Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Music Education: Elementary Grades*

The Music Education Guides are designed for use by music education faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of music education, learning styles and teaching methods. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • M1990-1994 Curricular materials (school song books and recordings)
  • ML3838 Musical ability testing
  • ML3920-3930 Literature on music for children (juvenile literature)
  • MT1 Theory of musical instruction and study
  • MT3 By region or country (.U5 = United States)
  • MT6-7 General music theory, rudiments
  • MT10 Teacher's manuals
  • MT855-915 Techniques for children

Subject Headings

  • MUSIC--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • MUSIC--HISTORY AND CRITICISM--JUVENILE LITERATURE
  • MUSIC--HANDBOOKS, MANUALS, ETC.
  • MUSIC IN EDUCATION
  • MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS--JUVENILE LITERATURE
  • SCHOOL MUSIC--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • SCHOOL MUSIC SUPERVISION
  • SCHOOL SONGBOOKS

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Ref ML111. D48 no.78
     Kantorski, V. A Bibliography of Source Readings in Music Education. 1997.
Ref ML128.I64H44 1988
     Heller, G. Historical Research in Music Education: A Bibliography. 1988.
Ref ML3797.W56 2001
     Wingell, R. Introduction to Research in Music. 2001.
Ref MT1.H138 1992
     Colwell, R. Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning. 1992.
Ref MT1.N48 2002
     -----. New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning. 2002.
Ref MT1.S57
     Simpson, K. Some Great Music Educators. 1976.
Ref MT3.U5M32 1996
     Mark, M. Contemporary Music Education. 1996.

Journals

American Music Teacher / ML1.A55
American String Teacher / ML27.U5 A8356
British Journal of Music Education / ML5.B6898
Bulletin. Council for Research in Music Education / ML1.C68
Journal of Research in Music Education / ML1.J6
Music Educators Journal / ML1.M24
Teaching Music / ML1.T33
Tennessee Musician / ML1.T4

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

Activities

M1994.M68O5 1991
     Mitchell, L. One, Two, Three-- Echo Me!: Ready-to-use Songs, Games, and Activities to Help Children Sing in      Tune. 1991.
MT10.M6658 1992
     Mitchell, L. The Music Teacher's Almanac: Ready-to-use Music Activities for Every Month of the Year. 1992.
MT930.B83 1995
     Britsch, B. One Voice: Music and Stories in the Classroom. 1995.
MT930.S9 1985
     Swears, L. Teaching the Elementary School Chorus. 1985.
MT935.P53 1992
     Phillips, K. Teaching Kids to Sing. 1992.

Curriculum

MT1.C5365 1999
     Choksy, L. The Kodaly Method I: Comprehensive Music Education. 1999.
MT1.C5366 1999
     Choksy, L. The Kodaly Method II: Folksong to Masterwork. 1999.
MT1.H12 2001
     Hackett, P. The Musical Classroom: Backgrounds, Models, and Skills for Elementary Teaching. 2001.
MT1.R535 2001
     Richardson, C. Music Every day: Transforming the Elementary Classroom. 2001.
MT1.Y68 1990
     Young, W. An Integrated Music Program for Elementary Schools. 1990
MT3.U5 E28 1990
     Landis, B. The Eclectic Curriculum in American Music Education. 1990.
MT930.H59 1991
     Herrold, R. New Approaches to Elementary Classroom Music. 1991.
MT930.N53 H63 2005
     Hoffer, Charles R. Music for Elementary Classroom Teachers. 2005.

General

MT1.A696 1991
     Anderson, W. Integrating Music into the Classroom. 1991.
MT1.B35 1991
     Bayless, K. Music, a Way of Life for the Young Child. 1991.
MT 1 .D56 2002
     Boardman, E. Dimensions of Musical Learning and Teaching: A Different Kind of Classroom. 2002.
MT1.I84 2001
     Philpott, C. Issues in Music Teaching. 2001.
MT1.T37 1998
     Glover, J. Teaching Music in the Primary School. 1998.
MT1.T38 2001
     Teaching Music in the Twentieth Century. 2001.
MT1.W28 1998
     Walker, D. Teaching Music: Managing the Successful Music Program. 1998.
MT1 .W54 2001
     Wiggins, J. Teaching for Musical Understanding. 2001.
MT3.U5 R42 2003
     MENC. Readings on Diversity, Inclusion, and Music for All. 2003.
MT3.U5 W67 2002
     Reimer, B. World Musics and Music Education: Facing the Issues. 2002.
MT918.M66 2002
     Moore, M. Classroom Management in General, Choral, and Instrumental Music Programs. 2002.

History

MT2.M94 2002
     Mark, M. Music Education: Source Readings from Ancient Greece to Today. 2002.
MT3.G7C69 2002
     Cox, G. Living Music in Schools, 1923-1999: Studies in the History of Music Education in England. 2002.
MT3.G7P58 2000
     Pitts, S. A Century of Change in Music Education. 2000.
MT3.U5M325 1999
     Mark, M. A History of American Music Education. 1999.

Philosophy

MT1.E435 1995
     Elliott, D. Music Matters: A New Philosophy of Music Education. 1995.
MT1.L575F7 1972
     Leonhard & House. Foundations and Principles of Music Education. 1972.
MT1. R435 2003
     Reimer, B. A Philosophy of Music Education: Advancing the Vision. 2003.
MT1.T38 1986
     Choksy, L. Teaching Music in the Twentieth Century. 1986.
MT1.W57 1993
     Whitwell, D. Music As a Language: A New Philosophy of Music Education. 1993.
MT2.M35 1982
     Mark, M. Source Readings in Music Education. 1982.

Psychology and Testing

ML3830.M96P96
     Mursell, J. The Psychology of Music. 1937.
ML3838.B35 1991
     Bamberger, J. The Mind behind the Musical Ear. 1991.
ML3838.D73 1985
     Dowling, W. Music Cognition. 1985.
MT1.G648P8
     Gordon, E. The Psychology of Music Teaching. 1971.
MT1.S944 1994
     Swanwick, K. Musical Knowledge: Intuition, Analysis, and Music Education. 1994


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

CDs/Books M1994.S521 2002, M1994.S5212 2002, M1994.S5214 2002 Ask at Music Circulation desk.
     Silver Burdett Making Music. 2002
CD/Book MT1. A696 2001, CD MT1. A696 2001
     Anderson, W. Integrating Music Into the Elementary Classroom. 2001.
CD/Book MT6.M25 1998 & CD MT6.M25 1998
     Anderson, W. Making Connections: Multicultural Music and the National Standards. 1998.
CDs/Books MT6.S53 2000, MT6.S532 2000, MT6.S5322 2000 Ask at Music Circulation desk.
     Share the Music. 2000.
CD/Book MT930.B92 2000 and CD8498
     Burton, L. SoundPlay: Understanding Music through Creative Movement. 2000.
CD/Book MT930 .T53 2004 ; CD12568
     Tibbett, Teri. Listen to Learn: Using American Music to Understand Language Arts and Social Studies (Grades      5-8). 2004.
CD9394
     Teaching Music tThrough Performance in Band. Volume 2, Grade 4 and Selections from Grade 5: Resource      Recordings. 2003.
CD9397
     Teaching Music Through Performance in Band. Volume 4, Grades 2-3: Resource Recordings. 2003.
CD12460
     Rhythmically moving. 2003.

Video MT1.K4 v.1-14
     Key Changes: A Seminar for Music Educators (1991) Covers: popular, jazz, piano labs, electronic, rehearsals,      integrating the arts and more. 1991.
Video MT3.U5T4 1991 v.1-4
     Teaching Music with a Multicultural Approach. 1991.


ONLINE RESOURCES

Children’s Music Workshop K-12 Resources <http://www.childrensmusicworkshop.com/links/links1.html>
K-8 Music <http://www.musick8.com/>
K-8 Streaming Audio <http://www.musick8kids.com/>
K-12 Resources for Music Educators <http://www.isd77.k12.mn.us/music/k-12music>
Music Education Resource Base (MERB) <http://www.merb.org>
     MERB/CMI is a bibliographic database of more than 28,000 resources in music and music education from
     31 Canadian and International journals and other sources covering the period 1956 through the      present.
Music Educators National Conference <http://www.menc.org/>
Music Teachers’ National Association (MTNA) <http://www.mtna.org>
Tennessee Music Education Association (TMEA) <http://tnmea.org>

Also see:

Periodical Indexes

Related databases available on the UT Libraries Database Page:
Education Full Text
ERIC
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
PsycLINFO (Journal articles)
Social Sciences Citation Index
Dissertation Abstracts
Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Music databases available on the Music Library Database Page:
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised July 2007