The University of Tennessee University Libraries
Libraries Home | Library Catalog | Databases | Forms | Help | Services | Branches | Libraries A to Z | AskUs.Now
A-Z Index  /  WebMail  /  Dept. Directory

Category Archives

July 31, 2007

NEW (Summer 2007) - IndexMaster

IndexMaster is a collection of indices and tables of contents from thousands of legal treatises, representing a coalition of large and small publishers.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:22 AM

NEW (Summer 2007) - SPE eLibrary / Technical Papers

SPE eLibrary / Technical Papers is a searchable repository of papers presented at SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers) meetings and SPE journal articles.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:20 AM

NEW (Summer 2007) - GrantSelect

GrantSelect contains more than 10,000 funding opportunities provided by more than 4,000 sponsoring organizations.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:18 AM

NEW (Summer 2007) - Faculty of 1,000 Biology

Faculty of 1,000 Biology highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 2300 selected leading researchers.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:14 AM

June 29, 2007

NEW (Summer 2007) Black Studies Center

The Black Studies Center is a collection of several databases which can be cross-searched: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, the backfile of The Chicago Defender, ProQuest Dissertations for Black Studies, and the Black Literature Index.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:28 AM

June 26, 2007

NEW (Summer 2007) Sabin Americana, 1500-1926

Sabin Americana is based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions, and more.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:30 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) Oxford Scholarship Online

Oxford Scholarship Online is an online collection of the full text of over 1,200 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:28 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO)

Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online (MEMSO) is a collection of resources for the study of medieval and early modern Britain and Ireland.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:27 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) Education Index Retrospective, 1929-1983

Education Index Retrospective, 1929-1983, is an index that complements Education Full Text.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:24 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences

CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences is a database that uses "deep indexing" to categorize data, variables and other content represented in tables, maps, photographs and other figures in the journals in the Natural Sciences.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:22 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) Caribbean Literature

Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the Caribbean during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:20 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) Blackwell Synergy

Blackwell Synergy is a collection of full-text journals from Blackwell Publishing in Arts and Humanities, Business, Social Sciences, and Science / Engineering / Medicine.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:18 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) AnthroSource

AnthroSource is a collection of full-text journals from the American Anthropological Association.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:16 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) African American Music Reference

African American Music Reference covers several forms of black American musical expression. The current release includes essays, images and biographical from 16 difference reference sources.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:14 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) Acta Sanctorum

Acta Sanctorums an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:12 PM

NEW (Summer 2007) 19th Century U.S. Newspapers

19th Century U.S. Newspapers contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:08 PM

NEW (Late Spring 2007) SRDS Media Solutions

SRDS Media Solutions is a source of detailed advertising rates, dates and contact data for a variety of media. Also known as Standard Rate & Data Services.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:02 PM

NEW (Late Spring 2007) Berkeley Electronic Press ResearchNow

ResearchNow is a full-text collection of Berkeley Electronic Press journals plus working papers, preprints and other "grey literature" from participating institutional and subject-matter repositories.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 01:51 PM

NEW (Late Spring 2007) Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is a multidisciplinary full-text and citation database with more scholarly journals than InfoTrac OneFile. It is one of the databases from the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).

Posted by Gayle Baker at 01:47 PM

January 09, 2007

NEW (Spring 2007) - 10 Online Subject Encyclopedias

1. Berkshire Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction

2. Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History

3. Encyclopaedia Judaica

4. Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History

5. Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior

6. Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology

7. Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics

8. Encyclopedia of Sociology

9. Encyclopedia of World Cultures

10. West's Encyclopedia of American Law

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:30 PM

NEW (Spring 2007) - U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 - Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this database provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:24 PM

NEW (Spring 2007) - Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926

Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:19 PM

NEW (Spring 2007) - LexisNexis Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC), 2004-present

LexisNexis Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC), 2004-present, contains full-text legislative policy reports from the Congressional Research Service. To search CRDC, select "Advanced Search", then the checkbox for CRS Reports.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:14 PM

NEW (Spring 2007) - Humanities International Complete

Humanities International Complete includes all data from Humanities International Index (over 2,000 titles and 2 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 770 journals.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:12 PM

NEW (Spring 2007) - CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition

CQ Historic Documents Series Online Edition, 1972 - present, collects more than 2,500 primary sources covering current events around the world.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:08 PM

NEW (Spring 2007) - Art Museum Image Gallery

Art Museum Image Gallery is a rich digital resource of art images and related multimedia gathered from the collections of distinguished museums around the world.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:06 PM

NEW (Fall 2006) - Two marketing databases

IBISWorld is a comprehensive collection of industry market research reports.


MarketResearch.com Academic is a collection of full-text market research reports.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:11 PM

NEW (Fall 2006) - CQ Supreme Court Collection

CQ Supreme Court Collection blends historical analysis with timely updates and expert commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:07 PM

NEW (Fall 2006) - Upgraded Anthropology database

Anthropology Plus, 1880 - Contains over 800,000 records from two major databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard University) and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index. The comprehensive international resource for anthropology / archaeology.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:02 PM

February 28, 2006

NEW - Naxos Music Library

We are now subscribing to Naxos Music Library again. It is a comprehensive collection of classical music and offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues, equivalent to over 8,800 CDs.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:40 AM

January 27, 2006

NEW - African American Song

African American Song contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:02 AM

January 18, 2006

NEW - World Bank electronic resources

We now subscribe to three electronic resources from the World Bank:


  • Global Development Finance Online (GDF Online) provides direct access to more than 200 debt and financial flows indicators for the 136 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System. These data run from 1970 to 2014, where available.
  • The World Bank e-Library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 3,900 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,600 World Bank publications and over 2,300 Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.
  • World Development Indicators Online (WDI Online) provides direct access to more than 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2004, where data are available.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 11:06 AM

NEW - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 11:04 AM

January 11, 2006

NEW - Book Review Index Online

Book Review Index Online is a comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications back to 1965. Links to available full-text reviews are through the FindText icon.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:50 PM

January 09, 2006

NEW - World Biographical Information System Online

The World Biographical Information System Online is a comprehensive biographical resource with full-text articles in original typography. Information is grouped into different archives focused on a specific country or language/cultural area.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:24 PM

NEW - World Biographical Dictionary of Artists Online (AKL)

The World Biographical Dictionary of Artists Online (AKL) is the online version of the Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon, the most extensive, up-to-date and authoritative art history reference work on artists.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:22 PM

NEW - Thesaurus Lingua Graecae (TLG)

The Thesaurus Lingua Graecae is a digital library of Greek literature. It requires Greek fonts in order to view texts in Greek.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:18 PM

NEW - PressDisplay, Current + 45 days


PressDisplay
provides access to the full page images of over 200 newspapers from 50 countries in 30 languages. It contains issues from the past 45 days.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:14 PM

NEW - GeoScienceWorld, 2000+


GeoScienceWorld
is a collection of full-text journals in the earth sciences.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:11 PM

NEW - CINAHL Plus with Full Text, 1937+

The CINAHL database has been upgraded to CINAHL Plus with Full Text. It includes 327 full-text journals, research instruments and evidence-based care sheets.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:07 PM

NEW - American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900

The American Periodicals Series Online is a collection of over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general interest magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:03 PM

October 25, 2005

NEW - Plant Management Network

The Plant Management Network is a multidisciplinary resource for applied plant science information and management, including four peer-reviewed journals.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 08:12 AM

September 16, 2005

NEW - STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref is a collection of online textbooks for healthcare professionals.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 11:54 AM

NEW - Smithsonian Global Sound

Smithsonian Global Sound, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 11:53 AM

NEW - Safari Tech Books Online

Safari Tech Books Online is a collection of over 500+ computer technology e-books.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 11:51 AM

NEW - International Statistical Yearbook

International Statistical Yearbook is a collection of data from various national and international sources.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 11:29 AM

NEW - Current Protocols in Cytometry & Current Protocols in Immunology

Current Protocols in Cytometry and Current Protocols in Immunology are two more titles in the Current Protocols laboratory methods series.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 11:24 AM

NEW - CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)

CAMIO is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world. Images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art from the collections of prominent museums, highlighting the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 11:21 AM

NEW - CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)

CAMIO is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world. Images, text and multimedia represent a broad range of works of art from the collections of prominent museums, highlighting the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 11:21 AM

August 19, 2005

Archives now available for PAIS

PAIS (Public Affairs International Service) and its Archives are now available back to 1937. The cover public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:42 PM

NEW - Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is now available. It is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:37 PM

August 01, 2005

CHANGE - BHA: Bibliography of the History of Art

This database is now available through CSA.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:51 PM

NEW - ARTbibliographies Modern

ARTbibliographies Modern provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:47 PM

NEW - DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index

DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index contains over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published from 1973 onwards, and data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:41 PM

NEW - Marquis Who's Who on the Web

Marquis Who's Who on the Web features profiles on 1.2 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:02 PM

July 28, 2005

NEW -- Theses Canada

Theses Canada, a free Internet resource, is now available. Search AMICUS, Canada's national online catalogue, for bibliographic records of all theses in Library and Archives Canada's theses collection, which was established in 1965. Access and search for free the full text electronic versions of Canadian theses and dissertations that were published from the beginning of 1998 to August 31, 2002.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:28 AM

July 27, 2005

NEW - Gale Virtual Reference Library

The Gale Virtual Reference Libraryis collection of reference e-books available through the Tennessee Electronic Library (TEL).

Posted by Gayle Baker at 01:48 PM

NEW -- HeinOnline

HeinOnline consists of four major law library collections: Law Journal Library, Federal Register Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 01:45 PM

July 22, 2005

NEW - Conference Board's Research Online Collection

The Conference Board's Research Online Collection contains full-text reports on management issues and US and global economics plus various Conference Board indexes and annual reports on executive and board compensation.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:41 AM

NEW - BuildingGreen

The BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News,
and a database of more than 100 high-performance building case studies. This wealth of information
is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED™ credit, or green topic.
Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:30 AM

June 09, 2005

NEW - German Literature Collections

German Literature Collections brings together five individual ProQuest German literature resources: Goethes Werke, Schillers Werke, Kafkas Werke, Brechts Werke and Die Deutsche Lyrik.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:03 AM

May 16, 2005

NEW -- Music & Performing Arts Online

This database is a combination of International Index to Music Fulltext and International Index to the Performing Arts.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:41 PM

April 15, 2005

NEW -- North American Theatre Online

North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 08:08 AM

NEW -- Vetus Latina

Vetus Latina contains the comprehensive patristic records of the Vetus Latina Institut in Beuron.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 08:04 AM

March 28, 2005

NEW -- Audit Analytics

Audit Analytics is an audit industry research service tracking audit fees and auditor changes and opinions. UT has access through Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS).

Posted by Gayle Baker at 07:44 AM

NEW - Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Information Science & Technology Abstracts is now available to UT without charge from EBSCO through the December 2005. It replaces a reference resource that is no longer available in print. The database provides references and abstracts from more that 450 publications covering the world's literature in librarianship, information science and related disciplines.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 07:38 AM

February 02, 2005

CHANGE - CSA databases have new Illumina Interface

Several databases from CSA now have the new Illumina interface. They are: Animal Behavior Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Metadex, Materials Business File, ERIC via CSA, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, LISA, Physical Education Index, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and Zoological Record Plus.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 01:22 PM

January 10, 2005

NEW - Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker

Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker. Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this rich primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 04:49 PM

NEW - Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans is based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Upon completion, Evans Digital will consist of more than 36,000 works and 2,400,000 images.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 04:45 PM

NEW - Early American Newspapers

Early American Newspapers. Covers every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States. This rich primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 04:36 PM

NEW - Birds of North America Online

Birds of North provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 04:29 PM

CHANGE - Compendex & INSPEC

Compendex and INSPEC are new available through the Engineering Village 2. Both databases go back to 1969.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 04:21 PM

December 14, 2004

NEW - Key Business Ratios

The library recently added Key Business Ratios from Dun & Bradstreet. The database helps you understand the true performance of a company, by benchmarking it against its industry peers. The 14 key business ratios cover all critical areas of business performance—solvency, efficiency and profitability.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:20 PM

December 09, 2004

CHANGE -- MLA via the EBSCO interface

In January the MLA Bibliography will no longer be available via the Ovid/SilverPlatter interface. MLA is now available through EBSCO. Links to full-text articles should be easier through this interface.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:32 AM

December 07, 2004

NEW: Works of Wittgenstein Added to Past Masters

Three new collections were recently added to Intelex Past Masters: Wittgenstein's Collected Works, Letters and Lectures and Published Works.

Past Masters provides access to definitive editions of collected works in philosophy and letters of noted English authors.

In 2005 the UT Libraries plans to add catalog records for all of the collections for which we have access.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:10 AM

December 02, 2004

NEW - OCLC Electronic Books

This database contains all of the electronic book records cataloged by OCLC member Libraries. It includes books from NetLibrary, including free online books from the US Government, the California Digital Library and other sources.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 12:49 PM

November 15, 2004

UPDATE: The CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics

The online CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics now corresponds to the 85th Edition in content and includes the following additions:

- Index of Refraction of Inorganic Crystals
- Azeotropic Data for Binary Mixtures
- Critical Solution Temperatures of Polymer Solutions
- Density of Solvents as a Function of Temperature

By popular request, several tables omitted from recent editions are back, including Coefficients of Friction and Miscibility of Organic Solvents. Ten other sections have been substantially revised, with some, such as the Table of the Isotopes and Thermal Conductivity of Liquids, significantly expanded. The Fundamental Physical Constants section has been updated with the latest CODATA/NIST values, and the Mathematical Tables appendix now features several new sections covering topics that include orthogonal polynomials, Clebsch-Gordan coefficients, and statistics.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 04:33 PM

November 01, 2004

D&B Million Dollar Database -- More users

The UT Libraries has increased the subscription to the D&B Million Dollar Database from 1 simultaneous user to 5 simultaneous users. This should make it easier to connect to this electronic resource.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 05:03 PM

October 29, 2004

NEW - IPM: Index to Printed Music: Collections & Series

IPM: Index to Printed Music consists of three different databases: Index Database, Bibliography Database, and Names Database. It allows one to find individual pieces of music printed in scholarly editions and contains approximately 135,000 entries. It is updated quarterly and is limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:46 AM

October 11, 2004

NEW - Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is comprised of 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000. Please be sure to Logout when finished.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:29 AM

NEW - Classical Music Library

This database of streaming music features 35,000+ tracks of music from 32+ major and independent classical labels, including BMG Classics and EMI Classics.


Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:24 AM

October 01, 2004

Changes in ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)

The ERIC database offers access to both journal articles and
educational documents from a variety of non-journal publications.
Recently there have been many government mandated changes to the ERIC
system.

Effective October 1, more than 107,000 non-journal documents (issued
1993-2004), will be available full-text for free^×a significant
enhancement to the ERIC system.

Now, when you use ERIC through the Libraries' Databases page you will
see in records for non-journal documents a link that will take you
directly to the full-text. Previous users of ERIC will appreciate
having this link right at their fingertips with no additional steps
required to obtain the text.

For more information please feel free to contact Alan Wallace
alan-wallace@utk.edu or contact the Reference Department at 974-4171.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 12:59 PM

September 28, 2004

NEW - Naxos Music Library

This database provides access over 80,000 tracks (5,500 CDs) of recorded music -- the entire Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs plus First Edition reissues of 20th-century classical compositions. While the majority of the tracks are classical, Naxos also provides recordings in jazz, blues, world and Chineses music. New releases are added monthly. Listen to whole CDs or individual tracks.

Access is limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 10:01 AM

September 02, 2004

NEW - NBER Working Papers

NBER Working Papers contains the working papers of the National Bureau of Economic Research, a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 02:55 PM

NEW - Women's Studies International

Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented and include ISSNs.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 12:44 PM

August 11, 2004

NEW - CINAHL via EBSCO and Pre-CINAHL

CINAHL is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 920,000 records. The subscription has 8 simultaneous users. A companion database to CINAHL, Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which are available to researchers only for the time when these articles are being assigned additional indexing. SFX links are provided. Records may be directly downloaded into EndNote.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 03:31 PM

NEW: Reference Universe

Reference Universe allows one to search article titles and back-of-book indexes to over 4,000 encyclopedias and reference works. It provides links to titles in the UT Libraries' catalog.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:45 AM

NEW: U.S. Serial Set

The U.S. Serial Set (1789-1969) is now available through the LexisNexis Congressional database. Select "Historical Full Text." Search by document number, legislative number or any combination of full text, subject descriptor or bibliographic information. It includes over 50,000 historical maps. The database is to be complete by December 2005.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:39 AM

NEW: Hospitality & Tourism Index

Hospitality & Tourism Index is a bibliographic database covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive database contains more than 440,000 records from 500 titles, with coverage going back to the early 1960s. SFX links are provided. Records may be directly downloaded into EndNote.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:35 AM

NEW: ComDisDome

The ComDisDome database provides online resources for Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. One may download articles directly into EndNote format. The database also provides links to articles, full-text and/or print, using SFX @ UT by following "Get this Article."

Posted by Gayle Baker at 08:58 AM

NEW: Gartner Research

A link to Gartner Research was added to the database menu. It provides research reports and news about information technology. Access is limited to current UT students faculty and staff through the main UT webpage by entering one's NetID and password for My/UT.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 08:51 AM

Fall 2004 Library Workshops Feature Electronic Resources

The library is sponsoring a series of workshops this fall. Several of them will feature electronic resources: Web of Science, SciFinder Scholar, Academic Search Premier, EndNote, full-text databases, datasets, etc. The registration form and detailed list of workshops, go to http://www.lib.utk.edu/instruct/workshop/.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 08:41 AM

July 29, 2004

SciFinder Scholar now Provides links to full-text

The full-text feature in SciFinder Scholar has been activated.
Now when you click on the computer icon, the ChemPort Connection will provide a link to SFX, which takes you directly to the full-text whenever possible. If the SciFinder Scholar citation does not have the computer icon, select the record, then click on the full-text button on the toolbar.

Posted by Donna Braquet at 02:34 PM

NEW: Alternative Press Index & Archive Database

Alternative Press Index and its archive are comprehensive guides to alternative sources of information. They index nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines back to 1969. SFX links are provided. Records may be directly downloaded into EndNote.

Posted by Gayle Baker at 09:58 AM