Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Dalcroze, Kodaly, and Orff Methods*

The Music Education Guides are designed for use by music education faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of music education, learning styles and teaching methods. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

Subject Headings

  • JAQUES-DALCROZE, EMILE
  • KODALY, ZOLTAN
  • ORFF, CARL
  • MUSICO-CALLISTHENICS

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Ref ML134.K64 H68 1998
     Houlahan, M. Zoltan Kodaly: A Guide to Research. 1998.
Ref MT1.H138 1992
     Colwell, R. Handbook of Research on Teaching and Learning. 1992.
Ref MT1.S57
     Simpson, K. Some Great Music Educators. 1976.
Ref MT3.U5 M32 1996
     Mark, M. Contemporary Music Education. 1996.

Journals

Council for Research in Music Education / Bulletin ML1.C68
Journal of Research in Music Education / ML1.J6
Music Educators Journal / ML1.M24
Orff Echo / ML1.O57
Teaching Music / ML1.T33
Tennessee Musician / ML1.T4

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

Combined Methods (Jaques-Dalcroze, Kodaly & Orff)

MT1.M134 1983
     Madden, J. Zoltan Kodaly and Carl Orff: Implications for Program Development in Elementary Instrumental      Music Education. 1983.
MT1.W445 O7
     Wheeler & Raebeck. Orff and Kodaly Adapted for the Elementary School. 1972.
MT3.U5 E28 1990
     Landis & Carder. The Eclectic Curriculum in American Music Education: Contributions of Dalcroze, Kodaly,      and Orff. 1990.

Emile Jaques-Dalcroze

ML429.J2 S6 1990
     Spector, I. Rhythm and Life: The Work of Emile Jaques Dalcroze. 1990.
MT22.A22 1918
     Sadler, M. The Eurhythmics of Jaques-Dalcroze. 1918
MT22.A74 2003
     Jacques-Dalcroze, E. Eurhthmics, Art and Education (reprint, 1930). 2003.
MT22.A8 M43 1994
     Mead, V. Dalcroze Eurhythmics in Today's Music Classroom. 1994.
MT22.B313 1991
     Bachmann, M. Dalcroze Today: An Education through and into Music. 1991
MT22.F5
     Findlay, E. Rhythm and Movement: Applications of Dalcroze Eurhythmics. 1971.
STORAGE Microfilm ML410.J36 M66 1992
     Moore, S. The Writings of Emile Jacques-Dalcroze toward a Theory for the Performance of Musical Rhythm.      1992.

Zoltan Kodaly

M1994.E69 O6
     Erdei, P. 150 American Folk Songs to Sing. 1974.
M1994.P35 v.K-5
     Sinor, J. Kodaly Handbook. 1988.
ML128.S25 B3
     Barron, J. A Selected Bibliography of the Kodaly Concept of Music Education. 1979.
ML410.K732 A332
     Kodaly, Z. The Selected Writings of Zoltan Kodaly. 1974.
ML410.K732 E582 1962a
     Eosze, L. Zoltan Kodaly: His Life and Work. 1962.
ML410.K732 Y7
     Young, P. Zoltan Kodaly: Hungarian Musician. 1964.
MT1.C536
     Choksy, L. The Kodaly Context: Creating an Environment for Musical Learning. 1981.
MT1.C5365 1999
     Choksy, L. The Kodaly Method I: Comprehensive Music Education. 1999.
MT1.C5366 1999
     Choksy, L. The Kodaly Method II: Folksong to Masterwork. 1999.
MT1.K63
     Kodaly Institute. Teaching Music at Beginning Levels through the Kodaly Concept, v.1-2. 1974.
MT1.S99 1974
     Szonyi, E. Kodaly's Principles in Practice. 1974.
MT3.H8 S253
     Sandor, F. Musical Education in Hungary. 1966.
MT3.R8 V44
     Veis, P. Kodaly: Questions of Adaptation and the Pedagogy of Rhythm. 1977.
MT3.U5 M813
     Richards, M. "The Legacy from Kodaly" in Perspectives in Music Education, pp.402-407. 1966.
MT870.H235
     Hegyi, E. Solfege According to the Kodaly Concept. 1975.
MT875.K677
     Kodaly, Z. Pentatonic Music, 2 vols. 1969-70.
MT875.K682...
     Kodaly, Z. Two-Part Singing Exercises, 7 vols.
MT870.K726 1963
     Kodaly, Z. 333 Elementary Exercises in Sight Singing (Choral method). 1963.
MT925.D24
     Daniel, K. Kodaly in Kindergarten. 1981.

Carl Orff

M1546.5.K4 W42
     Keetman, G. The Christmas Story. 1962.
M1992.O742 N8
     Orff, C. Nursery Rhymes and Songs. 1961.
M1994.P348 v.K-8
     Frazee, J. Orff Handbook. 1988.
M1997.E24 D4 1992
     Ebinger, V. De Colores: Folklore from the Hispanic Tradition (Orff-Schulwerk). 1992.
ML128.S25 S80
     Stringham, M. Bibliography of Materials in English concerning Orff-Schulwerk. 1977.
ML55.O7
     Wolfgart, H. Das Orff-Schulwerke ... der Kinder. 1971.
ML410.O65 C3 v.3
     Carl Orff und sein Werke: Dokumentation. 1976.
ML410.O65 L57
     Liess, A. Carl Orff: His Life and His Music. 1966.
ML3920.O72 1989
     Orff, G. Key Concepts in the Orff Music Therapy: Definitions and Examples. 1989.
MT1.I72
     Myers, D. "Balinese Music for Use in the Classroom with Orff Instruments" in Challenges in Music      Education, pp.268-270. 1976.
MT1.K3313
     Keetman, G. Elementaria: First Acquaintance with Orff Schulwerk. 1974.
MT1.S235 1991
     Saliba, K. Accent on Orff: An Introductory Approach. 1991.
MT1.S84 1992
     Steen, A. Exploring Orff : A Teacher's Guide. 1992.
MT1.W33 1991
     Warner, B. Orff-Schulwerk: Applications for the Classroom. 1991.
MT3.U5 M813
     Orff, C. "Orff Schulwerk: Past and Future" in Perspectives in Music Education, pp.386-394. 1966.
MT10.O7 1987
     Frazee, J. Discovering Orff: A Curriculum for Music Teachers. 1987.
MT32.O7 O7 1987
     Levine, C, compiler. Index for Carl Orff Recordings, Music for Children, and Musica Poetica. 1987.
MT810.A5
     Amoaku, W. African Songs and Rhythms for Children. Orff-Schulwerk in the African tradition). 1971.
MT810.F714
     Frazee, J. Folk Carols for Christmas from the U.S. 1977.
MT810.H24
     Hall, D. Teacher's Manual, Orff-Schulwerk for Children. 1960.
MT810.M947
     Orff & Keetman. Music for Children. 1982.
MT810.N48
     Nichols, E. Orff Instrument Source Books, 2 vols. 1971.
MT810.O7
     Orff & Keetman. Orff-Schulwerk, 5 vols. 1960.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

STORAGE Cassette MT1.S94 K6 pt.1-3
     Szabo, H. Kodaly Concept of Music Education. 1969.

CD/Book MT1.A696 2001 & CD MT1.A696 2001
     Anderson, W. Integrating Music into the Classroom. 2001.
CD13321
     Orff, Carl. Music for children. 2003.
CD11363 & CD11363 Text
     Amoaku, W. African Songs and Rhythms for Children. 1990.

Video MT1.K4 v.3
     Kodaly--A Music Education Method. 1991.
Video MT1. K4 v.4
     Orff – A Music Education Process. 1991.
Video MT32.W52
     What is Kodaly Music Education?. 1992.
Video MT42.D3
     Dalcroze Eurhythmics with Robert M. Abramson. 1992.


ONLINE RESOURCES

American Orff-Schulwerk Association <http://www.aosa2.org>
Dalcroze Society of America <http://www.dalcrozeusa.org>
International Kodály Society <http://www.iks.hu>
Kodaly Society of Canada <http://www.kodalysocietyofcanada.ca/>
Music Education Resource Base (MERB) <http://www.merb.org>
     MERB/CMI is a bibliographic database of more than 28,000 resources in music and music education from
     31 Canadian and International journals and other sources covering the period 1956 through the      present.
Music Educators National Conference <http://www.menc.org/>
Music Teachers’ National Association (MTNA) <http://www.mtna.org>
Organization of American Kodaly Educators <http://www.oake.org/>
Tennessee Music Education Association (TMEA) <http://tnmea.org>

Also see:

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Related databases available on the UT Libraries Database Page:
Education Full Text
ERIC
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
PsycLINFO (Journal articles)
Social Sciences Citation Index
Dissertation Abstracts
Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Music databases available on the Music Library Database Page:
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised July 2007