisis
in scholarly publishing, which has hit the Science
and Technology fields especially hard, remains to be an important
issue for researchers, teaching faculty, students, and librarians
alike. However, BioMed Central is trying to change that.
BioMed
Central is a collection of peer-reviewed, open-access
electronic journals. It boasts over 80
journals in the areas of Biochemistry, Bioinformatics,
Cell Biology, Genetics, Genomics, Immunology, Molecular Biology,
Microbiology and Physiology to name a few.
BioMed Central is committed to providing free access to research
articles from its journals and its content is permanently
archived in PubMed Central. All research articles are freely
available to the public, while value-added content in some
of its journals (such as review articles, commentary articles,
web reports, image databases and evaluation services) require
a subscription.
While BioMed Central is not a 'database' per se, it does
offer a search engine which enables you to search for topics
across all BMC journals. Many BMC journals are also indexed
in Medline, Web of Science, CAS, CABI and BIOSIS.
More Information:
BioMed Central Power
Point
Open
Access News- An informative and very active blog
tracking news on Open Access and Scholarly Publishing.
Peer-Reviewed- Refers to articles that have been approved
by experts in the field, outside of the editorial board.
Open Access- Journals that make content freely available,
or for a reasonable cost. Open Access can also refer to the
'movement' which is attempting to move away from high-cost,
commercial publishing toward low-cost or free publishing.
Database- Usually refers to an electronic version
of what were previously referred to in print as indexes &
abstracts. An index (or database) compiles article citations
from pertinent journals from many different publishers.
This is significantly different from a publisher's searchable
journal collection like Science Direct, IEEE Xplore, and BioMed
Central which only contain their own publications.
By using a 'true' bibliographic database like, BIOSIS, Medline,
Web of Science, or SciFinder Scholar your search will retrieve
articles from many more journals/publishers and thus will
be more comprehensive and complete.
If you would like additional information about BioMed Central
or any of the Libraries' other databases, please direct your
questions to
.
Donna
Braquet, Life Sciences Librarian
15 April 2004
To read about previously featured databases, please refer
to the Featured
Databases Archive.
|