The University of Tennessee University Libraries
A-Z Index  /  WebMail  /  Dept. Directory

PuMed Central International | Main | New Articles by UT Biology Faculty

January 18, 2007

GeoRef Now Has Unlimited Users

Due to a change in database platform, GeoRef is now available through CSA and has unlimited simultaneous UTK users.

The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 80,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.

To maintain the database, GeoRef editor/indexers regularly scan more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. They record the bibliographic data for each document and assign index terms to describe it. Each month between 4,000 and 7,000 new references are added to the database.

A subscription to the GeoRef database also includes access to the GeoRef In Process database (so both databases can be searched at once) and a link to the GeoRef Preview database on the AGI web site. The GeoRef In Process database contains records that are, literally, in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. The majority of the records originate from non-English language literature that was not necessarily published recently.

Posted by Donna Braquet at January 18, 2007 01:42 PM