The University of Tennessee University Libraries
A-Z Index  /  WebMail  /  Dept. Directory

Orchestra Literature and Pedagogy

 

 

RESEARCH HELP:

Internet Resources LC Classification Subject Headings
Periodical Indexes
 

IN THE REFERENCE ROOM:

Bibliographies & Graded Lists Current Periodicals Dictionaries
Music in Print
 

MATERIALS BY TOPIC:

Conducting Instrumententation & Orchestration History & Performance
Pedagogy

NOTE: This guide provides selective listings. There may be more materials available in these subject areas.

Always check the catalog, using subject headings suggested, or check the appropriate call number areas in the stacks.


RESEARCH HELP

INTERNET RESOURCES

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

If you know the LC class number (call number) for a category of materials, you can go directly to the shelves to browse in that area.

  • M950-954 String Ensemble Music
  • M1000-1075 Orchestral music
  • M1100-1160 String orchestra music
  • M1420 String orchestra music, juvenile
  • ML458 Conducting--History
  • ML1200-1251 Orchestra--History & literature
  • MT730, 810 Orchestra--Instruction & study

SUBJECT HEADINGS IN LIBRARY CATALOGS

Subject headings in library catalogs will help in finding books, scores, and sound recordings for which you do not have specific author, title, or performer information.
  • CHAMBER ORCHESTRA MUSIC
  • CONDUCTING
  • INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC--HISTORY AND CRITICISM
  • INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • INSTRUMENTATION AND ORCHESTRATION
  • MUSIC--PERFORMANCE
  • ORCHESTRA
  • ORCHESTRAL MUSIC
  • SCHOOL MUSIC--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • STRING ENSEMBLES
  • STRING ORCHESTRA MUSIC
  • SYMPHONY ORCHESTRAS

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Music databases available on the Web:

  • International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
  • Music Index Online
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature

Related databases available on the Web:

  • Dissertation Abstracts
  • Education Full Text
  • ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center)
  • Humanities Abstracts
  • PsycINFO
  • Sociofile

IN THE REFERENCE ROOM

BIBLIOGRAPHIES, GRADED LISTS

Ref ML111.D48 no.30
Sollinger, C. String Class Publications in the U. S., 1851-1951
Ref ML128.O5K67 1992
Koshgarian, R. American Orchestral Music: A Performance Catalog
Ref ML128.O5R2 1993
Rabson, C. Orchestral Excerpts: A Comprehensive Index
Ref ML128.S7G8 1971
Gundling, D. Music Guide for String Classes
Ref ML132.A2U62 1999 v.2
Orchestra Prescribed Music List

CURRENT PERIODICALS

  • American Music Teacher ML1.A55
  • American String Teacher ML27.U5A8356
  • Bulletin.Council for Research in Music Education ML1.C68
  • The Instrumentalist ML1.I5
  • Journal of Research in Music Education ML1.J6
  • Music Educators Journal ML1.M24
  • The Strad ML800.S87
  • Symphony Magazine ML1.A7283
  • Tennessee Musician ML1.T4

DICTIONARIES

Ref ML102.O7D4 1987
Del Mar, N. A Companion to the Orchestra
Ref ML102.I5B34 1992
Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments
Ref ML102.I5N48 1984 v.1-3
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments

MUSIC IN PRINT

The Music-In-Print Series listed on Music Databases page.
String
Orchestral

MATERIALS BY TOPIC

CONDUCTING

Compact disc M1000 .A78 1996
The Art of Conducting
ML457.J2
Jacobson, B. Conductors on Conducting (1979)
Video MT85.A78 1991
The Art of Conducting (Orchestra!)
Video MT85.A78 1994 v.1-4
The Art of Conducting
MT85.C53
Clark, W. Conducting Technique (1979)
MT85.C75 1993 v.1-2
Instrumentalist. Conductor's Anthology
MT85.G785 1997
Green, E. The Modern Conductor
MT85.G8 1973
Grosbayne, B. Techniques of Modern Orchestral Conducting
MT85.K55 1975
Kinyon, J. The Teacher on the Podium: A Source Book of Basic Conducting Skills and Teaching Concepts for Instrumental Music Teachers
MT85.L24 1989
Labuta, J. Basic Conducting Techniques
MT85.M125 1989
McElheran, B. Conducting Technique : For Beginners and Professionals
MT85.P52 1997
Phillips, K. Basic Techniques of Conducting
MT85.R8 1994
Rudolf, M. The Grammar of Conducting : A Comprehensive Guide to Baton Technique
MT85.S46 1997
Schuller, G. The Compleat Conductor
MT85.V27
Van Horn, J. The Community Orchestra (1979)
Video ML457.M3
The Maestro (Orchestra!)

INSTRUMENTATION AND ORCHESTRATION

MT70.A3 2002
Adler, S. The Study of Orchestration
MT70.B4813 2002
MacDonald, H.. Berlioz's Orchestration Treatise: A Translation and Commentary
MT70.K37 2002
Kennan, K. The Technique of Orchestration
MT70.J2 1982
Jacob, G. Orchestral Technique
MT70.L85
Lovelock, W. Elements of Orchestral Arrangement (1968)
MT170.R38 1993
Read, G. Compendium of Modern Instrumental Techniques

HISTORY AND PERFORMANCE

ML55.H53
Hines, R. The Orchestral Composer's Point of View (1970)
Ref ML82.H36
Handy, D. Black Women in American Bands & Orchestras (1998)
Ref ML128.O5J60
Johnson, H. First Performances in America to 1900 (1979)
ML402.H361995
Handy, D. Black Conductors
ML1200.D359O6
Del Mar, N. Orchestral Variations: ...Repertoire (1981)
ML1200.D45 1981
-----. Anatomy of the Orchestra
ML1200.E85 1990
The Evolution of the Symphony Orchestra: History, Problems and Agendas
Video ML1200.I577 1991
Introduction to the Orchestra
ML1200.K68 1986
Koury, D. Orchestral Performance Practices in the Nineteenth Century
ML1200.O75 1986
Peyser, J. The Orchestra: Origins & Transformations
ML1200.P75 1989
Principles of Orchestral Management: A Resource Guide for Orchestra Administrators
Ref. ML1200.S9 1987
Craven, R. Symphony Orchestras of the World
ML1211.H3
Hart, O. Orpheus in the New World: The Symphony Orchestra as an American Cultural Institution (1973)
Ref ML1211.S95 1986
Craven, R. Symphony Orchestras of the United States

PEDAGOGY

ML755.B87
Burgan, A. Basic String Repairs (1974)
MT85.A349 1998
Adey, C. Orchestral Performance: A Guide for Conductors and Players
MT85.D339 1998
Del Mar, N. Conducting Favorite Concert Pieces
MT85.L57 2001
Lisk, E. The Creative Director: Beginning and Intermediate Levels
CD-ROM MT125.O72 1991
The Orchestra: The Instruments Revealed --uses Britten's Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra
MT170.K56 1982
Kinyon, J. Instrumental Music Director's Source Book
MT259.L27 1976
Lamb, N. Guide to Teaching Strings
MT259.L6
Lorrin, M. Dictionary of Bowing and Tonal Technics for Strings (1968)
MT259.Y69
Young, P. Playing the String Game: Strategies for Teaching Cello and Strings (1978)
Video MT259.L65
Lower strings (Orchestra!)
Video MT259.U8
Upper strings (Orchestra!)
MT730.G35
Gattiker, I. Complete Book of Rehearsal Techniques for the High School Orchestra (1977)
MT730.G73 1987
Green, E. The Dynamic Orchestra: Principles of Orchestral Performance

 


 

University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne, Margaret Kaus and Jonathan Shearon, Revised August 2003