Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Sacred Music*

The Music Genre Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • M14 Organ accompaniments for hymns and liturgical works
  • M2000-2101 Sacred vocal music (choral)
  • M2102-2114 Sacred vocal music (solo)
  • M2115-2146 Hymnals
  • M2147-2188 Liturgy & ritual
  • M2190-2191 Sacred vocal music for children
  • M2193-2196 Songs (part and solo)
  • M2198-2199 Gospel, revival
  • ML128.C54 Church music
  • ML128.H8 Hymns
  • ML123.L2 Lenten and Easter music
  • ML128.P Protestant church music 7
  • ML128.S2 Sacred vocal music
  • ML123.W4 Wedding music
  • ML2400, 3260 Cantatas
  • ML3201-3251 Oratorios
  • ML3000-3775 History and criticism
  • MT88, 915 Church choirs, Choir training
  • MT865 Protestant chorales
  • MT875 Chorus and part singing

Subject Headings

  • CANTILLATION
  • CHAPELS (MUSIC)
  • CHORUSES, SACRED
  • CHURCH MUSIC
  • CHURCH MUSICIANS
  • MUSIC AND MAGIC
  • MUSIC AND OCCULTISM
  • MUSIC FOR MEDITATION
  • MUSIC IN ... (CHURCHES, CONVENTS, MONASTERIES, RABBINICAL LITERATURE, ETC...)
  • MUSIC IN THE BIBLE
  • MUSIC - RELIGIOUS ASPECTS
  • SACRED MUSIC
  • SACRED MUSICALS
  • SACRED SONGS
  • SACRED VOCAL ENSEMBLES ... (DUETS, TRIOS, etc.)
  • SACRED VOCAL MUSIC (includes discography and criticism)
  • SYNAGOGUE MUSIC

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Reference ML102.C45 B8 v.1-2
     Bryden, J.R. An Index of Gregorian Chant. 1969.
Ref ML102.C5 D33
     Davidson, J. A Dictionary of Protestant Church Music. 1975.
Ref ML102.C5 K5
     Schalk, C. Key Words in Church Music. 1978.
Ref ML102.C5 P77 1991
     Poultney, D. Dictionary of Western Church Music. 1991.
Ref ML102.C5 S8 1950
     Stubbings, G. A Dictionary of Church Music. 1950.
Ref ML102.C5 S83 2006
     Swain, J.P.  Historical Dictionary of Sacred Music. 2006.
Ref ML102.E53 v.1-3
     Porte, J. Encyclopédie des Musiques Sacrées. 1968-1970.
Ref ML106.J49 N84
     Nulman, M. Concise Encyclopedia of Jewish Music. 1975 .
Ref ML120.U5 K78 1987
     Krummel, D.W. Bibliographical Handbook of American Music. 1987.
Ref ML120.U5 M3 1968
     Metcalf, F. American Psalmody. 1968.
Ref ML128.C54 M9 1980
     Cunningham, P. The Music Locator. 1980.
Ref ML128.C54 V66
     Von Ende, R. Church Music: An International Bibliography. 1980.
Ref ML128.C54 Y4
     Yeats-Edwards, P. English Church Music-A Bibliography. 1975.
Ref ML128.V7E8 1984
     Espina, N. Vocal Solos for Christian Churches: A Descriptive Reference of Solo Music for the Church Year.     1984.
ML3186.R68 1975
     Rodeheaver, H. Hymnal Handbook for Standard Hymns and Gospel Songs. 1975.

Journals

The American Organist ML1.M27
Choral Journal ML1.C46
The Diapason ML1.D41
The Hymn & The Stanza (Newsletter) ML1.H92
Sacred Music ML1.S25 

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

History and Criticism

BV290.W47 1998
     Westermeyer, P. Te Deum, the Church and Music: A Textbook, a Reference, a History, an Essay. 1998.
ML200.E4
     Ellinwood, L. History of American Church Music. 1953.
ML2900.S2 1992
     Hoffman, A, ed. Sacred Sound and Social Change: Liturgical Music in Jewish and Christian Experience. 1992.
ML2911.M87 2006
     Bohlman, P.V.  Music in American Religious Experience. 2006.
ML3000.W53
     Wienandt, E. Choral Music of the Church. 1965.
ML3000.W54 1997
     Wilson-Dickson, A.  A Brief History of Christian Music: From Biblical Times to the Present. 1997.
ML3001.A82 M8
     Ashton, J.N.  Music in Worship: The Use of Music in the Church Service. 2001.
ML3001 .W5 1997
     Westermeyer, P. The Church Musician. 1997.
ML3002.F32 1961
     Fellerer, K. History of Catholic Church Music. 1961.
ML3007.J66 1997
     Joncas, Jan Michael. From Sacred Song to Ritual Music. 1997.
ML3060.C69 1985
     Conomos, D. The Late Byzantine and Slavonic Communion Cycle. Liturgy & Music. 1985.
ML3082.C73 2000
     Crocker, Richard L. An Introduction to Gregorian Chant. 2000.
ML3088.M24 1986
     MacIntyre, B. The Viennese Concerted Mass of the Early Classic Period. 1986.
ML3100.B5913
     Blume, F. Protestant Church Music: A History. 1974.
ML3100.H87
     Hustad, D. Jubilate: Church Music in the Evangelical Tradition. 1981.
ML3160.P28 1995
     Patterson, B. The Sound of the Dove: Singing in Appalachian Primitive Baptist Churches. 1995.
ML3166.S75 1995
     Spink, I. Restoration Cathedral Music, 1660-1714. 1995.
ML3186.B73 1997
     Bradley, I. Abide with Me: The World of Victorian Hymns. 1997.
ML3187.B7 1995
     Boyer, H. How Sweet the Sound: The Golden Age of Gospel. 1995.
ML3187.L67 1995
     Lornell, K. Happy in the Service of the Lord: African-American Sacred Vocal Music. 1995.
ML3187.5.F73 1997
     Frame, John M. Contemporary Worship Music: A Biblical Defense. 1997.
ML3188.B43 1997
     Bealle, J. Public Worship, Private Faith: Sacred Harp and American Folksong. 1997.
ML3195.S96 2000
     Summit, J. The Lord's Song in a Strange Land: Music and Identity in Contemporary Jewish Worship.  2000.
ML3197.F54 1996
     Fleurant, G. Dancing Spirits: Rhythms and Rituals of Haitian Vodun, the Rada Rite. 1996.
ML3528.8.S26 1999
     Sapoznik, H. Klezmer!: Jewish Music from Old World to Our World. 1999.

Hymnology

BV305.D5 1966
     Diehl, K. Hymns and Tunes: An Index. 1966.
BV305.J82 1957 v.1-2
     Julian, J. A Dictionary of Hymnology. 1957.
BV310.E75 1995.
     Eskew, H. Sing With Understanding: An Introduction to Christian Hymnology. 1995.
ML3000.M87  1996
     Music, D. Hymnology: A Collection of Source Readings. 1996.
ML3111.S8 1975
     Stevenson, A. The Story of Southern Hymnology. 1975.
ML3186.S52 1971
     Seipt, A. Schwenkfelder Hymnology and the Sources of the First Schwenkfelder Hymn-Book Printed in     America. 1971.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

CD M2011 .A56 1998
     A Lammas Ladymass: 13th and 14th century English chant and polyphony. 1998.
CD M2082 .M3 1996
     Make a joyful noise: mainstreams and backwaters of American psalmody, 1770-1840. 1996.
CD M2122 .S56 1997
     Songs of the Old Regular Baptists. 1997.
CD6316
     Preachers and congregations: complete recorded works. 1997.
CD6387
     Hymns through the centuries: with organ, carillon, and peal bells. 1996.
CD8426
     An introduction to gospel song. 2001.
CD8437
     Old harp singing by the Old Harp Singers of Eastern Tennessee. 2001.
CD9117
     Negro religious songs and services. 1999.

CDROM  ML3186 .W2
     Wasson, D.D. Hymntune Index and Related Hymn Materials. 2001.

VHS ML2880.S86 1993
     The Story of the Carol. 1993.
DVD ML3187 .T66 2004
     Too Close to Heaven: The Story of Gospel Music. 2004.
DVD ML3188 .A93 2006
     Awake my Soul: The Story of the Sacred Harp. 2006.
DVD ML2900 .S23 2004
     Sacred Sounds: Music of the World: Songs of the Soul. 2004.
DVD ML3187 .A43 2004
     Amazing Grace with Bill Moyers. 2004.
VHS ML160 .M87 1988 pt.1
     Music in Time: Vibrations and Pagan rites. 1988.
VHS ML160 .M87 1988 pt. 5
     Music in Time: Luther and Reformation. 1988.


ONLINE RESOURCES

CANTUS http://publish.uwo.ca/~cantus
Hebrew Cantillation Marks and their Encoding http://www.lrz-muenchen.de/~hr/teamim/
Jewish Music http://www.zamir.org/resources
Mass http://www.sanctamissa.org
Orpheus Dei http://www.orpheusdei.com
Sacred Music http://www.lib.washington.edu/music/sacred.html
Sacred Harp and Shape-Note Music: Resources http://www.mcsr.olemiss.edu/~mudws/resource/
Tibetan Music http://www.acsu.buffalo.edu/~jemorgan/dalai/sacred.html
Web Resources for Jewish Music http://www.jmwc.org/jmwc_feature.html
Worldwide Internet Music Resources: Religious Music http://www.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/gospel.html
Yale Institute of Sacred Music http://www.yale.edu/ism

Also see:

DATABASES & INDEXES
African American Song
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Grove Music
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised April 2008