| |
The American
Humanities Index (AHI) provides
the researcher with in-depth coverage in areas of the humanities not covered
in other databases. It provides access to more than half a million bibliographic
references from more than 1,000 literary, scholarly and creative journals
published in the United States and Canada. Titles indexed include Tennessee
Studies in Literature, Studies in American Fiction, Theatre
Journal, Steinbeck
Quarterly, Alabama Literary Review, Appalachian Journal, and Black
Scholar.
Dating back to 1975, AHI includes many smaller journals and publications
unavailable in other reference sources. Cover-to-cover indexing of journal
content is provided. Citation and selected full-text information is provided
for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including
poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Both basic and advanced
search options are available in AHI, with the advanced search allowing the
user to limit a search by publication type such as article, painting, photograph,
poem, review, or story.
The EBSCOhost search engine allows one to save searches and results in
a personal account for use at a later time. It also includes a bibliographic
manager download option to let researchers download one or more results to
a format compatible with BiblioLink and ProCite. At this time, EBSCOhost does
not support the searching of diacritical marks present in fields within AHI.
The diacritical search enhancement will be implemented at a future date.
If you would like additional information about American Humanities Index or any of the Libraries' other databases, please direct your questions
to .
Molly Royse, Humanities Coordinator
25 February 2004
To read about previously featured databases, please refer to the Featured
Databases Archive.
|