Google Scholar Pitfalls to Watch Out For
We all agree that Google is a quick and accurate search engine for the Internet. Some are even finding Google Scholar useful. No doubt it has many good uses.
Try this in Google Scholar
1. Go to Google Scholar
2. Click Advanced Search
3. Search for F. Password in the author field
4. Check out the results.
For more info on Google Scholar, check out this page created by UT Libraries' Life Sciences Librarian.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 11:37 AM
Introducing BioInformatics Series Tutorials (BITS)
Introducing BioInformatics Series Tutorials (BITS) brought to you by MIT Engineering and Science Libraries and Harvard's Countway Library of Medicine.
These video tutorials highlight bioinformatics resources such as NCBI Entrez, BLAST, and the UCSC Genome Browser and focus on specific activities for conducting genomic research. BITS can be viewed at a user's own pace and own convenience.
The first installment of BITS covers the UCSC Genome Browser, which contains reference sequences and working draft assemblies for a large collection of genomes. Users will learn how to retrieve DNA sequence, display and configure the annotation tracks, identify gene intron-exon boundaries, and use the BLAT tool.
The BITS group encourages you to pass this new opportunity for learning on to your users.
BITS are available here:
MIT Engineering and Science Libraries http://libraries.mit.edu/video
Harvard's Countway Library of Medicine: http://countway.harvard.edu/video_tutorials
Questions?
MIT Engineering and Science Libraries ask-bioinfo@mit.edu
Harvard's Countway Library of Medicine countref@hms.harvard.edu
David L. Osterbur and Paul A. Bain, Harvard's Countway Library of Medicine
Courtney D. Crummett, NLM 2nd Year Associate Fellow, MIT Engineering and Science Libraries
Stay tuned for the next BITS series on BLAST.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 11:24 AM
John James Audubon's Birds of America--Digitized
The University of Pittsburgh is fortunate to own one of the rare, complete sets of John James Audubon's Birds of America. It is considered to be the single most valuable set of volumes in the collections of the University Library System (ULS). Indeed, only 120 complete sets are known to exist.
While Audubon was creating Birds of America, he was also working on a companion publication, namely, his Ornithological Biography. Both of these sets were acquired by William M. Darlington in the mid-nineteenth century and later donated, as part of his extensive library, to the University of Pittsburgh. Recognizing that the Darlington Library includes significant historical materials, such as rare books, maps, atlases, illustrations, and manuscripts, the ULS charted an ambitious course to digitize a large portion of Mr. Darlington's collection, including the Birds of America.
We are pleased to present our complete double elephant folio set of Audubon's Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological Biography, through this Web site. Together these sets comprise an unprecedented online combination.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 11:27 AM
Web of Science training
Thomson Scientific is pleased to offer free, web-based training classes to help you get the best results from our products. The training is provided using the online conferencing tool WebEx. To attend a class all you need is a computer with Internet access and a phone.
Apr 03 2008
Introduction to EndNote Web (60 min)
Time: Los Angeles 11:00 * Philadelphia 14:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 10 2008
Introduction to EndNote Web (60 min)
Time: Los Angeles 11:00 * New York 14:00
Enroll Now!
ISI Web of Knowledge
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Mar 27 2008
Introduction to the New Web of Knowledge (60 min)
Time: Los Angeles 11:00 * New York 14:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 01 2008
Introduction to Researcher ID (60 min)
Time: New York 10:00 * London 15:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 02 2008
Introduction to Researcher ID (60 min)
Time: Los Angeles 11:00 * New York 14:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 03 2008
Introduction to Researcher ID (60 min)
Time: New York 10:00 * London 15:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 09 2008
Introduction to Researcher ID (60 min)
Time: Los Angeles 11:00 * New York 14:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 14 2008
Introduction to Researcher ID (60 min)
Time: New York 10:00 * London 15:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 23 2008
Introduction to the New Web of Knowledge (60 min)
Time: New York 10:00 * London 15:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 24 2008
Introduction to the New Web of Knowledge (60 min)
Time: New York 10:00 * London 15:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 24 2008
Introduction to the New Web of Knowledge (60 min)
Time: Los Angeles 11:00 * New York 14:00
Enroll Now!
ISI Web of Science
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Apr 02 2008
Web of Science 1: General Search and Navigation (60 Min)
Time: New York 10:00 * London 15:00
Enroll Now!
Apr 09 2008
Web of Science 2: Cited Reference Searching (60 min)
Time: Philadelphia 11:00 * London 16:00
Register Now!
Apr 18 2008
Web of Science: Citation Reporting and the H-Index (60 min)
Time: New York 10:00 * London 15:00
Enroll now!
Apr 22 2008
Web of Science: Citation Reporting and the H-Index (60 min)
Time: New York 10:00 * London 15:00
Enroll now!
Apr 22 2008
Web of Science 1: General Search and Navigation (60 min)
Time: Los Angeles 12:00 * New York 15:00
Register Now!
Posted by Donna Braquet at 11:58 AM
Changes to SciFinder Scholar Access
SciFinder Scholar is now available for off-campus access through OIT's Citrix server at http://analysis.utk.edu.
Students can use this server for free. Faculty and staff users must purchase a one-time server access license. You can order that at http://oit.utk.edu/software/orderform.php by requesting an Analysis Server Access License, $16.
Once the access license is downloaded, SciFinder Scholar is located in the science/engineering folder. Please be aware that you're using a remote server, so be sure to save files to your C: drive.
For assistance, please contact Teresa Berry, Science Librarian, at tberry0[at]utk.edu.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 11:38 AM
New Web of Science Interface
Learn to search the Web of Science new interface at your convenience
The new Web of Science interface is now (2/12/08) the only option to search WOS.
Recorded training from Web of Science is available on all the features of the database. It is worth your time.
Questions about Web of Science? Contact Donna Braquet, Life Sciences Librarian, 974-0016.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 05:39 PM
IEEE Downtime
Dear IEEE subscriber,
We are writing to inform you that an upgrade of the IEEE Xplore Digital Library is scheduled for Saturday, 2 February. During this deployment, the system will be unavailable for up to eight hours beginning at approximately 9:00 AM EST. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
As a result of this new release, the IEEE Xplore digital library will be enhanced with:
Conference Proceedings weekly update alerts
- Enables a user to receive weekly update alerts for every conference title via either email or RSS whenever a new conference proceeding title is added to IEEE Xplore.
Scitopia.org search from the IEEE Xplore home page
- The IEEE Xplore home page will feature a quick search box enabling users to easily search scitopia.org, the free federated search portal to the digital libraries of leading science and technology societies.
Draft standards search
- Users will be able to limit their search to IEEE draft standards only from the Advanced Search page in IEEE Xplore.
Support of OpenURL images and custom text
- Customers will have the ability to post their logo or text in their OpenURL links.
This release is part of our ongoing effort to bring you the best IEEE Xplore experience possible and incorporates suggestions we have received from our many valued subscribers.
If you have any questions regarding the features listed above, please contact us at onlinesupport@ieee.org.
IEEE thanks you for your support, and we look forward to providing you with excellent service in the years to come.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 04:41 PM
Databases Get New Interface
The following databases have a new interface through their vendor OVID. Tutorials and guides for the new interface are avilable. For in depth assistance searching these or any other databases, you may schedule a research consultation with your subject librarian.
AGRICOLA 1970 to January 2008
Biological Abstracts 1969 to December 2007
CAB Abstracts 2000 to November 2007
CAB Abstracts 1990 to November 2007
CAB Abstracts 1973 to November 2007
Food Science and Technology Abstracts 1969 to 2008 January Week 2
Posted by Donna Braquet at 08:04 PM
Article on JCR Impact Factor
Published online 17 December 2007
doi:10.1083/jcb.200711140
The Journal of Cell Biology, Vol. 179, No. 6, 1091-1092
Editorial
Show me the data
Mike Rossner1, Heather Van Epps2, and Emma Hill3
1 Executive Director, The Rockefeller University Press
2 Executive Editor, The Journal of Experimental Medicine
3 Executive Editor, The Journal of Cell Biology
Posted by Donna Braquet at 01:13 PM
Article on Google Scholar vs. PubMed
Comparing test searches in PubMed and Google Scholar
J Med Libr Assoc. 2007 October; 95(4): 442-445.
Mary Shultz, MS, AHIP
Posted by Donna Braquet at 12:23 PM
IEEE down on Sat Nov 10
On Saturday, 10 November, IEEE will implement an upgrade to the IEEE Xplore digital library.
As a result, users will experience approximately 2-4 hours of downtime on that date, between 9:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. EST. A message will be posted to the IEEE Xplore home page to alert your users to the planned downtime. Please encourage your users to take this into account when they plan their research.
This update includes the following features:
Tabbed search results, including a beta test of Application Notes, practical content for working engineers
Citation (Known Item) search, RefWorks/BibTeX citation download, and improved author search
Subscriptions to IEEE Expert Now educational courses available through the IEEE Xplore platform
Thank you for subscribing to your IEEE online collection. We look forward to your response to these new tools and features and bringing you additional enhancements in the coming months.
Sincerely,
The IEEE Publications Development Team
Posted by Donna Braquet at 10:16 AM
Trial: Databases in Web of Science Platform
The UT Libraries are trialing several of their scitech databases in the ISI Web of Knowledge platform. Click the "Access the New Version" box at the top of the screen to demo the new WOS interface and search all of the trial databases. The following databases are now able to be simiultaneously searched while in Web of Science. The trial will last for 30 days.
--BIOSIS Previews
--CAB Abstracts
--FSTA
--INSPEC
--Medline
--Zoological Record
Posted by Donna Braquet at 01:37 PM
Illustrata (graphical indexing) Free Webinar
CSA Illustrata : Natural Sciences transforms research with groundbreaking deep indexing to reveal results that would be missed with traditional indexing and searching. Over a million images are indexed from articles in nearly 1,000 international journals!
Click here to see an example of a data summary display.
Developed in collaboration with researchers, CSA Illustrata : Natural Sciences is invaluable for research across a wide range of areas including:
Agriculture
Biology
Conservation
Earth Sciences
Environmental Studies
Food Safety
Medical Sciences
Meteorology
Pharmacology
Public Health and Safety
Water Resources
And more
Sign up now for a FREE Webinar to see how CSA Illustrata : Natural Sciences will transform your research!
A wide range of research areas are covered in key journals such as:
British Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Canadian Journal of Zoology
Deep Sea Research
Geology
Immunology
Journal of Bacteriology
Journal of Clinical Microbiology
Journal of Coastal Conservation
Journal of Environmental Sciences
Plant Breeding
Water, Air & Soil Pollution
And many more
"There have been relatively few innovations in indexing/abstracting (I/A) databases in the past 40 years ... CSA Illustrata is a major innovation."-Peter Jasco, Peter's Digital Reference Shelf, February 2007
"CSA Illustrata is a breakthrough product, opening up the wealth of data previously hidden in article graphics."-Marydee Ojala, Information Today, Jan. 22, 2007
With CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences you'll:
Uncover pertinent data in graphs, tables, x-rays, maps, illustrations, and photographs
Improve efficiency by pinpointing articles with the most relevant data summaries
Maximize current journal subscriptions
Achieve greater research impact
Posted by Donna Braquet at 03:21 PM
New Web of Science Interface
Web of Science (a.k.a. Science Citation Index)
The new interface to the Web of Science, an interdisciplinary (humanities, science,social science) database indexing about 9,000 journals will be available in the next few weeks on the UT Libraries database menu.
The cited reference search and the citation alerts are two of its most useful features.
You can jump right in and try it.
Documentation about the new interface>>
Video Tutorials>>
Posted by Donna Braquet at 03:57 PM
TOXMAP
TOXMAP® Now Includes 2005 Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) Data
April 18, 2007 [posted]
[Editor's Note: This Technical Note is a reprint of an announcement published on NLM-Tox-Enviro-Health-L, an e-mail announcement list available from the NLM Division of Specialized Information Services. To subscribe to this list, please see the NLM-TOX-ENVIRO-HEALTH-L Join, Leave, or Change Options page.]
The National Library of Medicine® (NLM) TOXMAP now includes the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)'s 2005 Toxics Release Inventory data (TRI).
The 2005 TRI was released by the EPA on March 22, 2007. TRI 2005 contains 89,325 records. TOXMAP maps the TRI chemicals reported to the EPA, as required by the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA).
A complete list of TRI chemicals required to be reported to the EPA can be found at http://www.epa.gov/tri/chemical/index.htm.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 03:40 PM
New Online Reference Books through StatRef Medical
Database Includes:
5-Minute Clinical Consult 2007, The - 15th Ed.
AAFP Conditions A to Z (2007)
ACP Medicine (2007)
AHFS Drug Information® (2007)
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology - 10th Ed. (2007)
Current Critical Care Diagnosis & Treatment - 2nd Ed. (2003)
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Cardiology - 2nd Ed. (2003)
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Gastroenterology - 2nd Ed. (2003)
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Orthopedics - 4th Ed. (2006)
Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Pediatrics - 18th Ed. (2007)
Current Diagnosis & Treatment Obstetrics & Gynecology - 10th Ed. (2007)
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment - 46th Ed. (2007)
Current Surgical Diagnosis & Treatment - 12th Ed. (2006)
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination - 8th Ed. (2004)
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual - Text Revision (DSM-IV-TRâ„¢, 2000)
Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations - 5th Ed. (2005)
DrugPoints® System
Family Medicine: Principles and Practice - 6th Ed. (2003)
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology - 5th Ed. (2005)
Geriatric Medicine: An Evidence Based Approach - 4th Ed. (2003)
Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies - 8th Ed. (2006)
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine - 16th Ed. (2005)
ICD-9-CM - Volumes 1, 2 and 3 (2007)
Ingenix® CPT with RVUs Data File (2007)
Internal Medicine, Stein - 5th Ed. (1998)
Medical Immunology - 10th Ed. (2001)
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy, The - 18th Ed. (2006)
Red Book®: 2006 Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases - 27th Ed.
Review of General Psychiatry - 5th Ed. (2000)
Review of Medical Physiology - 22nd Ed. (2005)
Review of Natural Products (2007)
Rudolph's Pediatrics - 21st Ed. (2003)
Schwartz's Principles of Surgery - 8th Ed. (2005)
Smith's General Urology - 16th Ed. (2004)
Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders - 3rd Ed. (2001)
USP DI® Advice for the Patient® - 27th Ed. (2007)
Williams Obstetrics - 22nd Ed. (2005)
Posted by Donna Braquet at 05:58 PM
ScienceDirect and Scopus system downtime, March 3rd
Dear ScienceDirect or Scopus administrator,
Please be advised that maintenance has been scheduled on the ScienceDirect and Scopus platforms for Saturday March 3rd, 2007 resulting in some system downtime. It is anticipated that ScienceDirect will be unavailable for approximately 9 hours, starting at 11:30 AM GMT (06:30 AM EST).
We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.
Kind regards,
The E-Helpdesk
To find the contact information for the e-Helpdesk closest to you, please click on the link below
ScienceDirect - www.info.sciencedirect.com
Scopus - info.scopus.com
Posted by Donna Braquet at 04:53 PM
Web of Science - Citation Searching Workshop
Have You Been Cited?
Attention Science Students and Faculty-- Don't miss this introduction to the citation analysis
features in Web of Science. We'll also touch on Journal Citation Reports and the h Index.
(Optional: Bring a list of your publications.)
Dates: Wednesday, March 21, 2007 (3:00 pm - 4:30 pm)
Thursday, March 29, 2007 (4:00 pm - 5:30 pm)
Location: 211 Hodges Library (InfoLab)
Instructor: Donna Braquet, Life Sciences Librarian (dbraquet[at]utk.edu)
Posted by Donna Braquet at 05:50 PM
Nucleic Acids Research: Database Issue
The 2007 Database Issue of Nucleic Acids Research is the fourteenth in a series dedicated to databases in the field of molecular biology. These databases are essential resources for experimental and computational biologists alike and this compilation provides descriptions and updates of the most important of these databases, and serves to introduce newly compiled resources that provide specialist information in the biological area. The current issue is the largest yet and presents 68 new databases and updates of 106 existing databases. The 2007 Database Issue is not included in the print subscription to NAR. Instead, the Database Issue is freely available online to all under NAR's open access model.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 05:37 PM
Database Trial: ILLUSTRATA
CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is the first in a series of CSA Illustrata databases of searchable tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from the scholarly research and technical literature.
CSA employs what it calls "deep indexing" to categorize data, variables and other content represented in tables, maps, photographs and other figures. Usually, indexing of research articles is done at a rather high, general level where only the key concepts of the work are represented by a dozen or so index terms, but by going deeper and specifically indexing the content associated with all the individual tables and figures, CSA Illustrata enables the researcher to find information that otherwise would not be retrievable in traditional, article-level indexing systems. Search results - the objects - can be viewed in full along with the caption, author and source information and additional index terms that can be used for further searching. A link back to the parent record provides a summary view of all the objects associated with that paper. In most instances, the parent abstract is displayed and context is further preserved by links to the full-text documents when available. Thus the researcher can find relevant data faster and, because of the visual impact of the results, can quickly determine whether or not to spend time reading the source documents. The visualization of data and the interdisciplinary nature of CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences can also lead to unexpected discoveries or connections between seemingly disparate pieces of work.
Search this Database>>
Send Feedback to your Subject Librarian>>
Posted by Donna Braquet at 05:16 PM
New Resource: Current Protocols in Bioinformatics
Current Protocols in Bioinformatics
With Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, it's easier than ever for the life scientist to become "fluent" in bioinformatics and master the exciting new frontiers opened up by DNA sequencing.
Updated every three months in all formats, CPBI is constantly evolving to keep pace with the very latest discoveries and developments. A year of these quarterly updates is included in the initial CPBI purchase price. That's 590 pages of new (80%) and revised (20%) content on average every year since the initial publication of the work in April 2002! Presently two volumes in its looseleaf print version, CPBI...
features step-by-step instructions for working with hundreds of applications and databases from research groups around the globe.
is designed for research biologists, not computational experts.
shows how to select the right software parameters, analyze data, interpret results, generate hypotheses, and advance research to new levels.
includes a valuable appendix on user fundamentals and a glossary of bioinformatics terms.
Edited by: Andreas D. Baxevanis, Editor-in-Chief (Bethesda, Maryland); Gregory A. Petsko (Brandeis University); Lincoln D. Stein (Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory); Gary D. Stormo (Washington University); Guest Editor: John R. Yates III (The Scripps Research Institute); Advisory Editor: Daniel B. Davison (Morrisville, Pennsylvania); Past Editor: Roderic D.M. Page (University of Glasgow)
Posted by Donna Braquet at 06:23 PM
Database Trial: IRIS
The IRIS Database currently contains over 9,000 active federal and private funding opportunities in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. In addition to funding opportunities for faculty, the IRIS Database also contains fellowships and scholarships for grad students and undergrads. Users can search IRIS by sponsor, deadline date, keyword, and other criteria. Most IRIS records contain live links to sponsor Web sites, electronic forms, or Electronic Research Administration (eRA) portals. The IRIS Database is updated daily.
The IRIS Alert Service enables students, staff, and researchers at subscribing institutions to create their own IRIS search profiles. Users can select their preferred search frequency, delivery method (e-mail or Web), and keywords. The program runs the user's profile against the IRIS database and delivers the search results automatically via e-mail or the Web.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 06:29 PM
Beilstein Access Changes
By January 31, 2006, users will need to change the client host settings of their desktop installation of Beilstein CrossFire Commander. To change your client setting,
Open CrossFire Commander.
Click on Options/Define Server Profiles.
Click on Edit.
Enter crossfire-acad.mdl.com in the host address.
Be sure the Forget User ID/Password box is unchecked, else you will be asked for the password the next time you log in.
Beilstein is now available through the DiscoveryGate web interface. Although it doesn't require a desktop client to run, some software needs to be downloaded to take advantage of all the features. Information about system requirements and installation is available at
http://www.lib.utk.edu/refs/chemistry/discoverygate.html. For additional assistance, contact Teresa Berry.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 02:03 PM
GeoRef Now Has Unlimited Users
Due to a change in database platform, GeoRef is now available through CSA and has unlimited simultaneous UTK users.
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 80,000 references a year. The database contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
To maintain the database, GeoRef editor/indexers regularly scan more than 3,500 journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, and reports. They record the bibliographic data for each document and assign index terms to describe it. Each month between 4,000 and 7,000 new references are added to the database.
A subscription to the GeoRef database also includes access to the GeoRef In Process database (so both databases can be searched at once) and a link to the GeoRef Preview database on the AGI web site. The GeoRef In Process database contains records that are, literally, in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. The majority of the records originate from non-English language literature that was not necessarily published recently.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 01:42 PM
ScienceDirect Downtime
Dear ScienceDirect administrator,
Please be advised that the ScienceDirect search functionality will be upgraded on Saturday January 20th, resulting in some system downtime. It is anticipated that ScienceDirect will be unavailable for approximately 6 hours, starting at 19.30 GMT. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.
Kind regards,
The ScienceDirect E-Helpdesk
For further information on the upgrade please go to: http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/news/archive/2006/News_FAST.asp
Posted by Donna Braquet at 02:00 PM
NIH offers free access to wealth of disease data
Project aims to mine information on genotypes, phenotypes and lifestyle.
An unprecedented repository of disease-related data, dbGaP, is bringing together information about the genes, health and lifestyles of thousands of subjects studied over many years. The web-based portal will allow any interested investigator to search across multiple epidemiological studies, in the hope of identifying new links to disease.
Continue reading>
Posted by Donna Braquet at 05:52 PM
New Features in Web of Science
New in Web of Science®:
November 2006 - Key Upgrades to Web of Science
View a training session on these new features
Citation Report -- Capture citation activity and identify citation trends with this new Web of Science® tool.
Citation Report enables users to instantly create formatted reports for any general search of up to 10,000 records. Quickly view vital citation information for an individual or institution, such as sums of citations, average citations per item and year, paper counts, and a quality/quantity indicator, the h index. Graphical summaries displaying paper publication and citation trends. Easy access to all citing items with the ability to remove self-citations and further examine the information using the Analyze Tool. A breakdown of the citation history for each record which can be exported for further analysis.
AUTHORSHIP TOOLS
A suite of new Thomson authorship tools helps researchers quickly locate articles likely written by the same author. These new authorship tools help users find their own works, or those of a colleague, in a simple, single search. They can then analyze and report on these works using the powerful tools available in ISI Web of Knowledge. The new tools include:
Distinct Author Identification System in Web of Science -- How do you distinguish one author from another? A remarkable new approach starts to address the problem of author Disambiguation across a full century of scholarly information. A powerful "disambiguation " algorithm has been created for Web of Science and is being introduced in phases, starting with the most highly cited authors.
Avoiding the pitfalls of a simplistic solution, all of the elements in the indexed records and the full range of citation relationships have been combined with sophisticated mathematical techniques to organize all records in Web of Science by "authorships" -- groups of papers by the same author.
The Distinct Author Identification System uses citation data to create a cluster of articles for a selected author. Web of Science users can access this feature by selecting an author name from the Web of Science record. If the author name has been processed through the Distinct Author Identification System, the cluster of articles will be presented.
Full Author Names -- This enhancement eliminates mistaken author identity, which often occurs with the last name-first initial format. Web of Science now captures full author names as they are listed in original records. Going forward, this will make it easier to determine whether "J. Smith" is John, James or Jan, and further aid the researcher's attempts to locate correct authors. (Not available for records prior to 2006.)
Other enhancements in ISI Web of Knowledge include:
EndNote® Web -- This new Web-based tool provides users with online storage for their references and the ability to instantly format bibliographies in their word processor. All academic and government ISI Web of Knowledge subscribers, as well as those customers with EndNote® sitewide licenses are now receiving free, direct access to EndNote Web. All other customers should contact their account managers for further information.
More about EndNote Web.
Want to know more? Try ISI's live or recorded training sessions.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 05:30 PM
New Features in Web of Science
New in Web of Science®:
November 2006 - Key Upgrades to Web of Science
View a training session on these new features
Citation Report -- Capture citation activity and identify citation trends with this new Web of Science® tool.
Citation Report enables users to instantly create formatted reports for any general search of up to 10,000 records. Quickly view vital citation information for an individual or institution, such as sums of citations, average citations per item and year, paper counts, and a quality/quantity indicator, the h index. Graphical summaries displaying paper publication and citation trends. Easy access to all citing items with the ability to remove self-citations and further examine the information using the Analyze Tool. A breakdown of the citation history for each record which can be exported for further analysis.
AUTHORSHIP TOOLS
A suite of new Thomson authorship tools helps researchers quickly locate articles likely written by the same author. These new authorship tools help users find their own works, or those of a colleague, in a simple, single search. They can then analyze and report on these works using the powerful tools available in ISI Web of Knowledge. The new tools include:
Distinct Author Identification System in Web of Science -- How do you distinguish one author from another? A remarkable new approach starts to address the problem of author Disambiguation across a full century of scholarly information. A powerful "disambiguation " algorithm has been created for Web of Science and is being introduced in phases, starting with the most highly cited authors.
Avoiding the pitfalls of a simplistic solution, all of the elements in the indexed records and the full range of citation relationships have been combined with sophisticated mathematical techniques to organize all records in Web of Science by "authorships" -- groups of papers by the same author.
The Distinct Author Identification System uses citation data to create a cluster of articles for a selected author. Web of Science users can access this feature by selecting an author name from the Web of Science record. If the author name has been processed through the Distinct Author Identification System, the cluster of articles will be presented.
Full Author Names -- This enhancement eliminates mistaken author identity, which often occurs with the last name-first initial format. Web of Science now captures full author names as they are listed in original records. Going forward, this will make it easier to determine whether "J. Smith" is John, James or Jan, and further aid the researcher's attempts to locate correct authors. (Not available for records prior to 2006.)
Other enhancements in ISI Web of Knowledge include:
EndNote® Web -- This new Web-based tool provides users with online storage for their references and the ability to instantly format bibliographies in their word processor. All academic and government ISI Web of Knowledge subscribers, as well as those customers with EndNote® sitewide licenses are now receiving free, direct access to EndNote Web. All other customers should contact their account managers for further information.
More about EndNote Web.
Want to know more? Try ISI's live or recorded training sessions.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 05:30 PM
New Features in Web of Science- Quick Tutorials
GO to the WEB OF SCIENCE TUTORIALS>>
New Features
Update on new features added to the Web of Knowledge for Spring 2006 Running Time: 04:50
Citation Alerting
Learn how to keep up to date on who is citing your work or the work of others within your field of research. Running Time: 04:17
General Search
Learn tips to help you search the fields available on General Search. Includes tips on using search operators and wildcard characters. Running Time: 09:42
Search Within Results
Learn to quickly refine a set of search results. Running Time: 02:52
Advanced Search
Learn how to use field tags and set combinations to create complex search queries in the Advanced Search interface Running Time: 5:58
Cited Reference Searching
Learn the basics of Web of Science's powerful cited reference searching capabilities. Running Time: 05:56
Cited Reference Searching for Non-Journal Literature
Search for citations to books, reports, and other non-journal literature. Running Time: 04:37
Refining and Analyzing
Learn to refine and rank search results by fields such as author, institution and subject category. Running Time: 06:35
One Click Searching
Create search sets via hyperlinked fields in Web of Knowledge products' Full Records. Running Time: 3:48
Saving Search Histories and Alerts
Learn how to save your searches and receive email alerts at your desktop Running Time: 05:05
Working with the Marked List
Find out how to export, e-mail, print, save, and obtain full text articles for records in Web of Knowledge databases. Running Time: 07:10
Posted by Donna Braquet at 05:25 PM
SciFinder Scholar 2006
An article, SciFinder Scholar 2006: An Empiracal Analysis of Research Topic Query Processing, in Journal of Chemical Information and Modeling about the natural language algorithms used when searching SciFinder Scholar.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 10:32 AM
TOXMAP Adds Features
In response to feedback from users, the National Library of Medicine (NLM) has added new chemical and health-related data to its interactive mapping site, TOXMAP.
Released in September, 2004, TOXMAP helps users explore the geographic distribution of certain chemical releases, their relative amounts, and their trends over time. This release data comes from industrial facilities around the United States, as reported annually to the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
Now, users can also use TOXMAP to find information about Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Superfund sites and substances. The Superfund program is part of a federal government effort to clean up land in the United States that has been contaminated by hazardous waste and identified by the EPA as a candidate for cleanup because it poses a risk to human health and/or to the environment.
The substances found at Superfund sites have been designated as causing or contributing to an increase in mortality or in irreversible or incapacitating illness, or posing a substantial present or potential hazard to human health or to the environment when improperly treated, stored, transported, disposed of, or otherwise managed. More than 800 substances are currently designated as hazardous, and many more as potentially hazardous.
TOXMAP has also added mortality data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the National Cancer Institute (NCI), as well as age and gender data from the US Census, and income data from the Bureau of Economic Analysis.
TOXMAP links to NLM's extensive collection of toxicology and environmental health references, as well as to a rich resource of data on hazardous chemical substances in its TOXNET databases. The resource also provides fact sheets and summaries about the various chemicals, written by the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, and EPA progress reports on the Superfund sites.
Since many users may not be experienced in reading maps or understanding map data, TOXMAP provides a Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) and a "Glossary of Terms". Both resources attempt to provide questions/answers to supplement the user's ability to understand the map displays and the data.
More information about TOXMAP>>
Posted by Donna Braquet at 04:51 PM
SciFinder Scholar Soon to Support 2006 Version Only
Beginning April 1, 2006, CAS will only support the 2006 version of SciFinder Scholar. Here is a listing of features in the 2006 version.
To sign up for SciFinder e-seminars or view past tutorials>>
Posted by Donna Braquet at 09:23 AM
SciFinder Scholar for Mac OS X
The new SciFinder Scholar for Mac OS X provides all the power of
previous Macintosh versions of SciFinder Scholar and includes a
refreshed Mac OS X look with new icons and improved navigation using
your mouse wheel and scroll bar. This version provides you with:
-Direct integration with native OS X web browsers, including
Safari(r) (default), Mozilla Firefox(tm), Netscape(r) Navigator and
Microsoft(r) Internet Explorer
-Better desktop performance
-Streamlined installation with new Mac Disk Image install
-Support for Tiger (10.4), Panther (10.3), Jaguar (10.2) versions
of OS X
The software is available at http://www.lib.utk.edu/~chem/scifind/. If you
have any questions, contact Teresa Berry, Science Librarian, at
tberry0[at]utk[dot]edu
Posted by Donna Braquet at 06:48 PM
New Database: GeoScience World
UTK Libraries is pleased to announce we now have access to GeoScience World, the premier resource for online journals in the earth and planetary sciences. This ever-growing product currently provides access to 37 titles, including journals by the founding organizations:
- American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG),
- American Geological Institute (AGI),
- Geological Society of America (GSA),
- The Geological Society of London (GSL),
- Mineralogical Society of America (MSA),
- Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and
- Society for Exploration Geophysicists (SEG).
All available articles can be retrieved through GeoRef searches. To see the journals included in GeoScience World; or, search for individual titles in the UT Library catalog; or, search for individual titles in the UT Library E-Journals List.
"GeoScience World (GSW) is a nonprofit corporation formed by a group of leading geoscientific organizations for the purpose of making geoscience research and related information easily and economically available via the Internet". More about GeoScience World>>
Posted by Donna Braquet at 12:32 PM
Database Reviews in Nucleic Acids Research
The annual database review issue of Nucleic Acids Research is available.
Posted by admin at 06:10 PM
New Enchancements to Web of Science
On October 23, enhancements to ISI Web of Knowledge(SM) will make it
even easier to search, sort, and analyze the research literature with efficiency and ease.
Enhancements to the bibliographic resources on this platform will provide researchers with more data, more control and more time:
1) Export, print, save and e-mail records directly from the full record and the summary results page. No extra steps are necessary.
2) Use the expanded display of cited references to view full titles
and source data, making cited reference searching easier.
You can see the full cited reference information, source and full title right on the cited reference page, when available.
3) Search and sort records by publication year - finding specific
records more quickly and intuitively.
Changes to ISI Web of Knowledge CrossSearch will improve the efficiency of the platform:
-Enhanced CrossSearch results now mirror the format of results
from individual products on the ISI Web of Knowledge platform.
The results summary page will include OpenURL links as well as
navigation buttons at the top of the page to:
Home, Help, Search Page, Search History, and Marked List.
- CrossSearch will now include value-added External Collections by
default. Your search is broadened to include all the External Collections on ISI Web of Knowledge.
This automatically widens the scope of each search, providing many more search results without any additional effort.
- Ability to save searches in CrossSearch eliminates the need to
re-enter queries for repeated searches over time. Your researchers
can set up and save search queries,and get results from saved
searches without having to re-enter the search queries.
>>To view a brief recorded training presentation,
Posted by Donna Braquet at 10:37 AM
New Web of Science Features
New Features (Added June 2005)
Several new features have been added to this quarterly release.
You can now sort up to 100,000 records for all sort options on the Summary page, including the Times Cited option. This feature allows you to be more selective and to identity only those records important to you. It also offers enhanced analytical possibilities when you join these greater sort limits with the Analyze tool.
You can now select the number of results (10-50) to display on the Summary page from a show number per page drop-down list on the left-hand side of the page. The selected number remains throughout a session until you select a different number.
-A Save to File button has been added to the Results Analysis page, which allows you to export your results to a text file. You can then import the results into Microsoft® Office Excel or a similar software product to later review for more in-depth analysis. For more details about Results Analysis, see the Results Analysis Option section of the Notices file.
-A Submit Marks button has been added to the bottom of the Summary page. This means you can submit your marked records without having to scroll back to the top of the Summary page. This is useful if you have increased the number of records per page.
-You can now combine sets (e.g., #1 AND #3) with results that are greater than 100,000.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 04:06 PM
New Enhancements: IEEE Xplore
If you have any questions, please contact your subject librarian.
-Full-text searches of all documents
-Multiple new search functions
-Journal "homepages" with full information on scope, sponsoring IEEE
societies, and manuscript submissions
-Clearer identification of which documents users may access, based on
their subscriptions
-An improved single-article purchase process
-Consolidated title listings for many IEEE conferences
Posted by Donna Braquet at 03:52 PM
New Enhancements: Web of Science
If you have any questions, please contact your subject librarian.
-Links to full text within results summary lists
-"Search within results," available on search summary pages;
allows users to modify an original search without having to
start from scratch
-One-click search from the full record; users will be able
to start another search by clicking on the hyperlinked terms
within certain fields
-Access to the full title of the cited article when users
roll over the "View Record" link in cited reference lists
within Web of Science(R) and ISI Proceedings(SM)
-Ability to reference a set number in a query
-Additional field -- Country/Territory -- within the
Analyze tool provides another way for users to refine and
analyze search results; available within Web of Science,
Current Contents Connect(R) and ISI Proceedings
Posted by Donna Braquet at 03:48 PM
IEEE Upgrade
The new IEEE Xplore 2.0 will launch on Saturday, 26 March 2005, and will provide full-text searching of all content, along with numerous additional search enhancements.
As seen in our recent beta preview, the upgraded IEEE Xplore 2.0 system will also include a more functional design, reorganized help content,
clearer identification of which documents users may access, and new
"homepages" for all IEEE periodicals.
To accommodate the launch of IEEE Xplore 2.0, the site will not be
available on 26 March, beginning at 8am EST (UTC -5) and lasting approximately 8 to 14 hours.
Learn more about the IEEE enchancements>>
Posted by Donna Braquet at 03:55 PM
Comparison of Scopus and Web of Science
An article from the Charleston Advisor compares Scopus and Web of Science.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 02:33 PM
Google Scholar
As you may have heard, Google has released a beta version of Google Scholar. According to their About page: "Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research."
Although this may be an improvement for students who search the Internet for scholarly publications, there are some things to keep in mind:
- Google Scholar does not index all publishers, thus is less complete than the databases to which the library subscribes.
- Google Scholar seems to only index content that publishers have online, so there is less depth in searching.
- As of yet, Google Scholar does not use controlled terms or allow limiting to certain years, languages, etc.
- You will sometimes get to the article, but often Google Scholar will bring you to just the abstract on the publisher's site. When using the Libraries' databases, you can utilize the Find Text button to discover the online versions or print subscriptions held in the library.
If you are interested in keeping up with what is being written on Google Scholar, visit this blog.
The UT Libraries will hold a workshop on Google Scholar this Spring. A demonstration on its strengths and weaknesses will be given with a lively audience discussion to follow.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 11:44 AM
Changes to ERIC database
The ERIC database offers access to both journal articles and
educational documents from a variety of non-journal publications.
Recently there have been many government mandated changes to the ERIC
system.
See more about ERIC on the Electronic Resources News blog.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 01:19 PM
CINAHL and Pre-CINAHL via EBSCO
CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 920,000 records. The subscription has 8 simultaneous users. A companion database to CINAHL, Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which are available to researchers only for the time when these articles are being assigned additional indexing. SFX links are provided. Records may be directly downloaded into EndNote.
For more news about e-resources, check the Electronic Resources News blog
Posted by Donna Braquet at 04:46 PM
SciFinder Scholar now provides links to full-text
The full-text feature in SciFinder Scholar has been activated.
Now when you click on the computer icon, the ChemPort Connection will provide a link to SFX, which takes you directly to the full-text whenever possible. If the SciFinder Scholar citation does not have the computer icon, select the record, then click on the full-text button on the toolbar.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 02:27 PM
Web of Science gets new Interface and Features
A tutorial is available.
A New Tool - Analyze
-Analyze enables you to refine a search by drilling down to only the items of interest.
-Analyze allows you to mine useful knowledge from the search results without having to print and read them. Gain insights into hidden trends and patterns, find out who is the most prolific author on a topic, which institutions have published the most in a field, or what is the publication trend for a topic.
-Analyze by Author, Document Type, Institution, Language, Publication Year, Source Title, and Subject Category.
-Analyze is available from any summary page (search results, citing articles, Related Records).
New Interface and Features
-You can now access up to 100,000 records for any individual search. To aid with this, each item is numbered and the page navigation is enhanced.
-The number of items returned by a search is now displayed top of the summary page.
-The search depth and edition control feature is now on the Welcome page as well as each search page for easier access.
-A Quick topic search has been included on the Welcome page allowing fast access to results.
-Using the My Settings feature in ISI Web of Knowledge, you can save your edition and depth selections.
-You can perform a search for articles by a Group (Corporate) Author.
-Search aids with search and navigation features provide access to field indexes.
-If available at your institution, an OpenURL link button (e.g., 1CATE, SFX, etc.) is displayed for each item on a summary page.
-You can now mark a range of items (XX to YYY) on the summary list. To aid you in keeping track of the marked list the number of items, the list is displayed on the summary and full record pages.
-You can now create citation alerts to keep track of the citation record of selected articles.
-Author e-mail addresses have been added to the full record and to export fields.
-Your institution can configure the Holdings button to look up the holdings in multiple libraries.
-Items in the Related Records list now show the number of Shared References, thereby indicating the degree of relatedness.
-On the Advanced Search page, you can formulate a search for address subfields such as institution, city, country, and postal/zip.
-The Cited Reference Search pages have been formatted for easier use, and a
-Select All feature has been added to select a large number of reference variants at one time.
-The Search History is more obvious and accessible to the user, and the Combine Sets function has been greatly simplified.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 04:47 PM
EMBL news
Iain Mattaj, who was named last week as the next director general of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), says that one of his top priorities will be to incorporate computational methods into the EMBL system.
Read the entire article>>
Posted by Donna Braquet at 10:21 AM
Blurring the lines between Scientific Papers and Databases
Blurring the boundaries between scientific 'papers' and biological databases
Mark Gerstein
Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry Department and Computer Science Department, Yale University, Connecticut, USA
Jochen Junker
Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry Department
"Until now, it has largely been overlooked that there is little difference between retrieving an article from an on-line journal and downloading an entry from a large genome or protein database. In the future the distinction between database and journal will progressively blur as people become accustomed to flitting back and forth between deposited data, visualization tools and linked sections of on-line publications. Exactly how will this interaction be structured?"
More>>
Posted by Donna Braquet at 04:47 PM
Index Medicus ceases print publication
Index Medicus to Cease as Print Publication
The printed Index Medicus, started by John Shaw Billings in 1879 and published for 125 consecutive years, will cease at the end of 2004. Once an indispensable tool for health professionals and librarians, it is now a seldom used alternative to PubMed® and other Internet-based products that contain the database from which Index Medicus has been generated for nearly 40 years.
For years, Index Medicus has been invaluable in medical care, education, and research, but use of the printed index declined slowly once MEDLINE® became available in 1971. Subscriptions to Index Medicus declined more noticeably in the 1980s with the introduction of end-user searching and dropped precipitously once MEDLINE was available free on the Internet in 1997. In 2000, NLM® ceased publication of the annual Cumulated Index Medicus. In that same year, the Government Printing Office recognized PubMed as the definitive permanent source of MEDLINE data and no longer required Depository Libraries to retain the printed Index Medicus.
By 2003, the number of subscribers to the monthly Index Medicus fell to 155 and even for countries in the developing world demand for the publication is almost non-existent. The lack of use of Index Medicus is a natural result of free world wide availability of more complete, current, and easily searched electronic versions of the NLM's authoritative indexing data.
Although the printed Index Medicus will cease, journals recommended for inclusion in MEDLINE by NLM's journal selection advisory committee will still be distinguishable from other journals in PubMed. NLM will continue to produce the annual Black and White printed MeSH tool and also expects to continue the printed List of Journals Indexed in Index Medicus, perhaps expanding its coverage to all indexed MEDLINE journal titles. NLM also will continue its indexing practice of starring MeSH terms as the main point of an article. Even though the printed Index Medicus (which lists citations under their starred headings only) will cease, there is still a need to designate the main points of an article for online retrieval.
For those users who do not wish to rely solely on PubMed access to NLM indexing data, there are numerous other Internet versions of MEDLINE as well as several commercial CDROM products. The MEDLINE data are available free under a license agreement should any company wish to publish a printed product.
For many years, NLM has considered the MEDLINE database to be the definitive version of its indexing data, and the Library is firmly committed to ensuring the integrity and availability of the data via its online systems. MEDLINE data are backed up each night and after one month the data is stored off site. In addition, NLM is currently establishing a remote site for critical NLM systems, including the indexing data creation and maintenance system and the complete version of PubMed. If necessary, users will be switched over to full searching of PubMed at the remote site without any interruption in access.
If you have questions or comments about Index Medicus please send them to: publicinfo@nlm.nih.gov.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 12:35 PM
New Genetics Database
NIH is sponsoring a new database, Genetics Association Database
The Genetic Association Database is an archive of human genetic association studies of complex diseases and disorders. The goal of this database is to allow the user to rapidly identify medically relevant polymorphism from the large volume of polymorphism and mutational data, in the context of standardized nomenclature.
At the Open Access News Blog, there is an excerpt from the article describing the database.
Kevin G Becker et al, The Genetic Association Database, Nature Genetics 36, 431-432 (2004).
Posted by Donna Braquet at 02:53 PM
BioMed Central
This month the Library's Database Spotlight is BioMed Central.
Posted by Donna Braquet at 12:18 PM