Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Music in the United States *

The Music Genre Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • ML1 United States periodicals
  • ML13-18 United States directories
  • ML106.U3-U4 United States bio-bibliographies
  • ML120.U United States bibliographies
  • ML198 General history and criticism of American music
  • ML200 United States music history
  • ML3551-3561 National U. S. music
  • MT4 History and criticism of musical instruments and study in the U. S.

Subject Headings

GENERAL

  • FOLK MUSIC--UNITED STATES
  • FOLK SONGS, ENGLISH--UNITED STATES
  • MUSIC--UNITED STATES
  • MUSICIANS--UNITED STATES

ETHNIC

  • AFRICAN AMERICAN MUSICIANS
  • AFRICAN AMERICANS--MUSIC
  • INDIANS OF NORTH AMERICA--MUSIC
  • MUSICIANS, BLACK

REGIONAL

  • APPALACHIAN REGION
  • CAJUN MUSIC
  • DIXIELAND MUSIC
  • FOLK MUSIC--[By state]
  • FOLK MUSIC--APPALACHIAN REGION, SOUTHERN
  • FOLK SONGS, ENGLISH--[By state]
  • FOLK SONGS, ENGLISH--SOUTHERN STATES
  • IRISH AMERICANS--MUSIC --HISTORY AND CRITICISM
  • MUSICIANS, CAJUN
  • ZYDECO MUSIC

TOPICAL

  • BLUEGRASS MUSIC
  • BLUES (MUSIC)
  • COUNTRY MUSIC
  • COWBOYS--SONGS AND MUSIC
  • JAZZ
  • JAZZ MUSICIANS
  • MUSICALS
  • POPULAR MUSIC
  • ROCK MUSIC
  • ROCK MUSICIANS
  • SOUL MUSIC

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Bibliographies

Ref ML120.U5 H6
     Hixon, D. Music in Early America. 1970.
Ref ML120.U5 H7
     Horn, D. The Literature of American Music. 1977.
Ref ML120.U5 R47
     Krummel, D. Resources of American Music History. 1981.
Ref ML128.C4 D78 1999
     Drucker, A. American Piano Trios: A Resource Guide. 1999.
Ref ML128.C48 O77 1999
     Orr, N. Choral Music in Nineteenth-Century America: A Guide to the Sources. 1999.
Ref ML128.V7 H67 1986
     Hovland, M. Musical Settings of American Poetry. 1986.
Ref ML128.W7 B6
     Block & Neuls-Bates. Women in American Music: A Bibliography of Music and Literature. 1979.
Ref ML128.W7 C74 2002
     Crew, D. Suffragist Sheet Music. 2002.
Ref ML156.4.F5 M43 2002
     Meade, G. Country Music Sources: A Biblio-Discography of Commercially Recorded Traditional Music.  2002.

Biographical Dictonaries

Ref ML102.S67 E5 2005 v. 1-2
     Marco, G. Encyclopedia of Recorded Sound in the United States. 2005.
Ref ML105 .F53 2002
     Ficher, Miguel. Latin American Classical Composers: A Biographical Dictionary. 2002.
Ref ML105 .I39 1982
     Clifford, M. Illustrated Encyclopedia of Black Music. 1982.
Ref ML105.S67
     Southern, E. Biographical Dictionary of Afro-American and African Musicians. 1982.
Ref ML106.U3 B73 1999
     Bromberger, E. Brainard's Biographies of American Musicians. 1999.
Ref ML106.U3 B87 2005
     Butterworth, Neil. Dictionary of American Classical Composers. 2005.
Ref ML106.U3 G73 1993
     Grattan, V. American Women Songwriters. 1993.
Ref ML106.U3 V114 2000
     Vaché, W. The Unsung Songwriters: America's Masters of Melody. 2000.

Discographies

Ref ML128.M7 M3 2000
     McCarty, C. Film Composers in America: A Filmography, 1911-1970. 2000.
Ref ML128.M78 S86 2000
     Suskin, S. Show Tunes: The Songs, Shows, and Careers of Broadway's Major Composers. 2000.
Ref ML128.P63 J37  2002
     Jasen, D. A Century of American Popular Music: 2000 Best-Loved and Remembered Songs (1899-1999).     2002.
Ref ML156.9.D38
     Davis, E. Index to the New World Recorded Anthology of American Music: A User's Guide to the Initial One     Hundred Record. 1981.

Encyclopedias

ML82.W625 2002
     Burns, K. Women and Music in America Since 1900: An Encyclopedia. 2002.
Ref ML100.J28
     Jablonski, E. Encyclopedia of American Music. 1981.
Ref ML101.U6 N48 1986b
     Hitchcock, H. New Grove Dictionary of American Music. 1986.
Ref ML102.C7 E54 1998
     Kingbury, P.  The Encyclopedia of Country Music: The Ultimate Guide to the Music. 1998.
Ref ML102.F66 S74 2001
     Stambler, I. Folk and Blues: The Encyclopedia. 2001.
Ref ML102.M68 H57 1999
     Hischak, T. The American Musical Film Song Encyclopedia. 1999.
Ref ML102 .P66 J37 2003
     Jasen, D.A.  Tin Pan Alley: An Encyclopedia of the Golden Age of American Song. 2003.
Ref ML102.P66 R67 2000
     Rosalsky, M. Encyclopedia of Rhythm & Blues and Doo Wop Vocal Groups. 2000.

History

Ref ML106.U3 W2 2000
     Warner, J. The Da Capo Book of American Singing Groups: A History, 1940-1990. 2000.
Ref ML161.G53 Ser.4
     Gleason, H. 20th Century American Composers.  1980.
Ref ML200.G95 1984
     Gusikoff, L. A Guide to Musical America. 1984.
Ref ML200.H15 1996
     Hall, C. A Chronicle of American Music, 1700-1995. 1996.
Ref ML200.5.T35
     Tawa, N. Mainstream Music of Early Twentieth Century America: The Composers, Their Times, and Their     Works.  1992
Ref ML106.U3 A6 1982
     Anderson, R. Contemporary American Composers.  1982.
Ref ML3551.A53 2002
     Titon, J. American Musical Traditions. 2002.
Ref ML3790.M84 2001
     Halloran, M. The Musician's Business & Legal Guide. 2001.
Ref ML3790.S5 2003
     Krasilovsky, M. This Business of Music: The Definitive Guide to the Music Industry. 2003.

Journals

American Music ML1.A54
Institute for Studies in American Music Newsletter ML28.B81B75
Journal of the Society for American Music ML1 .J756
The Bulletin of the Society for American Music ML27.U5S765

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

History and Criticism

ML82.M24 2001
     Macleod, B. Women Performing Music: The Emergence of American Women as Classical Instrumentalists and     Conductors. 2001.
ML128.M78 S79 2001
     Stubblebine, D. Early Broadway Sheet Music: A Comprehensive Listing of Published Music from Broadway     and Other Stage Shows, 1843-1918. 2001.
ML200.C69 2001
     Crawford, R. America's Musical Life: A History. 2001.
ML200 .B67 2003
     Borroff, E.  Music Melting Round: A History of Music in the United States. 2003.
ML200.C69 2001
     Crawford, R. America's Musical Life: A History. 2001.
ML200.H58 2000
     Hitchcock, H. Music in the United States. 2000.
ML200.E4
     Ellinwood, L. The History of American Church Music. 1953.
ML200.K55 1998
     Kingman, D. American Music: A Panorama. 1998.
ML200.M75 1985
     Moore, M. Yankee Blues: Musical Culture and American Identity. 1985.
ML200.S263 1991
     Sanjek, R. American Popular Music Business in the 20th Century. 1991.
ML200.T67 2002
     Alexander, J. To Stretch Our Ears: A Documentary History of America's Music. 2002.
ML200.Z8
     Zuck, B. A History of Musical Americanism. 1980.
ML200.1.S65 1983
     Lichtenwanger, W. Oscar Sonneck and American Music. 1983.
ML200.5.B47 2002
     Berger, A. Reflections of an American Composer. 2002.
ML200.5.K37 1996
     Karolyi, O. Modern American Music: From Charles Ives to the Minimalists. 1996.
ML200.5.P478 2000
     Saffle, M. Perspectives on American Music, 1900-1950. 2000.
ML200.5.P48 1999
     Heintze, J. Perspectives on American Music Since 1950. 1999.
ML200.5.R45 2000
     Heintze, J. Reflections on American Music: The Twentieth Century and the New Millennium. 2000.
ML200.5.T36 1987
     Tawa, N. A Most Wondrous Babble, American Art... their Music. 1987.
ML3475 .F76 2002
     Clark, Walter A. From Tejano to Tango: Latin American Popular Music. 2002.
ML3477 .R63 1999
     Roberts, John Storm. The Latin Tinge: The Impact of Latin American Music on the United States. 1999.
ML3795.T25 1995
     Tawa, N. American Composers and Their Public: A Critical Look. 1995.
MT3.U5 M325 1999
     Mark, M. A History of American Music Education. 1999.
MT930 .T53 2004
     Tibbett, Teri. Listen to Learn: Using American Music to Understand Language Arts and Social Studies (Grades     5-8). 2004.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

Sound Recordings

Recorded Anthology of American Music (call numbers vary, published by New World Records)
This set of 100 recordings covers concert art music, marching bands to bebop, film music to field hollers, symphonies to theater songs--in short, music of every genre, spanning well over 200 years of America's history and cultural heritage.

For individual album titles, check:

Ref ML156.9.D38
Davis, E. Index to the New World Recorded Anthology of American Music: A User's Guide to the Initial One Hundred Records, then search the online catalog for titles of interest. Some titles are cassettes, others also available in compact disc.

Biographies

VHS ML410.A855A845
    Robert Ashley.  1991
DVD ML410 .C24 J62 2004
    John Cage: From zero.  2004
VHS ML410.G398G53 
    Philip Glass.  1991
VHS ML410.M754 M473 1991
    Meredith Monk.  1991
VHS ML410.I94C42
    Charles Ives: A Good Dissonance Like a Man. 1987.

Various Topics

VHS ML1311.H57 1988 pt.1-2
    The History of Bands in America. 1988.
DVD M1630.18 .G665 2003
    Great American Songbook. 2003.
DVD ML1711.8 .N3 B762 2004
    Broadway: The American Musical. 2004.
DVD ML2911 .C42 2003
    Chase the Devil:  Religious Music of the Appalachian Mountains. 2003.
DVD ML3187 .A43 2004
    Amazing Grace with Bill Moyers. 2004.
DVD ML3187 .T66 2004
    Too Close to Heaven: The Story of Gospel Music. 2004.
DVD ML3188 .A93 2006
    Awake my Soul: The Story of the Sacred Harp. 2006.
VHS ML3475.S23 1988
    Salsa: Latin Pop Music in the Cities. 1988.
VHS ML3477.C3
    Cajun Country: Don't Drop the Potato
VHS ML3477.N48 1995
    New England Dances. 1995.
DVD ML3506 .J38 2000 v.1-10
    Jazz.  2000
DVD ML3520 .H535 1997
    High Lonesome: The Story of Bluegrass Music.  1997
DVD ML3521 .M372 2003
    The Blues, A Musical Journey. 2003.
DVD ML3551 .A542 2001 no.1-4
    American Roots Music. 2001.

** CDs and Videos by specific composers/performers can be found by doing an advanced search with the format limited to compact disc or video recording.


ONLINE RESOURCES

The American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada http://www.afm.org
American Music Center http://www.amc.net
American Music Resource http://www.uncg.edu/mus/courses/msbrewst/amr/  (link corrected)
Music of the United States of America http://www.umich.edu/~musausa

Also see:

DATABASES & INDEXES
African American Song
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Grove Music
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised April 2008