|
Libraries Home
Music Library Home
Library Catalog
Databases
Forms
Help
Services
Branches
Libraries A to Z

|
|
|
|
Woodwind Literature and Pedagogy
|
- NOTE: This guide provides selective listings. There may be more materials available in these subject areas.
Always check the catalog, using subject headings suggested, or
check the appropriate call number areas in the stacks.
GENERAL WOODWINDS
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Ref ML111.D48 no.11
- Warner, T. An Annotated Bibliography of Woodwind Instruction
Books,1600-1830
- Ref ML128.W5M5
- Merriman, L. Woodwind Research Guide (1978)
- Ref ML128.W5R4
- Rasmussen, M. Teacher's Guide to the Literature of Woodwind
Instruments (1966)
- Ref ML128.W5 S43 2002
- Secrist-Schmedes, B. Chamber Music for Two to Sixteen Winds
- Ref ML128.W5S6 1985
- Skei, A. Woodwind, Brass, and Percussion Instruments...
- Ref ML128.W5V73 (1975)
- Voxman, H. Woodwind Solo and Study Material Music Guide
CURRENT PERIODICALS
- International Double Reed Society. Journal
ML1.I7I8
- NACWPI. Bulletin
ML27.U5N17
- The Double Reed
ML950.D68
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY
- ML931.C37 1999
- Carroll, P. Baroque Woodwind Instruments: A Guide to Their
History, Repertoire, and Basic Technique
- ML931 .N43 1998
- Nederveen, C. Acoustical Aspects of Woodwind Instruments
- Video ML931.R4
- Reed Instruments (Early Musical Instruments) (1976)
- Video ML935.F58
- Flutes and Whistles (Early Musical Instruments) (1976)
- Video ML941.W43R4 1990 + Suppl.
- Reed Maker's Manual (book and video)
- MT339.B29N5 1982
- Bartolozzi, B. New Sounds for Woodwind
- MT339.W45
- Weisberg, A. The Art of Wind Playing (1975)
- MT339.W475 1983
- Westphal, F. Beginning Woodwind Class Method (Woodwind Ensemble
Method)
- Video MT339.W7
- Orchestra! Woodwinds (1991)
- MT339.5.D54 1998
- Dietz, W. Teaching Woodwinds: A Method and Resource Handbook
for Music Educators
- MT339.5.S3
- Saucier, G. Woodwinds: Fundamental Performance Techniques
(1981)
- MT339.5.W66 1983
- Instrumentalist. Woodwind Anthology
-
INTERNET RESOURCES
MUSIC IN PRINT
- Ref ML1100.C63 1997 v.1-4
- Cohn, A. The Literature of Chamber Music
- The Music-In-Print Series listed on Music
Databases page.
- Woodwinds
PERIODICAL INDEXES
Music databases available on the Web:
- International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
- Music Index Online
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
SUBJECT HEADINGS IN LIBRARY CATALOGS
Subject access is useful for finding books when you do not have
a specific author or title. Browsing through the listings under
these headings will further acquaint you with the materials on this
subject which are available in the Music Library. For a more detailed
list of subject headings, consult the Library of Congress Subject
Headings.
- WOODWIND INSTRUMENT MOUTHPIECES
- WOODWIND INSTRUMENT MUSIC
- WOODWIND INSTRUMENTS
- WOODWIND INSTRUMENTS--REEDS
- WOODWIND INSTRUMENTS--TUNING
ENSEMBLES
BIBLIOGRAPHIES & DISCOGRAPHIES
- Ref ML111.D48 no.20
- Gillespie, J. The Reed Trio (1971)
- Ref ML128.C4B37 2002
- Baron, J. Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide
- Ref ML128.C4P5
- Peters, H. Literature of the Woodwind Quintet (1971)
- Ref ML128.W5B76
- Brown, M. Wind and Percussion Literature (1974)
- Ref ML128.W5G52 1998
- Gillespie, J. The Wind Ensemble Catalog
- Ref ML128.W5H4 (1970)
- Heller, G. Ensemble Music for Wind and Percussion
- Ref ML128.W5H67
- Hosek, M. The Woodwind Quintet (1979)
- Ref ML128.W5H7 1973
- Houser, R. Catalogue of Chamber Music for Woodwind Instruments
- Ref ML128.W5S76 1997
- Stoneham, M. Wind Ensemble Sourcebook and Biographical Guide
- Ref ML128.W5V7
- Voxmann, H. Woodwind Ensemble Music Guide (1973)
- ML1100.B45 2001
- Berger, M. Guide to Chamber Music
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE, & PEDAGOGY
- ML128.W5 C6 1999
- Clark, D. Appraisals of Original Wind Music: A Survey and Guide
-
- ML1306.B382 2002
- Battisti, F. The Winds of Change: The Evolution of the Contemporary
American Wind Band/Ensemble and its Conductor
- MT728 .L64 2003
- Loft, A. How to Succeed in an Ensemble: Reflections on a Life
in Chamber Music
SUBJECT HEADINGS
- CHAMBER MUSIC--BIBLIOGRAPHY (i.e., woodwind with any other)
- WIND ENSEMBLES (woodwind and brass instruments)
- WIND ENSEMBLES--BIBLIOGRAPHY
- WOODWIND ENSEMBLES (woodwind instruments only)
- WOODWIND TRIOS, QUARTETS, etc.
Dr. Binder's Flute Reading List
FLUTE
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Ref ML128.F7P4 1965
- Pellerite, J. Handbook of Literature for the Flute
- Ref ML128.F7V48
- Vester, F. Flute Repertoire Catalogue (1967)
- Ref ML128.F7W54
- Wilkins, W. Index of Flute Music including the Index of
Baroque Trio Sonatas (1974)
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY
- ML935.B25 1979
- Bate, P. The Flute
- ML935.D47 1992
- DeLorenzo, L. My Complete Story of the Flute
- ML935.H795A9
- Howell, T. Avant-Garde Flute (1979)
- ML935.P69 2002
- Powell, A. The Flute
- ML935.T63
- Toff, N. The Development of the Modern Flute (1974)
- ML935 .T65 1996
- -----. The Flute Book: A Complete Guide for Students and Performers
- ML936.B682 1964
- Boehm, T. The Flute and Flute Playing (1922, reprint)
- ML937 .B76 2002
- Brown, R. The Early Flute: A Practical Guide
- MT340. D4313 2002
- Debost, M. The Simple Flute: From A to Z
- MT340.D48
- Dick, R. The Other Flute: A Performance Manual of Contemporary
Techniques (1975)
- Video MT340.F54 Pt.1-8
- Flute Seminars: Marcel Moyse (1989)
- MT340.M73 1991
- Morris, G. Flute Technique
- Video MT340.S84
- Steps to Excellence: James Walker (1985)
- MT342.B765 1998
- Boland, J. Method For the One-keyed Flute, Baroque and Classical
- MT342.Q313 2001
- Quantz, J. On Playing the Flute
- MT342.S78
- Stokes & Condon. Special Effects for Flute (1970)
- MT342.T7213 1991
- Tromlitz, J. The Virtuoso Flute Player
- MT342.T7313 1996
- -----. The Keyed Flute
- MT345.P45
- Pellerite, J. Modern Guide to Fingerings for the Flute (1964)
INTERNET RESOURCE
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
- ML128.F7 Flute music--Bibliography
- ML935-937 General: History and construction; Music and playing
- MT340-348 Flute techniques (including orchestra excerpts)
- MT801.F5 Instruction and study for children
SUBJECT HEADINGS
- FLUTE
- FLUTE--CONSTRUCTION
- FLUTE--FINGERING CHARTS
- FLUTE--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
- FLUTE--STUDIES & EXERCISES
- FLUTE AND . . . or FLUTE WITH . . .
- FLUTE MUSIC
- FLUTE MUSIC--INTERPRETATION
- FLUTE PLAYERS
- musical form (FLUTE), e.g., CONCERTO (FLUTE),
OBOE
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Ref ML128.O2H55 1992
- Shaynes, B. Music for Oboe, 1650-1800: A Bibliography
- Ref ML128.O2W5
- Willkins, W. Index of Oboe Music including an Index of
Baroque Trio Sonatas (1976)
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY
- ML940.B37
- Bate, P. The Oboe (1956)
- ML940.H39 2001
- Haynes, B. The Eloquent Oboe: A History of the Hautboy
1640-1760
- ML940.J6613 1988
- Joppig, G. The Oboe and the Bassoon
- ML941.L4
- Ledet, D. Oboe Reed Styles (1981)
- ML941.W43R4 1990
- Weber, D. The Reed Maker's Manual (book and video)
- ML1213.8.T6W37 2002
- Warren, R. Begins with the Oboe: A History of the Toronto
Symphony Orchestra
- MT360.R8 1982
- Rothwell, E. Oboe Technique
INTERNET RESOURCE
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
- ML128.O2 Oboe--Bibliography
- ML940-943 General: History and construction; Music and playing
- MT360-368 Oboe technique (includes orchestra excerpts)
SUBJECT HEADINGS
- OBOE
- OBOE--HISTORY
- OBOE--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- OBOE--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
- OBOE--REEDS
- OBOE--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
- OBOE AND . . . or OBOE WITH . .
- OBOE MUSIC
- OBOE PLAYERS
- musical form (OBOE), e.g., CONCERTO (OBOE)
CLARINET
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Ref ML111.D48 no.28
- Gillespie, J. Solos for Unaccompanied Clarinet (1973)
- Ref ML128.C5T8
- Tuthill, B. Concertos for Clarinet/Clarinet and Piano
(1972)
- Ref ML128.C58B74 v.1
- Briel, E. Klarinetten Bibliographies (1977- )
- Ref ML128.C58W55
- Wilkins, W. Index of Clarinet Music (1975)
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY
- ML945.R5 1992
- Rice, A. The Baroque Clarinet
- ML945.B8 1977
- Brymer, J. Clarinet
- ML945.C36 1995
- Lawson, C. The Cambridge Companion to the Clarinet
- ML945.L39 2000
- Lawson, C. The Early Clarinet: A Practical Guide
- ML945.P56 2001
- Pinksterboer, H. The Rough Guide to Clarinet
- ML945.R43 1994
- Refeldt, P. New Directions for Clarinet (1977)
- ML946.S88
- Stubbins, W. The Art of Clarinetistry (1965)
- MT380.P56
- Pino, D. The Clarinet and Clarinet Playing (1980)
INTERNET RESOURCE
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
- ML128.C58 Clarinet music--Bibliography
- ML945-948 General: History and construction; Music and playing
- MT380-388 Clarinet techniques (including orchestr excerpts)
- MT801.C6 Instruction and study for children
SUBJECT HEADINGS
- CLARINET
- CLARINET--FINGERING CHARTS
- CLARINET--HISTORY
- CLARINET--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- CLARINET--METHODS
- CLARINET--METHODS (JAZZ)
- CLARINET--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
- CLARINET--REEDS
- CLARINET--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
- CLARINET AND . . . or CLARINET WITH . . .
- CLARINET MUSIC
- CLARINETISTS
- musical form (CLARINET), e.g. CONCERTO (CLARINET)
BASSOON
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Ref ML128.B2W5
- Wilkins, W. The Index of Bassoon Music including the Index
of Baroque Trio Sonatas (1976)
- Ref ML128.B26B43 1990
- Beebe, J. Music for Unaccompanied Solo Bassoon: An Annotated
Bibliography
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE & PEDAGOGY
- ML128.B26 L56 2002
- Lipori, D. A Researcher's Guide to the Bassoon
- ML940.J6613 1988
- Joppig, G. The Oboe and the Bassoon
- ML951 .M35 2000
- McKay, J. The Bassoon Reed Manual: Lou Skinner's Theories
and Techniques
- MT400.C66
- Cooper, L. Essentials of Bassoon Technique (1968)
INTERNET RESOURCE
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
- ML128.B2 Bassoon--Bibliography
- ML950-953 General: History and construction; Music and playing
- MT400-408 Bassoon techniques (include orchestra excerpts)
SUBJECT HEADINGS
- BASSOON
- BASSOON--CONSTRUCTION
- BASSOON--HISTORY
- BASSOON--ORCHESTRA STUDIES
- BASSOON--REEDS
- BASSOON--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
- BASSOON AND . . . or BASSOON WITH . . .
- BASSOON MUSIC
- BASSOONISTS
- musical form (BASSOON), e.g., CONCERTO (BASSOON), SONATA (BASSOON),
etc.
SAXOPHONE
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
- Micro ML128.S247G3 1975a --IN STORAGE
- Gora, W. An Annotated Bibliography Relative...the Saxophone
- Micro ML128.S247G3 1975a --IN STORAGE
- Londeix, J. 150 Years of Music for Saxophone: Bibliographical
Index of Music and Educational Literature for the Saxophone,
1844-1994
- Ref ML128.S247W5
- Wilkins, W. The Index of Saxophone Music (1979)
HISTORY, PERFORMANCE, PEDAGOGY
- ML945.R53
- Richmond, S. Clarinet and Saxophone Experience (1972)
- ML975 .C36 1998
- Ingham, R. The Cambridge Companion to the Saxophone
- Micro ML975.H460 1975a
- Hemke, F. The Early History of the Saxophone
- ML975.L56 1996
- Lindemeyer, P. Celebrating the Saxophone
- MT500.G6 1977
- Gold, C. Saxophone Performance Practices and Teaching
- Video MT500.S84
- Steps to Excellence: Eugene Rousseau (1986)
- MT500.T4
- Teal, L. The Art of Saxophone Playing (1963)
INTERNET RESOURCE
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS
- ML128.S247 Saxophone--Bibliography
- ML974-978 General: History and construction; Music and playing
- MT500-508 Saxophone techniques
- MT801.S4 Instruction and study for children
SUBJECT HEADINGS
- SAXOPHONE
- SAXOPHONE--HISTORY
- SAXOPHONE--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
- SAXOPHONE--METHODS (JAZZ)
- SAXOPHONE--PERIODICALS
- SAXOPHONE--STUDIES AND EXERCISES
- SAXOPHONE MUSIC
- SAXOPHONE REEDS
- SAXOPHONISTS
- musical form (SAXOPHONE), e.g., CONCERTO (SAXOPHONE), SONATA
(SAXOPHONE), etc.
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne, and Chris Durman, Revised June 2003
|
| |
|