Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Women in Music *

The Music Genre Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • ML82 Women and music --In Reference and Stacks
  • ML105 Biographical dictionaries --In Reference
  • ML120 Bibliographies of books --In Reference
  • ML128.W Bibliographies of printed music --In Reference

Subject Headings

  • AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMEN COMPOSERS
  • AFRICAN AMERICAN WOMEN MUSICIANS
  • WOMEN COMPOSERS, BLACK
  • WOMEN IN MUSIC
  • WOMEN MUSIC CRITICS
  • WOMEN MUSIC PATRONS
  • WOMEN MUSIC TEACHERS

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Bibliographies

Ref ML 102. P5 D44 2002 vol. 1-2
     Dees, P. A Guide to Piano Music by Women Composers. 2002.
Ref ML128.F7 B6 1988
     Boenke, H. Flute Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog. 1998.
Ref ML128.G8 M33 1997
     MacAuslan, J. Guitar Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog. 1997.
Ref ML128.O6 O73 1991
     Heinrich, A. Organ and Harpsichord Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog. 1991.
Ref ML128.P3 W3 1992
     Walker-Hill, H. Piano Music by Black Women Composers: A Catalog of Solo and Ensemble Works. 1992.
Ref ML128.W7 B6
     Block & Neuls-Bates. Women in American Music: A Bibliography of Music and Literature. 1979.
Ref ML128.W7 C74 2002
     Crew, D. Suffragist Sheet Music: An Illustrated Catalog...With Complete Lyrics. 2002
Ref ML128.W7 E75 1996
     Ericson, M. Women and Music: A Selective Annotated Bibliography on Women and Gender Issues in Music,     1987-1992. 1996.
Ref ML128.W7 J3 1994
     Jackson, B. Say Can You Deny Me: A Guide to Surviving Music by Women from the 16th through the 18th     Centuries. 1994.
Ref ML128.W7 P46 2005
     Pendle, K. Women in Music: A Research and Information Guide. 2005.
Ref ML128.W7 W35 1995
     Walker-Hill, H. Music by Black Women Composers: A Bibliography of Available Scores. 1995.
Ref ML128.W7 W63 1988
     Women's Studies, Women's Status. 1988.

Biographies

Ref ML82.L46 v.1-2
     LePage, J. Women Composers, Conductors, and Musicians of the Twentieth Century. 1980.
Ref ML82.M8 v.1, 3
     Zaigmont, J. The Musical Woman. 1984.
Ref ML82.W625 2002 v. 1-2
     Burns, K. Women and Music in America Since 1900: An Encyclopedia. 2002.
Ref ML105.C593 1996
     Claghorn, C. Women Composers and Songwriters: A Concise Biographical Dictionary. 1996.
Ref ML105.C7 1987 v.1, 2
     Cohen, A. International Encyclopedia of Women Composers. 1987.
Ref ML105.E67 G8 1990
     Epstein, S. A Guide for Researching Music by Women Composers. 1990.
Ref ML105.H6 1993 v. 1, 2
     Hixon, D. Women In Music: An Encyclopedic Biobibliography. 1993.
Ref ML105.N38 1994
     The New Grove Dictionary of Women Composers. 1994.
Ref ML105.Z34
     Zaimont & Famera. Contemporary Concert Music by Women: A Directory of the Composers and their Works.     1981.
Ref ML106.U3 G73 1993
     Grattan, V. American Women Songwriters : A Biographical Dictionary. 1993.
Ref ML105.F94 1994
     Fuller, S. The Pandora Guide to Women Composers: Britain and the United States 1629- Present. 1994.

Discographies

Ref ML111.D48 no. 50
     Frasier, J. Women Composers: A Discography. 1983.
Ref ML156.4.V7 S83
     Stewart-Green, M. Women Composers: A Checklist of Works for the Solo Voice. 1980.
Ref ML156.4.W6 C6 1984
     International Discography of Women Composers. 1984.
Ref ML156.4.W6 L35 1996
     Laird, Ross. Moanin' low: A Discography of Female Popular Vocal Recordings, 1920-1933. 1996.

Journals

SPECIAL ISSUES

ML1.B3
     "I am Woman." BMI 4. 1977. Entire issue.
ML1.M24
     Poole, J. "America's Women Composers." Music Educator's Journal (1978) 65:28-45.
ML1.M27
     Hettrick, J. "She Drew an Angel Down." American Organist (1979) 13:39-45.
ML82.G76 1991
     Groh, J. Evening the Score: Women in Music and the Legacy of Frederique Petrides. Includes 37 issues of     the newsletter Women in Music, published from 1935 to 1940, with annotations. * Includes     bibliographical references (p. 127-128) and index.

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

History

ML26.I53 1995
     International Congress on Women in Music. Female Music Rush-hour: 9th International Congress on     Women in Music. 1995.
ML82.A37 2007
     Hayes, Eileen M. Black women and Music: More Than the Blues. 2007.
ML82.A45 2001
     Amner, C. Unsung: A History of Women in American Music. 2001.
ML82.C37 2004
     Carson, M. Girls Rock!: Fifty Years of Women Making Music. 2004.
ML82.C42 1994
     Cook, S. and Tsou, J. Cecilia Reclaimed : Feminist Perspectives on Gender and Music. 1994.
ML82.C85 1997
     Locke, R. Cultivating Music in America: Women Patrons and Activists Since 1860. 1997.
ML82. D528 2005
     Dickerson, J. Go, Girl, Go: The Women’s Revolution in Music. 2005.
ML82.D7 1995
     Drinker, S. Music And Women: The Story of Women in their Relation to Music. 1995.
ML 82.F76 2003
     Glickman, Sylvia. From Convent to Concert Hall: A Guide to Women Composers. 2003.
ML82.H36 1998
     Handy, D. Black Women in American Bands & Orchestras. 1998.
ML82. M45 2002
     Klinck, Anne L. Medieval Woman's Song : Cross-Cultural Approaches. 2002.
ML82.O27 1995
     O'Brien, L. She Bop: The Definitive History of Women in Rock, Pop and Soul. 1995.
ML82.O27 2002
     O'Brien, L. She Bop II: The Definitive History of Women in Rock, Pop and Soul. 2002.
ML82.W65 1982
     Neuls-Bates, C. Women in Music: An Anthology of Source Readings from the Middle Ages to the Present.     1982.
ML385.M37 1997
     Mender, M. Extraordinary Women in Support of Music. 1997.
ML390.W16 2002
     Walker-Hill, H. From Spirituals to Symphonies: African-American Women Composers and Their Music. 2002.
ML390.W16 2007
     Walker-Hill, Helen. From Spirituals to Symphonies: African-American Women Composers and Their Music.     2007.
ML394.W65 2003
     Wolfe, Charles K. The Women of Country Music: A Reader. 2003.
ML395 .E572 2004 & CD10285
     Enstice, Wayne. Jazzwomen: Conversations with Twenty-one Musicians. 2004.
ML400.J24 2005
     Jackson, Buzzy. A Bad Woman Feeling Good: Blues and the Women Who Sing Them. 2005.
ML1380.H56 2006
     Hinkle-Turner, Elizabeth. Women Composers and Music Technology in the United States: Crossing the Line.     2006.
ML1506.R66 2006
     Lutyens, Elisabeth. The Choral Music of Twentieth-Century Women Composers. 2006.
ML1704.R88 2006
     Rutherford, Susan. The Prima Donna and Opera 1815-1930. 2006.
ML3492.B39 1998
     Bayton, M. Frock Rock: Women Performing Popular Music. 1998.
ML3503.N6 M32 2004
     Mack, Beverly B. Muslim Women Sing: Hausa Popular Song. 2004.
ML3524.B83 2003
     Bufwack, M. Finding her Voice: The Saga of Women in Country Music. 2003.
ML3534.3.S28 2003
     Savage, Ann M. They’re Playing Our Songs: Women Talk about Feminist Rock Music. 2003.
ML3838.M949 2003
     Magrini, Tullia. Music and Gender: Perspectives from the Mediterranean. 2003.
ML3890.C58 1993
     Citron, M. Gender and the Musical Canon. 1993.

Score Anthologies

M21.W82 1986
     Women Composers for the Harpsichord. 1986.
M2.H68 1987 & Compact discs: M2 .H5 1997
     Historical Anthology of Music by Women. 1987.
M2. N46 2004 & Compact discs: CD 11598
     New  Historical Anthology of Music by Women. 2004.
M6.O69 1993
     Organ Music by Women Composers before 1800: Gracia Baptista, Caterina Assandra, Miss Steemson. 1993.
M21.E33 1992 [2 v.]
     Eighteenth Century Women Composers for the Harpsichord Or Piano. 1992.
M23.B54 op. 1, 1992
     Historical Women Composers for the Piano: Marie Kiéné Bigot de Morogues. 1992.
M1619.A784 T38 1995
     Art Songs and Spirituals by African-American Women Composers. 1995.
M1977.W64 H4 1987
     Here's to the Women: 100 Songs for and about American Women. 1987.
    Unaccompanied melodies; includes chord symbols. CONTENTS: Friends and lovers -- Activism -- Labor --     Contemporary issues -- Growing up -- Role models -- Women emerging.
MT6.5.M84 1993
     Music by Women for Study and Analysis. 1993.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

CD6566
     Ska Down Her Way: Women of Ska v.2. 1998.
CD7105
     Cherish the Ladies. 1995.
CD7405
     Women of Note. 1997.
CD7412
     Lieder / Clara Schumann, Fanny Mendelssohn, Alma Mahler. 1995.
CD7508
     Blues Masters. The Essential Blues Collection, Volume II, Classic Blues Women. 1993.
CD7524
     Contemporary Anthology of Music by Women. 1999.
CD7930
     Global Divas: Voices From Women of the World. 1995.
CD8278
     Chamber Works by Women Composers. 1991.
CD8455
     Songs of the Suffragettes. 2000.
CD8631 v.1-5
     R*E*S*P*E*C*T: A Century of Women in Music. 1999.
CD9599
     Music by Women: A Celebration. 2003.
CD9794
     Sacred Women: Women as Composers and Performers of Medieval Chant. 1997.
CD10157
     Ladies Sing the Blues. 1995.
CD11598
     New Historical Anthology of Music by Women. 2004. [See scores above]
CD M2.H5 1997
     Historical Anthology of Music by Women. 1997. [See scores above]
CD M7.R39 1993
     Deferred Voices: Organ Music by Women. 1993.
CD M21.H24 E35 v.2, 1990
     18th Century Harpsichord Music by Women Composers Vol. II. 1990.
CD M21.H24 H37 1989
     Harpsichord Solos by 18th Century Women Composers. 1989.
CD M1619.F43 1990
     Lucille Field Sings Songs by American Women Composers. 1990.
CD M1619.K65 1994
     Songs / by Clara Schumann, Poldowski, Amy Beach. 1994.
CD M2198.G748 1996
     Great Women of Gospel. 1996.

DVD M1838.M64 D68 2004
     Doumou’ el-sheikhates. 2004. [Sheikhates, Female Moroccan Musicians]
VHS ML82.I83 2000
     Isabella d'Este: First Lady of the Renaissance. 2000.
DVD ML390.Y68 1999
     Yours for a Song: The Women of Tin Pan Alley. 1999.
VHS ML400.I16
     I Live for Art: Tosca. 1983.
VHS ML420.P52I2 1980z
     I Regret Nothing: Edith Piaf, 1915-1963: A Musical Biography. 1980.
DVD ML421.S84 S94 2005
     Sweet Honey in the Rock. 2005.
VHS ML3521.W54 1989
     Wild Women Don't Have the Blues. 1989.

** CDs and Videos by specific composers/performers can be found by doing an advanced search with the format limited to compact disc or video recording.


ONLINE RESOURCES

Harmony Ridge Music's Page Dedicated to Female Singer-Songwriters http://www.hrmusic.com/index.html
International Alliance for Women in Music http://www.iawm.org
Kapralova Society’s Bibliography Page http://www.kapralova.org/BIBLIOGRAPHY.htm
Women’s Folk Music Resources  http://creativefolk.com/folk.html
Yahoo's Index to Sites on Women in Music http://dir.yahoo.com/Society_and_Culture/Cultures_and_Groups/Women/Music/

Also see:

DATABASES & INDEXES
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Grove Music
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised April 2008