Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Computers and Electronic Music *

The Music Genre Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • ML102.E... Dictionaries (electronic music, music technology)
  • ML1092 Electronic instruments
  • ML1380 Electronic music--History & criticism
  • ML3805-17 Acoustics and physics of music
  • MT41 Computer composition
  • MT723 Computer sound processing
  • TK5986 Microphones (Electro-acoustics)
  • TK7881.4 Sound systems (Electronics)
  • TK7881.6 Magnetic tape records and recording (Electronics)
  • TK7882 Other electronic applications

Subject Headings

  • COMPUTER COMPOSITION
  • COMPUTER MUSIC
  • COMPUTER SOUND PROCESSING
  • ELECTRO-ACOUSTICS
  • ELECTRONIC COMPOSITION
  • ELECTRONIC MUSIC
  • ELECTRONIC PERCUSSION INSTRUMENTS
  • KEYBOARD CONTROLLER (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT)
  • MAGNETIC RECORDERS AND RECORDING
  • MIDI (STANDARD)
  • MIDI CONTROLLER (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT)
  • MUSIC--ACOUSTICS AND PHYSICS
  • MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS, ELECTRONIC
  • PERCUSSION CONTROLLER (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT)
  • SOUND--EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES
  • SOUND--RECORDING AND REPRODUCING
  • SYNTHESIZER (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT)
  • SYNTHESIZER MUSIC
  • TECHNOLOGY AND THE ARTS
  • THEREMIN
  • THEREMIN MUSIC
  • WIND CONTROLLER (MUSICAL INSTRUMENT)

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Ref ML102.E4C37 1992
     Cary, T. Dictionary of Musical Technology. 1992.
Ref ML102.E4D62 1992
     Dobson, R. A Dictionary of Electronic and Computer Music Technology: Instruments, Terms, Techniques.     1992.
Ref ML102.S67 R68 2006
     Holmes, Thom, ed. The Routledge Guide to Music Technology. 2006.
Ref ML128.E4 W53 1997
     Wick, R. Electronic and Computer Music: An Annotated Bibliography. 1997.
Ref TK7881.4.H36 2002
     Ballou, G. Handbook for Sound Engineers: The New Audio Cyclopedia. 1991.

Journals

Computer Music Journal ML1.C65
Electronic Musician ML1380.E4
Journal of Technology in Music Learning ML1 .J74
Keyboard ML1.C9153
Mix HD9697.P563U55
Perspectives of New Music ML1 .P47
Recording ML73.M885  

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

Acoustics and Physics of Musical Sound

ML1380 .E36 2002
     Licata, Thomas, ed. Electroacoustic Music: Analytical Perspectives. 2002.
ML1380 .L28 2007
     Landy, Leigh. Understanding the Art of Sound Organization. 2007.
ML3805.B245A3 1977
     Backus, J. Acoustical Foundations of Music. 1977.
ML3805.C24 1988
     Campbell, M. The Musicians' Guide to Acoustics. 1988.
ML3805 .H77 2001
     Howard, David M. Acoustics and Psychoacoustics. 2001.
ML3805.R74 1995
     Roederer, J. The Physics and Psychophysics of Music: An Introduction. 1995.
ML3807.S95 1991
     Sundberg, J. The Science of Musical Sounds. 1991.
HODGES TK7881.4 .A67 1998
     Kahrs, M. Applications of Digital Signal Processing to Audio and Acoustics. 1998.
HODGES TK7881.6 .P56 2001
     Plumer, M. The Physics of Ultra-High-Density Magnetic Recording. 2001.

Advanced Techniques

ML1380 .C36 2007
     Collins, N., ed.  The Cambridge Companion to Electronic Music. 2007.
ML3876 .H84 2008
     Hugill, Andrew. The Digital Musician. 2008.
MT56.C668 2000 with CDROM
     Cope, D. The Algorithmic Composer. 2000.
MT723.C77 2000 with CD7178 (also e-book)
     Boulanger, R. The Csound Book: Perspectives in Software Synthesis, Sound Design, Signal Processing, and     Programming. 2000.
TK7881.4 .K4323 2007
     Kefauver, Alan P. Fundamentals of Digital Audio. 2007.

General Techniques (Theory)

ML74.D43 2002 with CDROM
     Dean, R. Hyperimprovisation: Computer-interactive Sound Improvisations. 2002.
ML74.O83 1999
     Tabor, J. Otto Laske: Navigating New Musical Horizons. 1999.
ML74 .R35 2000
     Miranda, E. Readings in Music and Artificial Intelligence. 2000.
ML74 .R68 2001 with CDROM (also e-book)
     Rowe, R. Machine Musicianship. 2001.
ML1380.M36 2004
     Manning, P. Electronic and Computer Music. 2004.
ML1092.V25 1993 (also e-book)
     Vail, M. Keyboard Presents Vintage Synthesizers: Groundbreaking Instruments. 1993.
ML3800 .E87 2005
     Evens, Aden. Sound Ideas: Music, Machines, and Experience. 2005.
ML3800 .F444 2006
     Fineberg, Joshua. Classical Music Why Bother?: Hearing the World of Contemporary Culture Through a     Composer’s Ears. 2006.
MT1.B789 2007
     Brown, Andrew R. Computers in Music Education: Amplifying Musicality. 2007.
MT56.C69 2001 with CD8245
     Cope, D. Virtual Music: Computer Synthesis of Musical Style. 2001.
MT56.M57 2001 with CDROM
     Miranda, E. Composing Music with Computers. 2001.
MT723.M55 2002 with CDROM
     Miranda, E. Computer Sound Design: Synthesis Techniques and Programming. 2002.
MT723.S55 2006
     Klapuri, A., ed.  Signal Processing Methods for Music Transcription. 2006.
HODGES QA19.M87 H37 2006
     Harkleroad, Leon. The Math Behind the Music. 2006.

Literature and History

ML197.I2 2002
     Braun, H. Music and Technology in the Twentieth Century. 2002.
ML424.K24 A3 2002
     Kakehashi, I. I Believe in Music. .2002.
ML429.T43 G6 2000
     Glinsky, A. Theremin: Ether Music and Espionage. 2000.
ML1092.F7 1985
     Foundations of Computer Music. 1985.
ML1092.H68 1984
     Horn, D. Music Synthesizers: A Manual of Design & Construction. 1984.
ML1092.L3 1986
     The Language of Electroacoustic Music. 1986.
ML1092 .P56 2002
     Pinch, T. Analog Days: The Invention and Impact of the Moog Synthesizer.  2002.
ML1093.D48 1993 (Book + CD)
     Deutsch, H. Electroacoustic Music: The First Century. 1993.
ML1380 .H56 2006
     Hinkle-Turner, Elizabeth. Women Composers and Music Technology in the United States: Crossing the Line.     2006.
ML3477.S73 2007 & CD14100
     Starr, Larry. American Popular Music: From Minstrelsy to MP3. 2007.
ML3790.C42 1995
     Chanan, M. Repeated Takes: A Short History of Recording and Its Effects on Music. 1995.
ML3805.R69 2001 with CD7635
     Roads, C. Microsound. 2001.
HODGES TS2301.P3W36 1994
     Welch, W. From Tinfoil to Stereo: The Acoustic Years of the Recording Industry, 1877-1929. 1994.

Midi and Digital Instruments

ML74 .B49 1997
     Selfridge-Field, Eleanor. Beyond MIDI : The Handbook of Musical Codes. 1997.
ML1092 .M57 2006
     Miranda, Eduardo Reck. New Digital Musical Instruments: Control and Interaction Beyond the Keyboard.     2006.
MT723.H54 1994
     Hill, B. Midi for Musicians: Buying, Installing, and Using Today's Electronic Music-making Equipment.  1994.
MT723.J86 1995
     Jungleib, S. General MIDI. 1995.
MT723.R68 1995
     Rothstein, J. MIDI: A Comprehensive Introduction. 1995.
MT723.Y66 1996
     Young, R. The MIDI files. 1996.
HODGES Thesis90.P275
     Parker, Denise M. A Descriptive Study of Select Music and Recording Industry Attitudes Toward Digital     Sampling Technology. 1990.

Recording Techniques

ML74.4.I49 B53 2005
     Blake, Bonnie. Master Visually iPod and iTunes. 2005.
ML74.4 .G37 L48 2004
     LeVitus, Bob. GarageBand for Dummies. 2004.
ML74.7 .H45 2003
     Hill, B. The Digital Songstream: Mastering the World of Digital Music. 2003.
ML1015.G9 N58 1998
     Noad, F. The Virtual Guitarist: Hardware, Software, and Websites for the Guitar. 1998.
TK7881.K44 2001
     Kefauver, A. The Audio Recording Handbook. 2001.
TK7881.4.K58 1999
     Kirk, R. Digital Sound Processing for Music and Multimedia. 1999.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

DVD ML1092 .S86 2005
     The Synthesizer. 2005.
DVD ML1380.M66 2005
     Moog: A Film by Hans Fjellestad. 2005.
VHS ML1380 .T34 2000
     Theremin: An Electronic Odyssey. 2000.
VHS MT1.K4 v.10
     Electronic Music Devices: An Overview. 1992.
VHS MT723.M46 1987
     MIDI Made Easy. 1987.
VHS MT723.U55
     Untangling MIDI. 1988.

Search for Recordings and Videos

Recordings and videos in the electronic medium may be located in the online catalog using an author search for such composers as:

  • Burge, David
  • Druckman, Jacob
  • Jacobs, Kenneth
  • Kagel, Mauricio
  • Korte, Karl
  • Luening, Otto
  • Stockhausen, Karlheinz
  • Subotnick, Morton
  • Varese, Edgard
    and others.

CDs and Videos by specific composers/performers can be found by doing an advanced search with the format limited to compact disc or video recording.


ONLINE RESOURCES

http://www.lib.utk.edu/music/weblinks.html - See Genres under "Performance" or "Research" on the Music Library Web Links
http://www.obsolete.com/120_years/ 120 Years of Electronic Music: Electronic Musical Instruments 1870-1990
http://analogik.com/ Analogik: Electronic Music Organization
http://music.columbia.edu/cmc/ Columbia University: Computer Music Center
http://www.emf.org/ Electronic Music Foundation
http://www.synthtopia.com/ Synthopia: Synth & Electronic Music News
http://www.lib.washington.edu/music/electronic.html University of Washington Music Library: Electronic and Computer Music
http://library.music.indiana.edu/music_resources/electr.html William and Gayle Cook Music Library, Indiana University School of Music: Electronic Music Guide

Also see:

DATABASES & INDEXES
Grove Music
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online

Naxos Music Library
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
Arts & Humanities Citation Index

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised April 2008