Information Sciences Subject Guide
Primary Databases
- Library Literature Full Text
- LISA: Library and Information Science Abstracts
Indexes abstracts from 400+ periodicals from multiple countries and in 20 languages. Abstracts back to 1969. No full-text within database, but use the Find Text button for other full-text options.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
- ERIC
Offers access to education literature and library resources including full-text for more than 2,000 digests and most ERIC documents (ED's) from 1993 to the present.
- Education Full Text
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
- INSPEC
- Web of Science
- Project Muse
- Science Direct
Full-text access from 1998 to present for journals to which UT Libraries subscribes from Elsevier and its affiliated publishers (JAI Press, Pergamon, North Holland, Excerpta Medica).
- Ulrich's Guide to Periodicals
Provides data on over 210,000 regularly published and irregularly issued serials, including purchasing and contact information (conventional and electronoc) for over 90,000 publishers in 200 countries.
- Book Review Index
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with citations from thousands of publications.
See also:
Lexis-Nexis, Factiva, and ProQuest for book reviews- WorldCat
Materials cataloged by libraries all around the world.
- Reference Universe
Allows one to search article titles and back-of-book indexes to over 5,000 encyclopedias and reference works.
Indexes articles and book reviews from about 400 library and information science periodicals published in the US and beyond from 1984. Full-text for selected periodicals back to 1997.
LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes all areas of librarianship, including cataloging, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Other Databases
Select "Education Full Text" and click on "Search" or "Search Plus."
Books & book reviews, annotations, fiction & non-fiction
Information technology topics
Science, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities Citation Databases - Select "ISI Web of Science" to start. Be sure to logout when finished.
Project Muse journals cover a wide range of topics in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Provides full text access to over 200 scholarly journals.
Return to the Information Sciences Subject Guide home page


