Guide to Public Opinion
Databases
Several databases are available that identify journal articles. Most are available electronically through our library network, but are restricted to UTK faculty, students and staff. Connect to the UT Library Home page at (http://www.lib.utk.edu). Under Resources select "Databases".
- Academic Search Premier
- Business Source Premier
- ComAbstracts
- Communication Abstracts: An International Information Service (P90.C6275 Ref.)
- Lexis/Nexis Academic
- National Journal Group's Policy Central
- PAIS International (enter PAIS in search box)
- PsycINFO
- Social Sciences Abstracts (enter social sciences in dialog box)
- SOCIOFILE (enter sociofile in dialog box)
- Statistical Universe - Lexis Nexis Statistical
Contains both popular periodicals and scholarly journals. "Public Opinion Polls" is a subject category.
Covers approximately 3000 business journals. Includes such titles as Advertising Age, American Demographics, and Broadcasting. Major subject headings are PUBLIC OPINION, POLLS AND SURVEYS, ATTITUDE SURVEY
Produced by the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship. Contains abstracts of articles from over 50 journals in the professional literature of communications, including Public Opinion Quarterly, Media Studies Journal, and Human Communication Research. Abstracts can be searched full text.
Indexes journals, books, and book chapters in the area of communications. Includes articles from Public Opinion Quarterly, International Journal of Public Opinion Research, and Newspaper Research Journal. Major subject terms are POLLING, SURVEYS, and POLLS.
Click on the Reference Category to find the Polls & Surveys. This database takes you to the Roper Center for Public Opinion. Click on the General news category for full-text information from newspapers, journals, and periodicals.
A comprehensive resource on politics. Includes Poll Track and daily news briefings of the latest political developments. Also access to National Journal, Hotline, CongressDaily, The Almanac of American Politics.
Covers a wide range of public opinion information from journals, books, and government documents. Major subject heading is PUBLIC OPINION.
An index of the world's psychological journal literature which includes abstracts for articles on the psychological aspects of public opinion. Subject terms are PUBLIC OPINION AND ATTITUDES. Some typical journals included are Journal of Social Psychology, Political Behavior, Communications Research, and Journal of Communication. We also now have a database called PsycArticles which provides full-text access to 42 key journals from the American Psychological Association.
Over 350 periodicals from the fields of anthropology, area studies, criminal justice, community health and medical care, urban studies, sociology, social work, policy studies, political science, psychology, and other related disciplines. Subject headings are PUBLIC OPINION, PUBLIC OPINION POLLS, SURVEYS, and ATTITUDES.
This is the electronic version of Sociological Abstracts. Terms are PUBLIC OPINION, SURVEYS, OPINION POLLS, or search the specific subject of interest.
Part of the Lexis/Nexis Service, this database contains references to statistics from state and federal government, and private organizations. Use terms like attitude surveys, opinion, consumer surveys.


