Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Suzuki Talent Education*

The Music Education Guides are designed for use by music education faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of music education, learning styles and teaching methods. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • MT222.S9 Piano methods (Suzuki)
  • MT745-758 Piano--Instruction & Study--Juvenile
  • MT760-778 Violin--Instruction & Study--Juvenile

Subject Headings

  • CHILD DEVELOPMENT
  • CHILD MUSICIANS
  • INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC--INSTRUCTION & STUDY
  • MUSIC--INSTRUCTION & STUDY--JUVENILE
  • PIANO--INSTRUCTION & STUDY--JUVENILE
  • VIOLIN--INSTRUCTION & STUDY--JUVENILE

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Ref ML128.P3G73
     Graham, B. Suzuki Pianist's List of Supplementary Materials. 1981.
Ref MT3.U5M32 1996
     Mark, M. Contemporary Music Education. 1996.

Journals

American String Teacher ML27.U5A8356
American Suzuki Journal MT1.A54

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

Early Childhood Education

ML3820.G73 1986
     Green, B. The Inner Game of Music. 1986.
MT1.M816M93
     Moog, H. Musical Experience of the Pre-School Child. 1976.
MT1.Y87
     Yurko, M. No-H-in-Snake: Music Theory for Children. 1979.

Methods - Strings

MT3.U5K35
     Kendall, J. Suzuki Violin Method in American Music Education. 1973.
MT259.F5
     Fink, L. Parent's Guide to String Instrument Study. 1977.
MT760.S6 1982
     Slone, K. They're Rarely Too Young--and Never Too Old to "Twinkle": Teaching Insights into the World of Beginning Suzuki Violin. 1982.
MT760.S913 1982
     Suzuki, S. Where Love is Deep. 1982.
MT760.W52
     Wickes, L. Genius of Simplicity. 1982.
OVERSIZE MT761.S7
     Starr, W. Suzuki Violinist: A Guide for Teachers & Parents. 1976.

Methods - Piano

MT222.B56
     Bigler & Lloyd-Watts. Studying Suzuki Piano: More than Music. 1979.
MT222.S9 v.1-6
     Suzuki, S. Suzuki Piano School. 1970-1978.
MT222.S9L4 1982
     Landers, R. Second Piano Accompaniments, v.1-2. 1982.
MT222.S9L5
     Lippman, L. Sixty-Three One-Piano Accompaniments. 1984.
MT222.S9M4 v.1
     Meixner, B. Piano Ensemble Music. 1983.
MT745.K865
     Koppelman, D. Introducing Suzuki Piano. 1978.

Philosophy, History, and Biography

LC3998.J3S9613
     Suzuki, S. Ability Development from Age Zero. 1981.
ML197 .F54 2005
     Fink, Robert. "'I did this exercise 100,000 times' : zen, minimalism, and the Suzuki method." in Repeating ourselves : American minimal music as cultural practice. 2005.
ML418.S83H6
     Honda, M. Suzuki Changed my Life. 1976.
ML423.C65 A53 2001
     Andres, R. Pianos and Pianism: Frederic Horace Clarke and the Quest for Unity of Mind, Body, and Universe.      2001.
ML428.S89H4
     Hermann, E. Shinichi Suzuki: The Man and his Philosophy. 1981.
ML650.C3 1998
     Rowland, D. ed. The Cambridge Companion to the Piano. 1988.
MT1.C72
     Cook, C. Suzuki Education in Action. 1970.
MT1.L34 1984
     Landers, R. Talent Education School of Shinichi Suzuki: An Analysis. 1984.
MT1.M62
     Mills, E. In the Suzuki Style. 1974.
MT1.S694 1983
     Starr, W. To Learn with Love: A Companion for Suzuki Parents. 1983.
MT1.S89 1977
     Smith, L. Suzuki: A Gift of Love. 1977.
MT1.S92
     Suzuki, S. Nurtured by Love: A New Approach to Education. 1969.
MT6.S927
     Mills, E. Suzuki Concept. 1973.
MT145.M72D38 2001
     Davidson, M. Mozart and the Pianist: A Guide for Performers and Teachers to Mozart's Major Works for Solo      Piano. 2001.
MT170.I587 1984
     Introduction to the Suzuki Method. 1984.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

Video MT262.E27 1992
     Early Music Education with Suzuki. 1992.
Video MT262.V3
     SAA Documentary: Variations on a Theme by Mozart. 1985.
Video MT262.S4 1985
     Sensei: Learning Music with Dr. Suzuki. 1985.
Video MT262.S88 1973 pt.1-12
     Suzuki Starr Videotapes. 1973.
          Set of 12 videos, primarily for violin method, featuring Suzuki.
          Tape 11 covers cello and piano as well. For more information, ask
          for the liner notes to the set.


ONLINE RESOURCES

Dr. Shinichi Suzuki Memorial Page <http://mrdata.com/fandrich/eric/suzuki/front.html>
Music Education Resource Base (MERB) <http://www.merb.org>
     MERB/CMI is a bibliographic database of more than 28,000 resources in music and music education from
     31 Canadian and International journals and other sources covering the period 1956 through the      present.
Suzuki Association of the Americas<http://www.suzukiassociation.org/>
Suzuki Method Network <http://www.suzuki-music.com/>
Talent Education Research Institution <http://www.suzukimethod.or.jp/indexE.html>

Also see:

Periodical Indexes

Related databases available on the UT Libraries Database Page:
Education Full Text
ERIC
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
PsycLINFO (Journal articles)
Social Sciences Citation Index
Dissertation Abstracts
Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Music databases available on the Music Library Database Page:
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised July 2007