Africana Studies Subject Guide
Periodical Indexes/Databases
Use the library databases to search for journal articles. Use the FindText@UT links to locate articles that are available full-text online or to find the call number within the library's catalog.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
- Black Drama
- Database of African American Poetry
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Gale's Literary Index
- JSTOR
Online database. Index of biographical sources like "Who's Who."
Contains the full-text of 1,200 plays written by more than 100 playwrights, together with information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Full-text poetry for writers 1760 - 1900.
Full-text national and international news articles of special interest to the ethnic or minority populations of the United States from 1991 to the present.
A master index to volumes in the literary series published by Gale Research, such as Dictionary of Literary Biography or Short Story Criticism. Check the online catalog for call numbers for individual sets located in Reference, Hodges Library.
Back issues of selected scholarly journals in ecology, economics, history, mathematics, music, political science, statistics, and other humanities and social sciences.
Because African and African-American Studies covers so many areas, be sure to check other databases under the History, Education, Sociology, and Literture sections. -- See Other UT Databases
Return to the Africana Studies Subject Guide home page
Your Librarian
Felicia H. (Felder) Hoehne
ffelder@utk.edu
865-974-0018
Research Services
145 Hodges Library
865-974-4171

