|
Libraries Home
Library Catalog
Databases
Forms
Help
Services
Branches
Libraries A to Z

|
|
|
|
Databases for General and Multidisciplinary Topics
- Academic Search Premier - Includes both popular magazines and core research journals in all subjects. Full-text available for many articles.
- CQ Researcher - Balanced articles with background information and bibliographies on "hot topics." An excellent starting point for speeches or papers.
- InfoTrac OneFile - Full text of over 3,000 journals in all subjects. Coverage from 1980.
- AP Photo Archive - Over 600,000 images from the Associated Press archives. See "Click Here to Enter and Search the Archive."
- FACTS.com - Selected full-text editorials, statistics, encyclopedia articles, and biographies, along with world news back to the 1940s and historical documents.
- LexisNexis Academic - Articles from newspapers, magazines and reference sources covering medicine, law, business, and news.
- CQ Weekly - Details all events in the U.S. political arena. Paper copy at Ref. JK1.C15, Shelf 15.
Databases for Social Science Topics (including psychology, education, political science)
- Social Sciences Abstracts - Indexes over 400 journals in all social science fields.
- Sociological Abstracts / Sociofile - Comprehensive source for journals, books, and papers in sociology and related fields.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) - Indexes books, articles, government documents, and web sites on various public issues, worldwide.
- PsycINFO - The primary database of books, journal articles, and dissertations in all areas of psychology worldwide.
- America: History & Life - Indexes articles, books, and book reviews on U.S. and Canadian history topics (for other countries, choose Historical Abstracts database).
- Social Work Abstracts - Covers social work and related journals on topics such as the homeless, AIDS, substance abuse, public assistance, and more.
- Education Full Text - Selective index to the core journals on all aspects of education.
- ERIC - Comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the professional and scholarly literature of the field.
- Physical Education Index - Indexes physical education and related journals, as well as web resources.
Social Science Databases specifically for Communication Studies Topics
- Communication & Mass Media Complete - Provides full-text articles from hundreds of communication journals.
- ComAbstracts - Provides abstracts (and often full-text links) to articles from the most important communication journals. Note: scroll down to "Check your library for other fulltext access" below each article abstract.
Databases for Scientific, Health, and Environmental Topics
Databases for Business & Economics Topics
- Business Source Premier - Full text of over 3,000 business and management journal articles, with company profiles.
- Factiva - Full text of almost 8,000 newspapers and magazines, along with TV and radio transcripts, 20,000 company reports and 9,000 business web sites.
- RDS Business & Industry - Full text of business magazines, newspapers and journals. To include statistical tables, click in the box for "TableBase" as well as "Business & Industry" before searching.
- Sports Business Research Network - Full-text articles on market research, fitness, team and individual sports, and sports broadcasting.
Information on Controversial Issues and News topics:
- Congressional Digest, PERIODICALS ROOM, JKl.C65, Shelf 10 - Each monthly issue offers many opinions on one important legislative issue.
- Editorials on File, Ref. D410.E3, Counter 10. - Reproduces editorials and editorial cartoons (with factual introductions) from major U.S. newspapers, covering all sides of public issues.
Full-text editorials can also be found in the LexisNexis Academic database (under the "General Topics" category): in the Guided News Search, select General News (Step One) and Major Papers (Step Two). Then type "editorial or opinion" and type your topic's keyword(s) on the next line(s).
- Time and Newsweek, PERIODICALS ROOM, AP2.T37 and AP1.N6772 - These are issues-oriented newsmagazines and good sources for current events information.
- The Gallup Poll (http://www.gallup.com/poll) - Provides the latest results of public opinion polls on a wide variety of issues. The print-only Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing (Ref. HM261.G36, Shelf 14; older issues in Stacks) includes valuable background information and analysis as well as graphs and charts on current issues.
- Encyclopedia of Communication and Information - Ref. P87.5.E53 2002, Shelf 16 - A multidisciplinary encyclopedia for all aspects of communication and information. Use subject index in Volume 3 to find very specific terms.
- Encyclopedia of Rhetoric - Ref. PN172.E52 2001, Shelf 17 - Essays on 200 subjects, from African-American Rhetoric to Virtual Audience.
|
|