|
|
ArchivesUSA is a unique and invaluable tool for all researchers
who use primary source materials. This database provides the researcher
with information about repositories and collections of primary source
materials across the United States. By performing either a Repository
Search or a Collection Search, users can zero in on material relevant
to their research. Detailed indexing of collections allows powerful searching
across eight combinable fields.
The database records for over 5,480 US manuscript repositories include
descriptions of holdings as well as detailed contact information. Information
about more than 132,000 manuscript and other special collections is
also provided. Each collection record links to its corresponding
repository
record, simplifying the research process.
In creating its collection records, ArchivesUSA utilizes the National
Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC), which includes information
gathered and indexed by the Library of Congress for more than 90,000
collections. Only ArchivesUSA makes all of NUCMC (1959 to the present)
fully searchable in electronic form. Information from the National
Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States, which provides
names and
subject indexing for over 54,000 collections, is also integrated into
ArchivesUSA.
ArchivesUSA is updated regularly to keep its content current. Archivists
are encouraged to submit new collection and repository information
on an ongoing basis.
If you would
like additional information about ArchivesUSA or
any other database, please direct your questions to .
Molly
Royse, Humanities Coordinator
16 April 2003
Previously
featured databases:
AMICO
Columbia
International Affairs Online (CIAO)
CRC
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Current
Protocols
Ethnic
News Watch
ICPSR Data Archive
INSPEC
Literature
Resource Center
Oxford
Reference Online
Standard & Poor's
NetAdvantage
Times
Digital Archive
|
|